We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We originally discovered this hotel via a Rick Steves' book. The hotel was extremely nice and wonderfully located at a reasonable rate. The availability of dinner and a breakfast buffet was convenient for us and the food was very good. All four of us during our dinner ordered something different and each dish was greatly enjoyed. The hotel is family owned and all of the people who served us couldn't have been more pleasant. Our only disappointment with the hotel was that we did not stay longer; well worth the money.

Room Tip: The owners are in the process of redoing all of their chambers so ask for a room that has gone throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    142
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
114
165
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

When I planned our trip to Germany, I did Lot of research on Tripadvisor. I have a family of 6, so we have to get 3 rooms wherever we stay in Europe because the rooms are so small. When you plan a trip without knowing the area, it can be a guessing game. So so glad I chose this hotel!!! Could not have been a better place to stay! The most adorable hotel in Fussen! It is located right in the town. The reasonable price includes a lovely breakfast! It is a short bus ride to the castles. Buy the castles tickets at the front desk, you won't have to wait in the very long lines when you arrive at the castles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in this charming hotel for 3 days. It was lovingly cared for and the staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. It is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The attached restaurant was wonderful, with a good mix of tourists and locals. The breakfast buffet was included and was also quite good. The rooms were not luxurious but comfortable, clean, and reasonably priced. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJM0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 8 amazing days in Fussen and made Altstadthotel Zum Hechten our home. From the moment we arrived we were treated to one of our most accommodating experiences. The staff was so friendly, the hotel was spotless, the food was scrumptious. We were here to watch the Olympic Qualifiying curling event (our US team qualified!) and the staff was genuinely interested and supportive. We would recommend others stay and enjoy this outstanding home away from home!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel is quite close to the main square of Füssen. The main square is in 7-8 minutes walking distance from the train station and if you walk 2 minutes more, the Hotel is there. Although the hotel is small, the rooms are very big. Actually two rooms, one living room and one bedroom. Moreover, they are clean and well-furnished. Although it is not a luxury hotel, it satisfies its customers in this sense.
Buffet breakfast is served and it is sufficiently rich. A very sweet and friendly old lady serves tea, coffee etc. in the breakfast hall.
Florian, the guy in the reception desk is very friendly as well. Just ask for his help and he does his best to help you.
One great thing is that they give each guest a "guest card" which enables free use of public transport in Füssen, Schwangau and surrounding towns. So you can easily visit the royal castles, Tegelberg, Forggensee etc. for free.
One last remark, as Füssen is only a town, you can not find many places to hang around after it gets dark. So, waking up very early will enable you to spend your time optimally.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in this family run hotel in the centre of the old city for a week while we were in Füssen. We found it to be a wonderful place to call home for the week--spacious clean rooms, breakfast with a great selection of food, free wifi and very helpful, friendly staff. It was the personal touches that impressed us—Wolf, who looked after our needs at the front desk, gave us his copy of Rick Steves so we would be sure to get the discount at the hotel in Munich that he had helped us book, Margaret and her husband Benedict made sure that breakfast was ready early the one morning we had an early morning engagement, bus passes were given to us when we checked in so that we could travel the local transit to the castles and the surrounding area and the personal interest in our activities The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring the town of Füssen and is within an easy walk to the train station. We also ate at the restaurant attached to this Hotel and found the service and the food there to be excellent as well.If we have the opportunity to travel in this part of Germany again we would definiately stay at the Zum Hechten.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice hotel in the center of the Old Town. We stayed here because it was convenient to get to the castles, plus the hotel sells tickets at a discount. Parking in the back of the hotel for a small additional fee. Free internet but it was extremely spotty (and thus, frustrating) in our room.

Our room was nice and fairly spacious with a sitting area and a terrace. Small but good, clean bathroom. Towels were like sandpaper the first day but very nice the second. No elevator, but easy stairs to climb, even with luggage.

Breakfast was plentiful and good. Meats, cheeses, breads, cereal, boiled eggs. Extremely nice help in the breakfast room.

Location in the center of the old town was nice. Wish we had more time to explore the shops, but they close at 6pm so didn't have much of a chance after full days of touring the area sites.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Bad Faulenbach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Zum Hechten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Zum Hechten

Property: Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
Address: Ritterstr. 6, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#8 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Zum Hechten 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1001 Possibilities for you!Unique as the town Fussen is also our prestigious hotel. Behind a picturesque facade, you will find an individual, snug comfort, in our recommended restaurant. One can enjoy all the specialties that have been made known through the Alps region.Experience the beauty of the area in the middle of the Neuschwanstein countryside during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Altstadthotel Zum Hechten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten füssen
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing