We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE of my Favorite places in the WHOLE WORLD!!”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ONE of my Favorite places in the WHOLE WORLD!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Love love love this hotel. We have stayed here 3 or 4 times! Chose a motto room in the Via Claudia section - the rooms are small but sooooo lovely and soooo worth their inexpensive rate!

Rooms, location, breakfast are world class.

The spa is very small but perfect after a day of hiking around the sites in Füssen and area.

Will be back soon!

Room Tip: motto rooms Via Claudia are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristySPEAKUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    432
    83
    14
    5
See reviews for
501
781
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had one night here on a recent tour. Lovely room clean and comfortable with a view of the castle.

Good shower great toiletries and comfortable bed plus a really good breakfast so just what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this small hotel on our way from Italy to south Bavaria. We booked online and the check in process was smooth and fast. The reception staff and waiters in the restaurant speak perfect English and they are helpful and attentive. We were reccomended a nice walk through the old city in the afternoon and given all the information to make our visit to the Castles a pleasant experience.
The room was clean and quirky....overlooking the Main Street.
Next morning the buffet breakfast was the best we had in Germany. Multiple choices in every category and service with a smile. They also have free parking.
I can certainly reccomend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the Main Street.....it is pedestrian only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Probably bad luck, but when we stayed here in June 2013, the highs were in the low 90s and even though the nightly low was in the 60s, there wasn't enough circulation to bring the temperature down in our room. We booked a via Claudia room but didn't realize it didn't have A/C. Spend the extra 40$ and get a room with A/C.

Also - the sheets were very cheap, they were balled up like an old t-shirt.

Big plus - free laundry in the basement. It wasn't the best washer and dryer as it took about four hours to do one load of clothes, but it was better than nothing.

If planning our trip again, we would have made the castles a day trip from Munich and not spend the night out in Fussen.

Room Tip: Get a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jburkett07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was great, secure parking underneath, very comfortable room, really friendly staff at front desk, restaurant and in a great location. A short drive to the Castles...the views around this area are breathtaking and the town of Fussen beautiful. The breakfast here was the best on our trip, a huge buffet with lots of choices...we were getting tired of having croissant, cheeses, bread by this stage it was great to have other choices with hot foods as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
237 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Like most people who stay in the area, we came here to see the Ludwig castles/palaces. Hotel Sonne (and Fussen) make a perfect base for seeing the main sights in the area. The main castles (Neuschwanstein / Hohenschwangau) are only about 2.5 miles from Fussen, and the less popular Linderhof (but definitely worth checking out) is about a 30 minute drive.

The hotel itself is very nice, and the breakfast buffet is great. There is also a bar with indoor and outdoor seating, and a restaurant attached. The bar was very popular which did cause a bit of noise if you have a room on the inner portion of the hotel. It didn't bother us, but if you're a light sleeper and want to get to bed earlier you may want a room that doesn't face the bar during the summer.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Sonne!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtravelerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel was excellent. Room was beautifully appointed theme room. Location is right in the middle of Fussen, makes it easy to walk around and explore the town. Close to the castles as well. When we were there is was extremely hot, and the A/C was not working well. They did everything they could, including providing a fan to make us more comfortable. Class act all the way around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing