We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Central City Hotel(Fussen)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonne(Fussen)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hirsch(Fussen)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
288
145
34
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
145
34
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolhalf boardspa areasuperior rooman enjoyable stayhuge balconynearby lakefriendly hotelwasher and dryergood sizebreakfast buffethotel is locatedbooked this hotelminute drivestayed here for nightspoolswellness
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 480 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent 3 fabulous evening at this hotel travelling through Europe by car.

The hotel is larger than we expected occupying a great position on the shores of the lake. The service at the hotel was excellent and the food was also very good. We opted for half board and the evening menu was varied and of good quality and the breakfast was amazing - such a wide choice of food.

We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was lovely. The room was clean and modern. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and spoke good English as my German is terrible!

We spent a day visting the castles and a day cycling around the lake. The hotel hired mountain bikes at a reasonable rate but ensure you book these in advance. The ride around the lake was fabulous if not a little tiring at 22km!!!

We also spent some time in the spa. The swimming pool was smaller than it appears on the website but was nevertheless very nice with good, clean facilities.

The only slight issue was that the pillows at the hotel are all very soft. Nice if you like this but I found that I had to ask for a few extra pillows to get a good nights sleep.

Overall we had a fabulous time at this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Spent a superb 10 days holiday at the Hotel, which is located on the outskirts of the small, pretty town of Fussen (20 mins easy walk). We had booked the "Allgau" package, which is half board, complimentary walking/cycling map, Konigs Card (tourist card which gives free access to many tourist attractions including cable-cars etc) and also includes access to the Hotel's own Wellness & Spa. Our double room was very comfortable with its own balcony and spectacular view over to the mountains and Neuschwanstein Castle.
The Hotel facilities are great. It has its own Wellness & Spa, which has both a heated indoor and outdoor swimming pool, Spas and Saunas - all incuded in our "Allgau" package. We both had massages which were superb and available at an additional charge. Cosmetic treatments are available also at additional costs.
The Hotel also hires out bicycles (which we did several times, as there are great cycle paths in the area). You can rent City Bikes, Mountain Bikes or even Electric Bikes. The Hotel also hires out an open top cabriolet and even a Segway!
The excellent buffet breakfast was varied with choices too numerous to mention and the evening dinner was also excellent with plenty of local and international dishes to chose from. The menu is written in German, but the helpful staff were always there to explain some words we couldn't understand (Mental Note ; Must try to learn more Languages! - Brits have this awful habit of expecting others to speak English). The wine and beer list available in the restaurant is also extensive.
The small bar at the hotel lobby was a most pleasant way to spend time before or after dinner.
The Hotel staff are the real power behind the Hotel's success. Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful - everyone from Reception, Bar, Kitchen, Dining Room and Cleaning should take a bow. Not forgetting a nice touch from the owner, Wolfgang, who makes a point of speaking to everyone at some point each day.
As to things to do in the area. Fussen has lots to see, Interesting museums, churches cafes etc. Take the cable car up Tegelberg and Breitenberg for great walking. Cycle around Lake Forgensee (sometimes dried up depending on time of year) or Hopfensee and Weissensee combined. Take local bus to various destinations, Castles, Oberammergau and Garmisch Partenkirchen. Local train trips also available.
We do not hesitate in recommending the Hotel Sommer to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric Morrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Hotel Sommer is good, but quite average. The rooms are clean and the service is good, but the food is just adequate. There is a large spa area. The hotel is located on a large lake, but unfortunately for us, there was very little water in it, so it looked like a large crater. Fussen is a lovely town and the castles are very much worth the trip. Make sure you go to Marys Bridge for a great view.

Room Tip: We had a bigger room with separate lounge area
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I was delighted to find this cozy little Bavarian hotel nestled directly next to picturesque landscapes with an amazing view from the room. The surrounding area was simply enchanting, a perfect romantic getaway, complete with castles, mountains and a distinct rustic German charm. This "wellness" hotel is complete with everything you would need to relax, including massages, spas, saunas and even delicious food right at your service. The location is almost perfect (aside from the view) with quick access to Munich or even a day trip to Austria and the town of Füssen is the perfect size for a relaxing vacation away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I was quite impressed with the overall friendliness of the staff and the people overall and after my first visit to Germany, I will certainly be heading back to visit again whenever the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here for four nights over Christmas and had our most wonderful holiday ever. The staff is incredibly friendly and could not do enough for us. The rooms were bright, roomy with very comfortable beds and duvets. The breakfast each morning is amazing with everything imaginable, including made to order eggs and omelettes. At dinner, the service and the food were outstanding. We took walks in the snow, drove to the castle, went to the Munich Christmas market and spent time in the lovely town of Fussen. Don't miss the experience of the pool and the spa, where we had massages and facials that were divine. A perfect Christmas at a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMG05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews