We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Sonne for 2 nights for our driving trip in Germany. Hotel Sonne is located at the city centre of Fussen. The room is renovated in a fashionable way. Though the room is not air-conditioned, there is a good fan. The room is clean, comfortable and convenient. The hotel staff are all friendly and helpful.

At the first night we drove in, we parked our car at the open parking space of the hotel. At the second night, the open space were used for function. The hotel provided us a ticket to park our car at the car park nearby.

The hotel breakfast was really good and served with ham and smoked salmon. There were also a wide range of tea for selection. Needless to say there are a lot of different cold cuts, bread and fruit. Orange juice was fresh and you could see the machine cut the orange and sequence the juice for you.

The hotel provided a washing machine to hotel guests to use for free. There was also a TV located at washing machine room so that you can watch TV during washing time. Free wi-fi was also available everywhere and connections were good.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwkchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    438
    84
    15
    5
See reviews for
510
787
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located, a short block from the train station and he bus stop where you catch the bus to the castles. The service was outstanding. The room was clean and generally comfortable. However, if you are staying in the summer, please note that not all rooms are air conditioned. If you know that it will be hot, I would recommend paying extra for the air conditioning.

One other thing to take note of: when you check in, they give you a coupon for a "free aperitif" at their restaurant if you eat dinner there. I did this, and ordered a drink from the "aperitif" section of the menu. It turns out the coupon is only good for a prosecco, which is not even in the aperitif section.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyfromvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Sonne mid-morning on July 25, 2013. Mariana at the front desk was so helpful – a room was ready, but when we asked if we could switch to a room that wasn’t overlooking the street, she cheerfully accommodated us to a lovely room with a balcony. The area was having a heat wave, and, of course, a historical hotel like this has no air conditioning, but Mariana made sure we had a fan. When this fan proved to be pretty ineffectual at moving air, the fellows at the front desk gave us the last fan they had – the one right out of their office.
The location of Hotel Sonne is great – right down the street from the train station and close to all the sights, restaurants, and shopping. Breakfast was wonderful, with many choices. We would definitely recommend staying at the Hotel Sonne.
If you have time, be sure and take the gondola up Tegelburg mountain to watch the hand-gliders and para-gliders taking off. The view is unbelievable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjcook23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We loved the room, it was clean, remodeled, and upscale. Really cute. The Sauna room was also tastefully done, and very relaxing, with 3 types of saunas. The breakfast was outstanding. Also, they had laundry machine we could use for free, and this really helped us out a lot (though it took a long time). Great location, and super service too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a great place to stay - and only 2 minutes from the station. Rooms are elegant, food is excellent. It is worth staying here for the breakfasts themselves. What a spread - including the house sparkling wine. The entire city is walkable and trips out of town easily done with the Fussen card.

Room Tip: Look at the slides and indulge yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singkrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in June 2013 for 2 in a triple room that was quite luxurious with nice little extras. The hotel is in a great location and about a mile away from the picturesque castles of Schwangau. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast lots of choice. We reserved parking at a reasonable price. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was great. The rooms have much room and well appointed. The hotel is very convenient to town center. The hotel beer garden is fantastic. Food there is pretty good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Fussen. Much better than the leopold.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
363 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing