We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice cozy hotel”
Review of Hotel Fantasia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fantasia
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice cozy hotel”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

nice property parking available. within walking distance from train station the rooms on the ground floor were excellent for families we could not get them as they have to be booked well in advance.
very good staff helped us in pre booking our castle tours . breakfast was good.my daughter loved the huge trampoline kept in the garden.there are no elevators but we were allowed to keep our big luggage down we just carried up a few things as we were there only for a night.

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms are too good with a double bed and bunk bed for the kids also they have a pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheetal207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    220
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
205
247
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I thought we had the wrong room when we first checked-in... Our room had two rooms, a full bathroom, and kitchen for only 75 Euros per night. The room also had a great balcony view of High Castle where we sat and wrote postcards. The hotel is about a block away from the train station (cutting through the grass) and a block away from the pedestrian streets. The purple style of the rooms was less desirable. The person who checked us in did not tell us we get a discount at Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein Castles. We also wondered what other discounts we missed. The person who checked us out was more helpful. The wifi was strong the first night, but we could not get the wifi to work the second night which was a little annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganderandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is good value but is more like a hostel than a hotel. Rooms are dark and small and not as fabulous as depicted in the website. Good parking though and a good place to stay if you want to visit the castles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Located about a 5 min walk from the historic centre the hotel has lots of free parking. The rooms are clean and updated and the one we had had an excellent view of the castle and surrounding mountains. Bathroom was clean but could use some updating. Breakfast was good with Dyi espresso machine. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a launching point for castle visits.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaimoIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nice hotel, very close to city center. Big and silent rooms, comfortable beds, and parking available in site. Breakfast was ok, and the staff was very helpful. Free Wifi was also included and had a good speed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpresotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this art nouveau villa and wished we could have stayed longer. It feels more like a home than a hotel. The hotel is well located and has its own car park. We like the fact that it's a non-smoking hotel. The reception area is small but very efficient. The hotel is unmanned at certain hours so we couldn't check in until check-in time, when staff would be at the desk, but we were able to use the car park and take a walk whilst we waited (it's just a short walk into the old town). We also had to pay the night before check-out as there is no one at reception until later on in the afternoon. However this was no problem at all. The nice young man at reception who tended to us was very friendly and gave us lots of useful tips, even providing a map and making restaurant recommendations. He was great, speaks a variety of languages and his recommendations made our stay extra special. Our room was on the main floor, facing the street and car park but it was still quiet. There are exterior rolling shutters on the main window that you can activate from the inside. We had a comfort room, which was large enough for 4 people, with 2 extra beds (one bunk bed and one extra), so it was very spacious for the 2 of us. The decor is original and fun (art nouveau style). There are lots of hangers in the wardrobe and there is ample space to put everything away. I did keep stubbing my toe on the door stop fixed to the floor right in front of the wardrobe but I tend to be clumsy anyway. :) The bathroom has lots of space and mirrors and boasts quality fixtures such as Duravit and Hansgrohe. A larger curtain for the bathroom window would have been better but it still did the trick (the window curtain was a good quality shower curtain). The room has the best power shower in any hotel we've been to. What an invigorating and pleasant way to start the day. We had free wi-fi in the room, but there are also computers in the very nice lounge. There are books and games there as well. The buffet breakfast was amazing, with a great selection of fresh, quality foods, such as scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, fruit, croissants, chocolate muffins, cereals, bread, cold cuts, etc. They have a hi-tech coffee/tea machine that is delightful to use. The breakfast room is light and airy. Ines, who is in charge of breakfast (and everything else) is super efficient. Breakfast items were replenished immediately. She always greeted us with a smile, no matter how early it was. Housekeeping was excellent. Hotel Fantasia is a prime example of how to balance a budget hotel with design, quality, comfort and service. We'd like to return to Fussen just to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Fantasia for one night in the family night - a queen bed and triple bunk. The bathroom was off the queen bedroom.

The hotel was clean and in a great location for walking into town to restaurants or walking around.

The best part of our stay would be the staff. From answering all of our questions about visiting castles, where to have dinner and they were so lovely that we got a load of washing done!!!

The breakfast offered lots of options and there was plenty (my boys ate LOADS of bacon and sausage and the more they ate the more was cooked!).

The hotel makes it easy to visit the area and it's much more enjoyable than just day trip in!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luey9189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
798 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alpengluehn
Hotel Alpengluehn
#9 of 40 in Fussen
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Bad Faulenbach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fantasia

Property: Hotel Fantasia
Address: Ottostr. 1, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fantasia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fantasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing