We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Hotel Schlosskrone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schlosskrone
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Kindsbach, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a very upscale place. It was clean and the rooms were very modern. We stayed here while visiting the Neuschwanstein castle. The castle was only 6 minutes away. The hotel was convenient to shopping and places to eat. Only downside was it was on a busy street and we could hear some nose in the wee hours of the morning. Also the parking garage had a very narrow entrance where only one car could go up or come down at a time. They had a complementary breakfast that was awesome. Lots of choices and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlalayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    273
    95
    47
    27
See reviews for
322
329
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on our way up the Romantic Road . We took a standard room in the refurbished building so we had Air conditioning and the room was a good 4 star or better in quality.
The room was at the back of the building ,so we had a small balcony and a view of the mountains in the distance. We dined in the Bavarian restaurant which was pleasant and the food ok. Breakfast was great with a large range of cuisines available.The reception staff were 1st class,natural, friendly, helpful with excellent English. The building has a lift and underground parking is available .We would highly recommend this Hotel as a 1st or last stop on the Romantic Road .

Room Tip: Specify the new building and pay a little extra it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoell, Manager at Hotel Schlosskrone, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice words in your review.
We hope you to see in the near future.
Best regards
Norbert Schoell
Hoteldirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked a deluxe room at this hotel but when we got there they 'upgraded' us to a comfort room. I argued that this was a downgrade and they said that that particular comfort room cost more than the deluxe because it was situated in a different block. I wanted the space of the deluxe room that I had booked but they said they were full and I couldn't have it. In reality, there were various families staying at that time whereas I was travelling with my daughter. They had given our room to a family of 4 to make more money. I will never stay at this hotel again because of the poor customer service. Other people were in the same position too and I heard the girl arranging to do this to someone else. The customer service was very poor - they are only focused on making money.
Also they shouldn't advertise free wifi because it doesn't work in the rooms and the air conditioning was very poor and couldn't be altered. One more thing- the door on the bathroom is completely see-through so if you need to ensure this doesn't matter to you before staying here!! We will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jem1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was the only one I could find in the entire area that would accommodate 5 persons in a room. Based on recent reviews, I was very concerned that this night would be the worst on our 10-day trip. Just goes to show that you cannot believe everything you read! It was the BEST hotel of our stay. Obviously this explains the higher price.
First we arrived into the town of Fussen and saw that it was quaint and appealing and the hotel was near the center. We drove the car straight into the beautiful, clean underground parking and then unloaded the bags to the elevator, straight to the room.
The room was spanking new, with two beautiful big beds, pine panellng, LCD TV, a chair, fancy bathroom with a separate toilet.
Yes, it was a bit hot at night. I did not open the window because of all of the scary reviews about noise. Who needs AC in the alps? I cracked open the window and all slept well. The town is not busy and we saw and heard no train or bus station.
Breakfast was also the best on our trip. A chocolate fountain with strawberries, pancakes, what else can you ask for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_real_scoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel lis perfectly located within 5 minutes of both the Fussen train station and the Old Town. Other traveler comments on the AC and room location are ALL true; if you plan on visiting in the summer months be very specific about your need for a room with AC, since at least half of their rooms only provide fans; operable windows are not helpful when all windows open onto the main street through town, where traffic and pedestrian noise is a problem. Our room (which we accepted after being shown two that did not meet our reservation request) was small, but the AC worked like a meat locker, which with 93 degree E temp outside, was a welcome relief. Small bathroom, no real shower containment (water all over bathroom) proved to be a challenge, especially with two people in the room. There was also a curious lack of any storage for luggage, hanging bags, etc. in our room, and in the other two rooms we were shown.

The breakfast, included in our rate, was on the meager side, crowded layout, the toaster was broken, and staff was not helpful or attentive in the restaurant. The reception staff was energetic on check-in, but not terribly service oriented.

Best features of this hotel are location; amenities are not really their strong suit.

Room Tip: Be specific about your room needs, and request air conditioning if traveling in July and August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here many times for easter.

PRO: EXCELLENT RESTAURANT, incredible breakfast ! The breafast is available even for non-guest and cost around 20-25 € but it worth the money for easter ! Room are clean and confortable. The hotel was extended last year, with now large parking. Old rooms and new room available. Nice surroundings, close from pedestrian zone. Very close from fussen castles.

CON: old lifts, some waiters looks not interested in guests at all and gives priority the external clients, I can understand that priority is given to regular client but allowing them to choose their tables in restaurant and not allowing it to hotel guest is not professional.

But overall excellent experience with the fantastic foods :)

Room Tip: Bavarian suite is large and can be occupied by 4 adult persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casanovay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Staed two nights in this hotel,rang beforehand and got a price of E145.00 this was for a room without air conditioning and the weather was hot, but I accepted that as there were no other hotels with air con avai
able and I thought it was fair price for that hotel at the time. Now the hotel is very very nice, but when I went to check out they charged me E 165.00 per night and then breakfast on top of that when they said it was included in the price. The receptionist said that the room rate is normally E175.00 .what a joke, who in their right mind would pay that sort of money for a room without an air con. In the middle of summer, 145.00 was steep enough. All I am saying is watch your account and check your room rate stub that they give you when you book in. The other thing they tried to do was charge us for three breakfast when there were only two of us . I reckon that was where the stuff up with the room rate might have been.,but I was well gone by the time I thought about that. It's not pleasant having to argue the point when checking out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aktiv-Hotel Schweiger
Aktiv-Hotel Schweiger
#21 of 40 in Fussen
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlosskrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlosskrone

Property: Hotel Schlosskrone
Address: Prinzregentenplatz 2-4, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fussen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#7 Family Hotel in Fussen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schlosskrone 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Superior hotel is in the romantic Old Town district of Fussen, 100 yards from Fussen Train Station. Hotel Schlosskrone offers free Wi-Fi and a spa with a Finnish sauna, steam room and 2 hot tubs.The spacious rooms at the Hotel Schlosskrone Fussen are colorfully decorated and some feature Bavarian decor. All rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom, and some offer individually controlled air conditioning.A full breakfast buffet and a selection of Bavarian and international dishes are served in the elegant Himmelsstube restaurant, while Mediterranean dishes are offered at Chili Restaurant. Homemade cake is served in the cozy cafe with its open fireplace.Guests can enjoy a variety of massage and beauty treatments in the Schlosstherme's spa. The hotel also has a gym, tropical showers and a large relaxation area.Private parking is available at Hotel Schlosskrone's own underground garage. The famous palaces of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau are a 5 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schlosskrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurcafe Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing