We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
293
146
36
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
146
36
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolhalf boardspa areasuperior rooman enjoyable staycastle neuschwansteinnearby lakefew minutes drivewasher and dryerno air conbreakfast buffet isgood sizelovely hotelhotel is locatedbooked this hotelsmall balconystayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 489 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2010

First contact with the reception: extremely friendly and helpful. Check-in was done in less than 5'. we had a junior suite- very spacious (usually there is always a problem to find enough place to put 3 big travel cases plus three cabin luggage- here no problem!) and well furnished.
Room was clean all the time! (we stayed 8 days).
Location is beautiful and very quiet.
Breakfast buffet is very rich and food very good. Restaurant is excellent: we had half board (breakfast + dinner) and menu was very good and in 8 days never repeated. And by the way: if you have the chance to be served by Soren you will have a very pleasant surprise!!

It is a place to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 7, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights towards the end of our honeymoon in April 2008. As it was a special holiday for us, we booked a suite rather than a normal double room. On balance, we did enjoy our time at the hotel - the food was good as was the level of cleanliness, overall location and most staff - but I was a little disappointed by some aspects of our stay.

Most disappointingly, the lake that is advertised and other reviewers have mentioned is only full during the summer months, as it contains the melt water from the mountain snow. As we went in the first half of April, our room overlooked a muddy, man-made lake bed with some small, dirty puddles rather than a pretty lake. Not a pretty outlook at all. To be honest, I felt quite cheated by this, as I had no idea the lake was 'part time' only. We did ask about the possibility of moving rooms so we could look out on a prettier view, but this request was denied because none were available (there was a large party of walkers staying at the hotel at that time, as well as improvements being made to other parts of the building). I think we may have offended slightly by even asking, because we were then told it (our room) was the best they had. Oops!

Another disappointment was the lack of English language information available. There were no English / bilingual menus, no English / bilingual signs, no English / bilingual information regarding the hotel's amenities / services and no English / bilingual leaflets about what to do in the local area. We can speak a little basic German as well as some French, but were wholly disappointed with the oversight of English as we felt ignored and uncatered for. I was surprised at this, and it made us feel a little uncomfortable at times; like we weren't really wanted there. At meal times, it was down to the waiting staff to verbally translate the menu for us - with mixed success - before every meal. In front of a packed restaurant. Some staff spoke a reasonable amount of English, but there times when we could not make ourselves understood and that was rather difficult. There were also times when we were misunderstood, so we didn't always have what we'd asked for. It was also clear that the staff felt uncomfortable trying to communicate in English, too, which made us feel more uncomfortable in turn. I must add that we were the only British nationals there at that time. Everyone else we met were German speaking. From our experience, it seems reasonable to conclude that not many British nationals stay at the hotel.

The decor of the room was not to our taste either, but this is so subjective to be, perhaps, a minor point. The suite had clearly only recently been renovated, which was nice, but the shaggy carpet that ran throughout was a bright, burnt orange colour that looked dated and covered the skirting boards too. The sofa was rock hard and none too comfortable and the bathroom was minute - mirror and sink on top of the toilet, small amount of room barely large enough to pirouette in and a small shower cubicle just big enough for one. Provided that one hadn't eaten too much for lunch. There was a lot of storage space, though, a fridge, writing desk, balcony and lovely french doors. The room was very clean but the walls could do with being a bit thicker though - we were woken up on more than one occasion by the cleaner, who's cupboard was next door to our room. And no, we hadn't overslept. As with other German hotels we've stayed in, the TV only had CNN as THE English option channel.

One more minor point - due to the communication difficulties mentioned above, the beauty treatments we thought we'd booked in the spa area of the wellness centre were different to what we'd actually received. We expected and were looking forward to one thing, but we got something else and by the time we realised, it was too late to do anything about it. So we made do and enjoyed it anyway. Bit disappointing though, when you think we had been looking forward to our 'spa day' since we booked the honeymoon! Also, conversation during the treatments was rather difficult as the staff spoke very little to no English at all. Cue more uncomfortable feelings on both sides. The spa centre was nice, though. The indoor pool was empty or next to empty when we wanted to use it and the whole area was clean and well kept. Unfortunately, the reading room and relaxing rooms overlooked a view of the lake bed again at that time of year, so not pretty at all. Also, all of the books left in the reading room for guests' enjoyment were in German. This emphasised the feeling that we weren't really wanted or catered for, despite being happy to take our money.

All in all, I don't think we would stay at the hotel again considering the whole experience. We've done it now and we've seen all the immediate area has to offer (5 days was more than enough for this) but as we were feeling so uncomfortable with the language barrier amongst other things, I doubt we would return (unless we radically improve our grasp of the German language, that is!) If you are thinking of booking a stay here, be warned about the language barrier if you're not German speaking, and don't come expecting a lavish spa experience or you're likely to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank groggyleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We did not have reservations ahead of time, but just stopped at this hotel in Fussen. With a family of four adults, we were placed in a clean, roomy, suite, with a pretty view. The suite had two rooms off of a main living room, with a balcony. The cost of the hotel was very rearsonable, and not as pricey as smaller hotels we had stayed, within Europe. We were delighted to enjoy a classical Germany buffet, with all of the meats, cheese, weiners, saurkraut and various breads and salads. Along with this, was three kinds of soups and deserts. This hotel had a laundry facility, in which they provided the laundry soap for a small fee. This hotel was next to a lake, making an evening walk very enjoyable with the castles in the mountains next to it. The staff was more than helpful and ready to answer any questions or problems guests might have had. We will certainly return when we go back to Fussen, Germany.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

Hotel Sommer was a wonderful delight. My wife and I stayed 5 nights. The sommer team was a great host and our room was very spacious and clean. The view to the king's castle neuschwanstein was breathtaking! Food was a delight. Swimming in the pools was great. Next time in Germany we come back.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thomil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews