We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Less than 5 minutes walk from the station and within the town square. Its a quaint little place with lot of character. We stayed in the castle facing deluxe room, it was well appointed good sized room with those little touches which was a trait of the place. The breakfast buffet was great, the restaurant with a baroque decor served nice food, the al fresco bar was inviting. And they had a well stocked souvenir shop and apparently a gym and sauna which we didn't get the time to checkout.

But above all what stood out was the service and the attitude they seem to value their people and their people seemed to value the guests. Great experience all round!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shivam0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Interesting decor in rooms and halls. Friendly helpful staff at reception and in restaurant and bar. Very clean. Room was second floor over the street. Was quiet but I suspect that's becuse the rains kept the crowds down. Comfortable and adequately sized bed. Large enough room and bathroom. Confusing key card system for keeping the lights on. Excellent breakfast, largest selection of food I've seen. Good food in restaurant. On the edge of pedestrian mall. Cute town, worth a day of walking around and up to the Lech falls. Handy to train station and buses to the castles. Note reception hands out bus schedules which omit the final buses of the day, caused us to unneccessarily take a taxi - check the schedules posted at the bus stops. Note that for WiFi they hand out a slip of paper with a twenty sfomething letter alpha code and a code number. It was the code number and not the alpha code that got us connected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love the hotel, the clean and modern rooms, unique and artistic interior of the halls and lobby, the friendly and service-minded staff. A pity we were not able to sit and experience the restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: We had a room facing one of the side streets. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Really a great thanks to Tripadvisor which prompted me this nice hotel while I search for my Germany hotel stay in Fussen. Its a fairytale hotel near a fairytale castle. Everything is so nice about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamstorm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel will suit all ages it's quaint yet modern and excellent value for money compared to other hotels we have stayed at which are the same grade.

Shop excellent
Breakfast fantastic
Staff brilliant
WIFI Fast
Food beautiful
Decor outstanding
Location Superb
Attractions amazing
Rooms gorgeous

Room Tip: Saw pictures of suites but must say our room was lovely no concerns and that's a surprise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was by far the best hotel my wife and I stayed at in Germany.

My wife and I did our honeymoon in Germany and since she got to plan the wedding, I got to plan the honeymoon. I tried to stay at hotels in the 100 - 120 euro price range, so I can compare this hotel to others in the same price range.

They were the only place to give us a "honeymoon upgrade". Besides that, the staff were by far the most helpful we had encountered. Then came the breakfast. We were so used to the usual European breakfast of cold meat and cheese that it was a surprise to see the huge spread of hot dishes that had at their included breakfast.

Lastly, the location was great. It was right at the heart of Fussen and east to get to. We had rented a car and we were able to find it and use their parking garage while we stayed there. If we return to Germany and stay in Fussen again this will be the only hotel I will consider.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, a room with a view of the city castle and a balcony was great. It was surprisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very good location.
The rooms are very comfortable.Breakfast was excellent and we ate in the restaurant in the evening and it was first class.
All the staff whether it was reception, bar or dining room were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Underground parking was available if pre- booked at 8 euros day and it was well worth it

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 41 in Fussen
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 41 in Fussen
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 41 in Fussen
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 41 in Fussen
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#3 of 41 in Fussen
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: $107 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing