We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, So Nice and Cozy!”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic, So Nice and Cozy!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed there on our honeymoon and Hotel Sonne was fantastic! We had a view of the cobblestone walking street, the room was very clean, and it even came with robes and slippers! The woman at the front desk was so friendly and inviting. Loved the location - right in the middle of everything and very close to the train station. The breakfast was fantastic - they had a juicer that squeezed fresh OJ! Crazy!

We also hiked out to the waterfall, which I would highly recommend. It's a bit of a hike, but not too bad.

Room Tip: They gave us a larger double room and it was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    433
    83
    14
    5
See reviews for
501
783
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night while in Fussen to see the castles. The hotel has a perfect location to see the castles and its close to everything in the town of Fussen. We were able to park our car in the underground lot and walk around and see the town. The parking spaces in the underground lot can be tight depending on how big your car is. I had booked a certain room because the decor was very cool and different. Upon check in, I was told I had been upgraded and was showed a picture of the room I was to be given. It was a bigger room but it looked like a normal hotel room in any chain hotel. I asked for the room I originally booked and was told it was already given away. I was very disappointed. I was then offered a different room that was more of what I was looking for. It ended up being very nice and very comfortable and having the extra space was nice. I was definitely happy. The next morning we wanted to get an early start to see the castles and didnt have time for breakfast. They gave us bags so we can take breakfast with us which was very nice of them. As we chose a few pastries and fruit from the breakfast buffet, we noticed that there was a nice selection and it is included with the room cost. I have no complaints about this hotel. If you are going to be in Fussen, definitely stay here. Great location, great rooms, great staff. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtpie815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We unfortunately only stayed here 1 night but what a beautiful hotel and service. Sabrina who served on the front counter was fantastic, so helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was so comfortable and clean and showed the true Bavarian tradition. It was located in the heart of Fussen within walking distance to everything. The breakfast also cannot be faulted, it was huge with everything you could think of AND fresh. This hotel was truely faultless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice room, great breakfast, indoor below ground parking was great as we had alot of luggage that we wanted to stay in the car. GREAT front desk people. My only complaint was that with our window open the noise of the early morning trucks pulling up to the shops was bad.

Room Tip: Rooms away from pedastrian only zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in September while touring Germany with my wife's parents. The location is great, in the center of town, close to many shops, restaurants and there was even a grocery store across the street(where you can buy very cheap beer and wine!!). The hotel is also close to the train station if you travel by train like us, and the train station is where you can catch a bus or taxi to the nearby castles, so is is great being so close to the station!! The hotel is fantastic with a very helpful and friendly staff that made our stay very relaxing and pleasant. The buffet breakfast was the best part with its great selection, including smoked salmon and freshly squeezed orange juice. If you are thinking about staying in this area of Germany I would highly recommend staying at this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony that includes a view of the mountains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmills567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

You cannot be in a better place in the heart of Fussen. Very nice room (somewhat eclectic). Free internet. Breakfast is huge! The best we had during our trip. Requested the inside parking for a supplement, much appreciated as your place is guaranteed (parking outside is very limited or in the street). We had dinner one night and it was also excellent. You get out of the hotel and you are right on the pedestrian area with all the stores and restaurants. You can rent bikes at the train station, they are very cheap (8 euro for 24 hrs) and ride them on the so many bike trails around the region. The tourist office is just across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YUL_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

In a three week driving tour of Europe, this was our number one hotel. We loved everything about it. The decor, the friendly staff, the excellent food, the location, the efficient underground car park and the superbly appointed rooms. The attention to detail was excellent.

You can drive to the famous castles within around five minutes or take a bus, and you are right in the centre of the pretty town of Füssen which is itself worth wandering around.

If you're driving, I'd recommend paying the 2 Euro extra (7 Euro a night) and have your own dedicated space in the underground car park. Not only is it easier to move your luggage to the lift, it means you don't have any worries about finding a spot. You enter through a barrier and then go down a slope into the garage, which is quite spacious and very easy to park in (unlike some underground car parks!) The only criticism I would have is that there is a very nasty low kerb as you come out, and I hit it hard, putting a small tear in my rear tyre. I appreciate I should have been more careful, but the amount of rubber tread scraped onto that kerb suggests I'm not the only one!

The hotel is themed around the characters from the Bavarian royal family, with rooms named and themed after individuals. There are mannequins outside the rooms bedecked in the appropriate dress. It's a unique, quirky but lovely touch.

The room we had was very large, with a wonderful bathroom. The shower was so powerful it nearly knocked me over - fantastic! But probably very environmentally unfriendly.

The beds were huge and very comfortable. I loved the way we could electronically close the shutters on the windows which cut out all the light and any noise - we were very late up on our second morning as a result!

The evening meal we had was extremely good. Choices were a bit limited perhaps, but we had a lovely view over the town and for three of us plus a child it came to around 60 Euros which struck me as excellent value. The breakfasts were among the best we had anywhere, with a simply huge range of different foods hot and cold.

You can buy tickets for the castles (and other local attractions) at reception, but make sure you do so before 5pm because the ticket office closes and you'll need to do it yourself if you want to go the next day. We were too late to buy at reception so were advised to drive to the castles, pay the 5 Euros parking, and make sure we were in line by 10am. We waited only around 10 minutes for tickets, even in August. The hotel will also give you a receipt which shows you have paid the local tax, thereby giving you a slight reduction when you buy the castle tickets.

When you leave, the hotel gives you a little goody-bag with some Schnapps etc. It's a small touch, but these things make a difference.

We'd definitely stay here again. Perhaps the only issue is that, having seen the castles and Füssen, there isn't much of a reason to do so, other than to enjoy this great hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
357 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing