We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful to where they set yu up.....”
Review of Hotel Sommer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sommer
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be careful to where they set yu up.....”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped in this hotel while a road trip, when I see people's pictures of their rooms...... well... we obviously didn't had the same experience... Our room was old style furnished... the bathroom was like in my grandma's house (even if I love my grandma..).... maybe because we stayed only one night.. we didn't deserved better.. the first thing that really bothered me was the smell... It was smelling like in an Home.... or an hospital.... not so romantic... we didn't try the wellness, too crowed of old people...

This place is really for family or old people... dinners starts at 5.30pm..... :)
We ate at the hotel's restaurant, food was exactly like what is served in canteens........ disapointed... and the manager of the restaurant (a small guy) was not really nice. All the rest of the staff were great.

The location is really nice, in may the lake is not full but it's really beautifull, there is a lots of walks and cycling to do. really great for that.

There is the famous castle to visit (Château de Neuschwanstein) but it was too crowed so we couldn't do it... there is 2 castles to visit in the same area, when you arrived there the contrast between the quietness of the region and the agitation of this place ! You feels like in Disney! crazy! you have to park down the montain and then either take the tourist bus to go up to the castle either you walk 1.5 hour... The visit is by group... all groups were full for us so we came for nothing.. But I think we were just not well informed , maybe if the hotel had booked us a visit it would have been easier, because you can book.

It's a great place to rest, I'll go again... but not in the same hotel... or at least in a nicer bedroom....

Room Tip: Ask for a recent room!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milene1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Manager at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Milene,
we would appreciate if you would talk to us about your wishes instead talking about us after checking out. Now we cannot do anything. If possible our guests can change room.........
your's sommer family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    104
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
82
200
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
202 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When I went there I found 2 things; 1) The Lakes waters were totally dried out (they told me they transfer it to another lake for some time) 2) The curtains of my room were not closing firmly to block morning sun. But later on they have allwed me to change the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utku67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graffignana, Italia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is amazing. Period. Great location, sightseeing over the nearby lake and over the Neuschweinstein castle. The room had a lovely style, cozy and well balanced, warm as you may expect in a mountain place. The service is fair and the facilities are good and all free of charge (indoor swimming pool, outdoor pool, gym, spa and sauna). I didn't have the chance to try the restaurant but I glimpsed a look here and there and it seemed to be another awesome experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ZZDaveZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Inhaber at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
thank's al lot for your recommendation
your's sommer family with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaroslavl, Russia
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

For anyone thinking of traveling to Fussen Germany, make it an excellent and memorable vacation or business outing and stay at Hotel Sommer.

The staff is outstanding with there service, and making our group feel right at home. The rooms are spacious and very very clean.

All our meals were very well prepared and at a moments notice any special requests were filled.

You will be very happy and comfortable staying at Hotel Sommer

Have Fun!
Tom Rowe
Lokomotiv Hockey Club

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Inhaber at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
thank's for your recommendation

your's sommer family with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went to the Hotel Sommer for a much needed relaxing break and it did the trick. It was everything it claims to be. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food was better than expected with a good menu choice. Our superior room was perfectly appointed, with a good view of the alps and a balcony which we requested - it would be nice to sit out in the summer. We slept well as it was also quiet. Very good location for exploring this part of beautiful Bavaria. We thought it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailaway2010sailaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel was lovely- staff were extremely helpful and mini bar was very decently priced. The location of the hotel is fantastic- 80m from the train and bus station.

The only downside was breakfast was not overly nice but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-sommer, Manager at Hotel Sommer, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation.
We try to treat erverybody as we would like treated as
your's sommer famliy with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We celebrated our wedding at Hotel Sommer, and the team made it a very special day. I can't thank them all enough.

Staff are fantastic, they make you feel welcome, no wish goes too far, all requests get met with a genuine smile. The food's top notch, too. Rooms are comfortable, clean and serviced every day. The spa facilities are basic but good fun.

Location and ambience are both perfect.

Would always go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#14 of 40 in Fussen
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sommer

Property: Hotel Sommer
Address: Weidachstr. 74, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fussen
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fussen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#10 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sommer 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star spa hotel is in Fuessen with view to the alps and the kingscastle Neuschwanstein. Equipped with indoor and outdoor pool the large spa area features different Saunas and steam rooms. Massages and cosmetic treatments are also available. Hotel Sommer provides elegant rooms featuree with balcony or terrace. The welcoming restaurant offers healthy breakfast buffet in the morning and fresh Bavarian and international cuisine is served for lunch and dinner. Bicycles can be rented at Hotel Sommer. Hotel Sommer is an ideal base for hiking, skiing and water sports. All hotel guests receive a KonigsCard, which offers free use of 180 recreational facilities such as mountain trains, boat trips, and ski passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vital Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing