We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Steigmuehle
Ranked #5 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Most holidays are booked in the hope that the destination is just as pleasant as it looked when you first saw it online.

Of course one would expect the hotel owners to make it look attractive and that there may be something behind the camera which is less so. It therefore comes as a very pleasant surprise to find that with the Steigmuhle this is certainly not the case!

The view from our room window was superb with the snow-capped Alps as a nearby backdrop to the beautiful Weissensee lake just a stones-throw from the hotel.

This is a beautifully presented, clean, spacious and secure environment from which to explore the multitude of interesting sights and activities this area has to offer. In fact there is so much of interest to see and do that it was impossible to get halfway through the things we had originally planned so I suppose it would be a great excuse to go back there. The fairytale castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau , the picturesque town of Fussen, numerous lakes and mountain walks in and around the Tegelberg are almost immediately to hand. A very nice touch was a couple of small rucksacks and walking poles plus a couple of umberellas for guest's use which are situated just inside the wood panelled entrance should you develop a mild case of Wanderlust….. which is hard to resist in such a lovely place. In fact, if you do go wandering, be sure to ask for a packed lunch to be made up for you.

One day the three of us caught the train from nearby Fussen to Munich for the day and were told that the two hour journey would cost about 32 euros for a return ticket. We assumed, wrongly, that this meant per person and not for all three of us! The train dropped us of at the main station which is a short walk from the city centre with all it has to offer.

The really nice thing about Steigmuhle is that the premises is traditionally Bavarian enough to satisfy my own tastes but without my wife and her mum feeling they were half way up a mountain in a log cabin. The room was beautifully decorated with a modern and immaculately presented bathroom which was cleaned to a very high standard every day. Free Wifi and a decent TV were included but don’t expect Eastenders to be shown.

Incredibly this business has only recently achieved a three star rating. All I can say is that the German criteria must be very strict indeed because this place is lovingly cared for and definitely worth the three stars.

Steigmuhle is a family run business and the entire Buhmann family were friendly, helpful and efficient. Always available for queries and questions they were masters of their trade and never made us feel as though we were in a commercial concern. Frau Buhmann was an excellent business woman and had a knack of knowing exactly what made each of her guests tick. She listened to my attempts at German and was patient throughout before subtly revealing, as the days wore on, that she actually speaks very good English.

This is technically a ‘bed and breakfast’ although this phrase gives totally the wrong impression. This is a quality premises and breakfast was, as you would expect, cold meats, weisswurst, cheeses, fresh bread rolls, eggs, cereals and jams with as much coffee and tea as you can manage. No lunch or dinner of course but with so many lovely restaurants in the area we would only have eaten there once or twice had it been.

There is no bar in the hotel but a fridge stocking German beers, wines and cold drinks with an honesty notepad does the trick and there is a lovely traditional pub and restaurant 25 yards away. In fact if you try the pub you must try the Allgauer Almsteaks. Highly recommended.

If you are looking for a commercial hotel with a pool and entertainment in a ‘happening’ place this venue is not for you. If you are looking to sample the true Bavaria for a while in a wonderfully scenic and peaceful location with more local culture than you can shake a stick at this is where you should stay. We will definitely go back in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthiasBuhmann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension Steigmuehle, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Mr. G.,

thank You very much for Your stay and Your very positive feedback, which we also will pass on to our team.

Best regards,

The Buhmann family with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Pension Steigmuehle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 67 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found Weissensee an ideal base for exploring the castles (max 15 mins drive away) and the interesting little town of Fussen (5 minutes). The location of the village on the lake is wonderful: the Steigmuhle is barely 100m from the lake, and within 200m of
3 very good restaurants: 2 German and one Italian. Room very comfortable, although not luxurious, and fantastic views on 2 sides. Staff reasonably friendly and helpful and breakfast tasty and copious. We thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetandTig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We came to this guest house for 1 night but decided to prolong staying for extra night - it is very cosy and pleasant place just opposite the Weissen See and just a few kilometers away from Fussen and another nice lake Alatsee. Castles are also close. Didn't check local transportation system but if you have a car - the guest house is strongly recommended. Hosts are very responsive and service minded.

Room Tip: ask for the room with a view to the lake
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vadim7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jester8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension Steigmuehle, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dachgeschosszimmer sind ohne Balkon und ohne direkte Aussicht, aber günstiger und für 1-2 Nächte oka...
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holger68549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension Steigmuehle, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jasmin109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pension Steigmuehle, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,632 reviews
3.6 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Appartement  Hotel Seespitz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Wiedemann
Hotel Wiedemann
#18 of 40 in Fussen
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreimaderlhaus
Dreimaderlhaus
#1 of 24 in Fussen
304 reviews
3.6 mi away
Landhaus Berger
Landhaus Berger
#1 of 1 in Hopfen am See
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Steigmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Steigmuehle

Address: Alte Steige 3 | Weissensee, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range: $114 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Steigmuehle 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Steigmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing