We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location.”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed on first floor facing the street in a perfectly appointed room. There was electronic blinds to block out the light and most of the noise but if you look out your window you will have bus riders looking back at you! Also sorry , but not a fan if the clothed headless manniquins in the halls. Maybe this will suit your taste. The hotel is perfectly located and clean. The staff was the best and booked our castle tours for us as we were there before 5pm. Car parking is a bit tricky...park or wait in spot after the parking arm and check in. Then they will give you a card and a spot number in the underground parking. Yes it is VERY tight so beware and careful , but perfect to then ride the lift up to your floor. The breakfast is top notch. We enjoyed a very nice dinner also.

Room Tip: First floor rooms that face court yard will be have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very nice bedroom, bathroom was fine but the walls looked unfinished and not very clean. There was a good choice at the buffet breakfast and the staff were very friendly. The main downside for us was that the parking was in a very small car park. The staff tried to help us squeeze into a space but we decided we’d rather drop the bags and park in the free car park near the bus and train station (about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and loads of spaces). When we checked out we were very glad we had parked elsewhere, as the hotel tried to charge us 5 euros for parking in their small car park. Watch out for this as they had at no point mentioned that there was a parking charge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed there on our honeymoon and Hotel Sonne was fantastic! We had a view of the cobblestone walking street, the room was very clean, and it even came with robes and slippers! The woman at the front desk was so friendly and inviting. Loved the location - right in the middle of everything and very close to the train station. The breakfast was fantastic - they had a juicer that squeezed fresh OJ! Crazy!

We also hiked out to the waterfall, which I would highly recommend. It's a bit of a hike, but not too bad.

Room Tip: They gave us a larger double room and it was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night while in Fussen to see the castles. The hotel has a perfect location to see the castles and its close to everything in the town of Fussen. We were able to park our car in the underground lot and walk around and see the town. The parking spaces in the underground lot can be tight depending on how big your car is. I had booked a certain room because the decor was very cool and different. Upon check in, I was told I had been upgraded and was showed a picture of the room I was to be given. It was a bigger room but it looked like a normal hotel room in any chain hotel. I asked for the room I originally booked and was told it was already given away. I was very disappointed. I was then offered a different room that was more of what I was looking for. It ended up being very nice and very comfortable and having the extra space was nice. I was definitely happy. The next morning we wanted to get an early start to see the castles and didnt have time for breakfast. They gave us bags so we can take breakfast with us which was very nice of them. As we chose a few pastries and fruit from the breakfast buffet, we noticed that there was a nice selection and it is included with the room cost. I have no complaints about this hotel. If you are going to be in Fussen, definitely stay here. Great location, great rooms, great staff. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qtpie815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We unfortunately only stayed here 1 night but what a beautiful hotel and service. Sabrina who served on the front counter was fantastic, so helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was so comfortable and clean and showed the true Bavarian tradition. It was located in the heart of Fussen within walking distance to everything. The breakfast also cannot be faulted, it was huge with everything you could think of AND fresh. This hotel was truely faultless!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice room, great breakfast, indoor below ground parking was great as we had alot of luggage that we wanted to stay in the car. GREAT front desk people. My only complaint was that with our window open the noise of the early morning trucks pulling up to the shops was bad.

Room Tip: Rooms away from pedastrian only zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in September while touring Germany with my wife's parents. The location is great, in the center of town, close to many shops, restaurants and there was even a grocery store across the street(where you can buy very cheap beer and wine!!). The hotel is also close to the train station if you travel by train like us, and the train station is where you can catch a bus or taxi to the nearby castles, so is is great being so close to the station!! The hotel is fantastic with a very helpful and friendly staff that made our stay very relaxing and pleasant. The buffet breakfast was the best part with its great selection, including smoked salmon and freshly squeezed orange juice. If you are thinking about staying in this area of Germany I would highly recommend staying at this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony that includes a view of the mountains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmills567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 41 in Fussen
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 41 in Fussen
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 41 in Fussen
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 41 in Fussen
868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#3 of 41 in Fussen
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: $106 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing