We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luitpoldpark-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“OK, but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

The best thing I can say is at checkin you get a ticket which if you show it when entering museums nearby (Museum of Bavarian Kings) you'll get 1 euo off admission.

The decor in the room was bland and blah. The fitted sheet was very rough and the pillows filled (?) with feathers that flattened out so even folded over 3 times it was very thin.

The rooms don't have AC and ours was right above the bus station so it was very loud definitely not worth the $163/nite I paid.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room not overlooking the park because the park is right next to the bus station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    180
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
96
190
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband booked the stay through a travel agency to give me a week to relax in the mountains. We drive from near Brussels, Belgium to Fussen and we parked the car in the hotel lot. It was 7 Euros a day which was decent because it was a nice underground video supervised lot. The man who greeted us at reception was very helpful. At first glance the room was very clean and a pretty good sized space for a European hotel room. You had to go up two stairs to your bathroom and you discover that the floor of the bathroom is heated which is pretty cool when getting out the shower. The door was very squeeky which was annoying when going to potty at night because I didn't want to wake my husband.
The bed and pillows were HORRIBLE! The bed was super hard and there was no way to really get comfortable and the pillows were wayyyy too soft even when we asked for extras it wasn't helping the cause. Every night was tossing and turning because you couldn't get comfortable at all. We stayed for a total of 4 nights. For the most part it was very quiet and we never heard our neighbors. Also for some reason our room was VERY hot even when we had the fan on. Every night we slept with the window open. Next door were some apartments and we were near someone's back door so in the mornings or evenings when they were coming and going or doing other things it could get loud.

We had breakfast and dinner in our package. Breakfast was an American buffet and I LOVED every moment of it. As an American married to a European and living in Europe I was so excited to experience this breakfast and it did not disappoint. Dinner was just not the best to me. There were always two meat options and a veggie option. I didn't really enjoy dinner until the last night and it was finally something I really enjoyed. Dessert was always nice. The every night salad bar got old and I was sick of the same options every evening. The soup was always good except one night it was a carrot soup that tasted like butter. It was like I was eating straight melted butter. Also service at dinner was a bit slow and at least one night we sat waiting forever before they even took our order.

Overall the staff was very nice and helpful in every way. They all spoke English and they did our best to make up feel comfortable. One evening we were on our way to dinner and we could smell something odd. Finally on our floor the 3rd floor was made our way across a brown mess on the floor which was obviously someone's poop. We went straight to reception to report it and when we came back up it was cleaned up and the area smelled nice.

We did use the hotel spa and had a couple's massage. The prices are very cheap and the massage was AMAZING. We also were presented with sparkling wine and a huge plate of fruit. Very relaxing.

The hotel is only about a 4km drive from the village where the castles are and parking was easy to get. Of course we were there in the off season and there were not nearly as many tourists, but it was still pretty good.

On the hotel survey we answered "Maybe" to coming back to that hotel, but that is only if we return to Fussen. It was decent, but not my favorite hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lot of pillows. Keep your window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonyAngel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Rooms are great, breakfast nice, more importantly, friendly frontdesk. Hotel is immediately next to Fussen Station, makes dragging heavy luggage from hotel to station a short pain :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed here one night. Room was nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was very good. Great location with all kinds of shops nearby. As a solo traveler I felt very comfortable here and walking around Fussen in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Hotel room was clean, spacious enough and it functions overall OK.
Our room was not available as we arrived early morning, we were also offered an upgrade to a suite which was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast and service is good in this hotel. Hotel is near to bus station.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here during our weekend trip to Neuschwanstein Castle. we stayed in Fussen because we fell in love with the quaint little town for its shops, restaurants and the overall ambiance of the town. When we checked in they couldn't find our reservation and it took a little time to straighten that out, but for our small wait they upgraded us to the top floor suite. Our room was very nice, large and had a great view of the town. I have stayed across the street in another hotel in the past and had a nice experience as well, but the Luitpoldpark was a wonderful hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We would definately stay again and again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiggySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you are a traveler and want to live as an European man in Germany, Luitpoldpark is a good choice. The hotel and its rooms are decorated in traditional European style with wooden furniture and other antique stuffs. The lobby has high and glass ceiling for lights to come in and make the whole place cozy and brighter. The view from your private balcony heads it straight to the mountain afar and the main lovely street below the hotel. I have come here twice and it has become more pleasant with a discount I got from my subscribed email. I will come back to Bavaria again to see those mountains in snow.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Your_Akey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#14 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luitpoldpark-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luitpoldpark-Hotel

Property: Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fussen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luitpoldpark-Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUITPOLDPARK-HOTEL is situated directly in the heart of the city, overlooking the cities adjacent central park. Here you can allow yourself to be captivated by a magical world, one in which style and elegance are united with the simple pleasures of life. All 131 comfortably designed non-smoking-rooms and suites are furnished with high quality marble bathroom, toilet, cosmetic mirror, hair dryer, satellite television, direct-dial telephone and in-room safe . Allow yourself to indulge in one of our four first-rate restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Luitpoldpark-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luitpoldpark Hotel
Treff Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing