We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for the buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

From the moment we drove up and were personally led to the parking area around back to the helpful hostess at breakfast, to the creative placement of comforters and pillows , and a balcony this hotel is a gem. The twin room was large, the bathroom modern (small shower), lots of room for toiletries and washcloths! The stairs to the room could be a problem for some so ask for lower floor. The breakfast buffet included all the fixings you would expect and so many breads--I fixed a sandwich to take for lunch (but don't tell). The hotel is right on the pedestrian mall. There are two restaurants on either side of the reception and both were good values with good Bavarian food. Easy drive to Neuschwanstein. Also easy drive to Garmish.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madisongirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 407 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised on how great this hotel was. We were in Fussen to visit the nearby castles and this was the perfect choice! Great value for the money. The staff was accommodating and very nice, and the hotel is on a lovely little street and is very cute overall. Our room was basic, but nice and rather roomy. You can walk to the main train station from the hotel, and the Ludwig castles as well.

Also....don't miss the hotel's restaurant- excellent! We ate there 2 nights in a row. Casual, cozy place that serves traditional Bavarian fare. I heard a lot of people say it was the best in town. Yum!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a really good time staying at this hotel. Typical breakfast with meats, cheese, breads and what not. Good location right in the middle of Fussen and free parking in the back. Front desk was helpful, even the lady with the snappy attitude and we booked all our castles tickets through them which saved a long wait at the ticket office. Room was huge and very comfortable with free wireless internet. Overall no complaints. You can walk to both castles from Fussen (its about 45 minutes), take a bus or short drive. When visiting Neuschwanstein, i would also recommend hiking up to Marienbrucke, and then another 30 minutes or so after to get a really great view looking down on the castle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights recently. Beautiful hotel on a quiet pedestrian only street.
Check in was quick and easy. Staff were very friendly.

We were led to our room expecting just your average hotel room. This was not the case. It was essentially a small apartment! Brilliant! We had a large bedroom, large bathroom with tub and a large lounge room with a lounge suite, coffee table, television and desk. Just perfect!

Great hotel and would recommend to anyone staying in Fussen.

Positives;
Big rooms
Easy check in/out
Friendly staff
Huge bathroom
Free WIFI
Comfortable and quiet nights sleep

Negatives;
Tried to find something but cannot think of anything!

If you need any more info on the hotel or Fussen ask me and i'll do my best to help.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RZom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Recently back from 5 nights at this hotel with friends. We were given great rooms next door to each other. The hosts and staff were very friendly, the food - breakfast and dinner was fine too. Don't forget the sauna after a hard days walking! Not a bad word to say about the place. Hopefully we'll be back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank PhilandRuthO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

There seem to be some really hit and miss reviews of this hotel but our experience was excellent. From the moment we checked in, with a really friendly welcome from what we assume was the manager on the reception desk and his wife, to the moment we left when the 'Senioren Chef' and his wife insisted on giving us a lift to the station with our luggage we were made to feel more than welcome. We had a large clean, spacious room admittedly overlooking the courtyard carpark but as it's small there was absolutely no disturbance or noise. The location couldn't be more central to the old town, the castle, shops and restaurants. Breakfast buffet was extensive and served with a smile by the old couple previously mentioned. We only ate in the very popular restaurant one evening, which was fine, with typical Bavarian menu choices. The only slightly annoying aspect of this was that they insisted on giving us the English version of the menu when due to the odd translations we actually understood the original German version better. really enjoyed Fussen as a base for walking in the surrounding mountains and visiting the castles. Be warned the latter get packed and Neuschwanstein is currently undergoing renovation to the exterior so is partly covered in scaffolding. Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester_UKCitykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel located in Aldstadt Fussen and cannot fault it. The gentleman on reception who checked us in (presumably the owner) was cheerful and seemed delighted we were staying with him and walked us up to our room and allowed us to check in slightly earlier than the stated time. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean, the bathroom had a powerful shower which was great after a days walking and the bed was very comfy, providing a great nights sleep! Free internet is provided which was a nice touch. The breakfast room was very traditionally furbished and breakfast itself was fresh and plentiful. If I return to Fussen I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinesearcher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 40 in Fussen
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Zum Hechten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Zum Hechten

Address: Ritterstr. 6 | navigation: Hintere Gasse 2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#8 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: $119 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Zum Hechten 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1001 Possibilities for you! Unique as the town Fussen is also our well-established hotel. Find individual, comfortable rooms and familiar charme. Enjoy traditional specialties of the Alps region in our recommended restaurant. Experience the beauty of the area in the middle of the Neuschwanstein countryside during your holiday. We look forward to your stay and to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Altstadthotel Zum Hechten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten füssen
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing