We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our tried & true for Neuschwanstein touring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Quaint little lodge with lots of old german country antiques in the public areas. Set in a quiet area across from a park with only woods behind it. We've stayed here a couple of times when family & friends visit from the US and want to see the castles. We love it and will continue to come back.
Rooms are adequate size - even the triples. Bathrooms are generous and bedroom is nice with little table & sofa. Quite big enough for 4 people to sit comfortably & review the day. Love to sit and unwind on the balcony.
Breakfast is excellent. There is quite a large variety of items offered and you can't beat it when included in the room price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 277 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

The plus points are we had a nice pair of first floor rooms overlooking the park and a ski slope. Staff were friendly and quick to give map to Neuwanstein castle. Plus free internet terminal. But for 121 Euros per room plus 14 Euros each for half board, the decor was dated and the evening meal was not up to the standards of elsewhere in Austria. We wished we'd eaten out in Fussen which is only 10 mins stroll away and has numerous restaurants of all nationalities.

Oh yes and the pillows are the usual rubbish thin Austrian empty envelopes (how difficult is it to fill pillow cases with something substantial?) - I slept with my luggage under the pillow...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our room was good with more counter space than one often gets in a hotel. There was a skylight, which was a novelty in a hotel. Shower room fine, and our room standard was perfectly good, not shabby etc., unlike some other reviews stated. Excellent and varied breakfasts. The hotel is beautifully situated and very near Fussen, although we missed the turn-off road that it's on to start with, thinking it was some sort of private road..
The receptionist was helpful, even printing out directions for me to our next destination.

Room Tip: If you like skylights, ask for a room with one.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ariadne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

First of all, this hotel is a pain in the bum to photograph. Its position is ideal, at the head of a cul de sac (not shown as a no through road on Google) with a wood behind and an avenue of trees in front (hence being impossible to photograph). Its quiet and yet just a short stroll from bustling Fussen, fourth generation and very friendly.

If you are driving, head for Bad Faulenbach (just off the old part of Fussen) and then head due south up the short steep rise, through a cutting (go very slowly) and turn right.

If you are going up the Tegelberg on the cable car, go early. We saw just two couples in the first two hours, but by the time we got down to the castle it was heaving.

BTW, I had Spaghetti Carbonara one evening. It wasn't on the menu but the lady chef made it for me and it was one of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_InfoQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. First impressions were good and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our room did not reach expectations. Desperately in need of refurbishment.Stained carpet, broken tv and general grubbiness. Our bedroom and bathroom ( no blind) windows were overlooked by the neighbour's patio. Breakfast was good and presented by friendly staff. The price did not reflect value for money however.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a motorcycle tour of Germany with a friend. On arrival the owner Hermann Ruchti insisted we leave our bikes under his car port in case of rain. whilst we only spent 3 nights here we were made to feel so welcome. On one afternoon i went to the restaurant out of hours to request tea, On entering the restaurant i interupted a staff members birthday celebrations but was invited by Hermann's daughter, Stefanie to share the celebration with them and not only got my tea but also a piece of cake. I can only say that by the time we left I felt like a member of the family.

Room Tip: Ring first and ask....All the rooms are good
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cliff816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We booked this hotel for our last (what we hoped would be a quiet) night in Germany before returning to the US. It was a huge disappointment. The breakfast was fine. The receptionist at check-in was very nice and accomodating. But it is certainly not a 3-star hotel by US standards - kind of run-down older furniture, clean but old linens (with holes). That would not be a problem though for one night. The disappointment was the fact that apparently a group of Russian men (hockey players) was staying at this hotel and they were rowdy and loud and used inappropriate language (yes, I do understand Russian) and the hotel staff didn't lift a finder to put a stop to it. We were awaken at about midnight by loud Russian speech and singing and swears - and that's in a small town in Germany where it is so quiet and peaceful that one feels like tiptoeing in order not to wake people. I called the front desk but the night person didn't speak English. OK, he didn't understand what I was saying but it's impossible that he did not hear the noise. Didn't do a thing. (By the way I had no problem telling them to shut up, but there were too many to yell at). When I complained the next morning the reception person just shrugged her shoulders. That is unacceptable, and when we pay for the room at the hotel we expect it to provide us with good service including ensuring peace and quiet. I don't recommend this place. It's not a good value. You'll do much better staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aktiv-Hotel Schweiger
Aktiv-Hotel Schweiger
#20 of 40 in Fussen
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wiedemann
Hotel Wiedemann
#18 of 40 in Fussen
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant

Address: Alatseestr. 38, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fussen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: $106 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is family owned since 1908, that's tradition in Allgau. A hearty welcome for our guests, sitting together with friends and taking pleasure in one another's company. The enjoyment of good food and wine. Our guests feel so at home because these traditions have been upheld at Ruchti's for decades. That's Allgau hospitality. Your Ruchti family and staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruchtis Hotel Und

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing