We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sommer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sommer
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Sommer in December.

Hotel has good facilities. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. The room and bed were a good sized and we had a quiet undisturbed sleep due to the window glazing, so you can't hear a thing outside. The lake had been drained for winter but in summer the view would be lovely.

We did not have a car and the hotel is a bit away from the centre of fussen, but the staff provided a map and it was a very easy walk, about 15 mins, 20 if you like to dawdle a bit. You can get a cab easily enough, Dec 1013 it was about Euro 10-12.

Very good selection at breakfast.

Fussen centre was lovely and has several nice bistros and restaurant.

Hotel has 2 pools and a sauna. Sauna is nice with 3 heat options (but watch out for the naked germans running about) and the hotel provides dressing gowns etc but take slip on footwear or flip flops.

We walked to the castle. This was about an hour but the scenery was stunning. You can get a bus there from fussen centre. Be aware that getting the bus back to fussen is harder as hundreds of tourists leave at closing time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger_L_Ramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    95
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
79
177
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We decided to spend some time in Fuessen with our German relatives. It had been organised by them so we didn't really know what to expect even though we knew it should be very good. We had a 7 night package for dinner, bed and breakfast. Our rooms were spacious with a lovely view to the mountains. Our room was decorated in a modern, contemporary style. Other rooms are decorated in a modern traditional style. Both are very tasteful. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast held an amazing choice of hot, cold, sweet and savoury selections. The dinner menu changed daily and throughout our 7 night stay, not one dinner was disappointing. The choice of wines was amazing, German, Austrian, French, New Zealand but alas no Australian wines. Mmmm, we will need to have that sorted. The service was exceptional and entertaining. There are no serious faces in this hotel. The owners of the hotel, Wolfgang and Annette are warm and engaging and meet everyone daily to see how they are going. Their dog Mia is also very sociable and if you want a dog friendly hotel this is also a great place to bring them. There is so much to do in the area and each day we went out and about, mostly walking etc. Neuschwanstein also, known as the Fairy Tale Castle, is nearby. If you want to stay in, you can indulge yourself in the day spa area or go for a swim in the lovely hotel pool. The weather turned cold during our stay and to go in the heated outdoor pool and having a refreshing 5 degrees C on one's face, looking to the snow capped mountains, was a unique experience for me. If you like saunas, there are 5 different types to choose from. We were sad to leave after our 7 night stay and would we go back? Yes, most certainly. See you again some time Wolfgang, Annette, Mia and all the entertaining staff.

Room Tip: The room we had, had a view to the mountains which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngridaMargareta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second time at Hotel Sommer in Fuessen. The hotel is ideally located right at the Forggensee, boats leave literally from hotel. Note: This artificial lake carries water from June 01 - Oct. 15, otherwise it is "dry". Hotel Sommer is just minutes away from the Neuschwanstein Castle and a 10 minute walk from picturesque Fuessen downtown with great restaurants and shopping. While staying at the hotel you receive the "Koenigskarte", looks like a credit card and gives you free access to hotels, boat rides, ski lifts as well bike rentals. A real deal!
The hotel itself has great, spacious rooms. Our room was renovated and super clean. Breakfast buffet offers anything a travel can expect. Spa treatments are great and moderately priced. Staff is extremely helpful and multi-lingual. A great vacation, great hotel in a superb location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjopjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

More than anything, this place will stay in my memory for its fantastic service. People working there really go out of their way to help their guests, be it the waiters in the restaurant who almost gave my kids an overdose on free chocolate, the concierge who organized our tourist activities within in minutes - or the hotel owner who walks through his restaurant every evening inquiring if everything is OK, a very nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el_jocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped in this hotel while a road trip, when I see people's pictures of their rooms...... well... we obviously didn't had the same experience... Our room was old style furnished... the bathroom was like in my grandma's house (even if I love my grandma..).... maybe because we stayed only one night.. we didn't deserved better.. the first thing that really bothered me was the smell... It was smelling like in an Home.... or an hospital.... not so romantic... we didn't try the wellness, too crowed of old people...

This place is really for family or old people... dinners starts at 5.30pm..... :)
We ate at the hotel's restaurant, food was exactly like what is served in canteens........ disapointed... and the manager of the restaurant (a small guy) was not really nice. All the rest of the staff were great.

The location is really nice, in may the lake is not full but it's really beautifull, there is a lots of walks and cycling to do. really great for that.

There is the famous castle to visit (Château de Neuschwanstein) but it was too crowed so we couldn't do it... there is 2 castles to visit in the same area, when you arrived there the contrast between the quietness of the region and the agitation of this place ! You feels like in Disney! crazy! you have to park down the montain and then either take the tourist bus to go up to the castle either you walk 1.5 hour... The visit is by group... all groups were full for us so we came for nothing.. But I think we were just not well informed , maybe if the hotel had booked us a visit it would have been easier, because you can book.

It's a great place to rest, I'll go again... but not in the same hotel... or at least in a nicer bedroom....

Room Tip: Ask for a recent room!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milene1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Manager at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Milene,
we would appreciate if you would talk to us about your wishes instead talking about us after checking out. Now we cannot do anything. If possible our guests can change room.........
your's sommer family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

When I went there I found 2 things; 1) The Lakes waters were totally dried out (they told me they transfer it to another lake for some time) 2) The curtains of my room were not closing firmly to block morning sun. But later on they have allwed me to change the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utku67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graffignana, Italia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is amazing. Period. Great location, sightseeing over the nearby lake and over the Neuschweinstein castle. The room had a lovely style, cozy and well balanced, warm as you may expect in a mountain place. The service is fair and the facilities are good and all free of charge (indoor swimming pool, outdoor pool, gym, spa and sauna). I didn't have the chance to try the restaurant but I glimpsed a look here and there and it seemed to be another awesome experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ZZDaveZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Inhaber at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
thank's al lot for your recommendation
your's sommer family with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#14 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#6 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sommer

Property: Hotel Sommer
Address: Weidachstr. 74, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fussen
#1 Spa Hotel in Fussen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#10 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sommer 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star spa hotel is in Fuessen with view to the alps and the kingscastle Neuschwanstein. Equipped with indoor and outdoor pool the large spa area features different Saunas and steam rooms. Massages and cosmetic treatments are also available. Hotel Sommer provides elegant rooms featuree with balcony or terrace. The welcoming restaurant offers healthy breakfast buffet in the morning and fresh Bavarian and international cuisine is served for lunch and dinner. Bicycles can be rented at Hotel Sommer. Hotel Sommer is an ideal base for hiking, skiing and water sports. All hotel guests receive a KonigsCard, which offers free use of 180 recreational facilities such as mountain trains, boat trips, and ski passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vital Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing