We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$212
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonne(Fussen)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Filser(Fussen)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hirsch(Fussen)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$184
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
289
145
34
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
145
34
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolhalf boardspa areasuperior rooman enjoyable stayhuge balconynearby lakefriendly hotelwasher and dryergood sizebreakfast buffethotel is locatedbooked this hotelminute drivestayed here for nightspoolswellness
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 482 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights, what a lovely hotel right on the lake. You can walk into the beautiful town of Fussen from the hotel only 1 mile. Staff super friendly, lovely rooms, spectacular food, an all round great stay

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aussietrip77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Inhaber at Hotel Sommer, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Dear Aussietrip77..,
thanks for staying at hotel sommer and for your nice quotation. In fact our place offers a wide range of facilities.
Looking forward to wellcome you again
your's sommer family and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
6
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

Set in an amazing location nestled between a beautiful lake and the stunning Bavarian Alps this is a 'chocolate box' of a hotel. The rooms are spacious and all with picturesque views. The food is excellent: breakfast has so many assorted options while dinner both A La Carte or the four course set menu is varied, delicious and good value. A fantastic spa which has both indoor and outdoor pools with panoramic views, also featuring many varieties of treatments. The hotel generously provides bikes for guests and a lot of free and subsidised treats including boat trips around the lake. The staff are friendly and go the extra mile to be helpful being especially patient explaining the facilities and sights of the local area. A wonderful experience.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Manager at Hotel Sommer, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Thank you for your nice quotation - I will prolong it to my collegs
sommer family and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

This hotel is a mix of new and dated...new is the spa area...beware...a large panel on the spa entrance door stipulates…nude only…men and women together…!!
The rest of the hotel looks worn,it needs updating. Look wise, the hotel corridors are not in great shape. Some hotel rooms were recently partly renovated, alas in a cheap way ! It shows ! Bathrooms are dated. Limited wifi connection in room.
The main areas, including reception, have no Bavarian charm and are fairly rundown. Same for the restaurant area. Except for their breakfast buffet, which was well stocked, our other meals were less than average. Diner was of poor quality. Dining room waiting service is below German standard in terms of training, friendliness, efficiency. Too many heavy smokers gathering on their dining room terrace. Very unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRAGANZAMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Manager at Hotel Sommer, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear Mr BraganzaMunich,
thanks for your anonymous qotation, which is easier than talking to employees or the manager.
Reception, Restaurant, bar etc were recently renovated - I really wonder what you expect.
If that is your opinion - there is nothing to do abaout - anonymous - most of our guests are thinking very different in comparison to.
If you have been our guest - still thanks for staying - have a good time - if you work somewehre I wish you can stand for the quality you expect from other places!
yours sommer family with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017

The good:
The hotel is situated outside town but you have nice views of the Alps from front of hotel. The spa area is good and breakfast was good.

The bad:
Room is nothing more than a travel lodge standard, 1 very flat pillow each, toilet paper appeared very cheap, as was very hard. No tea or coffee facilities in room.

Don't go half board - it's not worth it, no choice of desserts and what dessert you were given was very small. One night I was giving 1 very small scoop of ice cream for dessert. Got charged nearly €4 for coffee after meal, which I would have expected to be included in half board meal. I was given the same table at night for meal and noticed that the tomato soup stain I left from the previous night was still there. One of the Waiting staff in restuarant was quite miserable.

Our room looked over to a car park and you could partly see the lake which had no water in it. Not very picturesque.

The hotel is definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europaeer, Manager at Hotel Sommer, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear Mr Will M.,
I feel sorry, that we didn'd succeed to make you happy. I feel special sorry, that you didn't talk to me. Everyone is al little different in comparison to others. In my team there are more than 60 persons working. I am sure that everyone tries normaly to give his best.
Sorry that you were not happy at our place.
your's sommer family with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is situated outside the town but the views of the Alps were stunning. There was no water in the lake so the surroundings were not as picturesque as should have been.
Reception staff were friendly and informative and when we informed them that our hairdryer wasn't working, they brought another hairdryer immediately.
The room was modern and clean, but had no character.
The spa area was very good and it was good to be able to use the outdoor pool when it was warm.
Breakfast was very good, lots of choice.
Half board not so good. One vegatarian meal and only 2 soups for starter to choose. Dessert was most disappointing, especially as they had cakes to purchase. Dessert was small and for 2 nights we had a yogurt, mousse type dessert. We asked for something different on the 3rd night and was given 1 scoop of ice cream.
An enjoyable stay let down by half-board food, so if staying I would recommend eating dinner elsewhere. Dinner was not good value as very limited choice and no choice of dessert.
The hotel is overpriced for the money and not good value.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank elvezGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews