We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 4 out of 5 for its type”
Review of Hotel Ludwigs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ludwigs
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel positive sides:
Friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent shower / bathroom. Comfortable beds. Nice view from the windows. Hotel located in the heart of the old city and its own parking (for a fee of course).

Negative sides:
The room does not have air-conditioner, so check the forecast before booking. During our stay the atmosphere in our penthouse at 32C outside was next to unbearable. Opening the windows is not possible, due to swarm of mosquitoes on the street at night. There is no permanent concierge. The front desk is located right on the stairs at the entrance to the kitchen.

Service was friendly: we were late for breakfast, but had some cake and tea for free when politely asked. The hotel has no elevator and the stairs steep, but ask someone to help with the bags - and all will be fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virtalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 241 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We did not stay in the hotel. We ate at the restaurant outside of the hotel on the street. The food is AMAZING!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PappFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The size of the room are fine ! Location is excellent !B fast is ok

However, w travel with a big group of eight n using a 9 seats travel car , the entrance of car park its just enough to let the car get through
Plus no elevator, even the staff offer help , we still had left most. Of the bags by ourself !
With tge price they charge , I wont recommend to stay here

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Momo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is actually a good place to stay. The location is excellent, right in the old town center, with free parking at the rear. The rooms are small but newly renovated, the buffet breakfast is fine and the restaurant is very cozy and pleasant with decent food at reasonable prices. It’s a good base for sightseeing, exploring the old town and visiting the nearby castles.

However, the reason I am giving this hotel a zero rating is a matter of principle. I do not like to be mislead and this hotel did exactly that. The room prices were clearly stated on the hotel website and there was no fine print to contradict this. Unfortunately, the ultra smart desk clerk was cheekily adjusting these prices depending on which tourists were checking in. We were charged the higher room rate for a smaller room and we learned that some other guests were being charged extra for breakfast, even though this was included in the room rate. We did offer the clerk an opportunity to remedy his actions, however, his response was even more ridiculous. I will omit the details for lack of space. We know it happens all the time, but it is not acceptable to take advantage of unsuspecting tourists simply because they will not be returning. Any hotel which does this, fully deserves a zero rating.

Room Tip: All the rooms are understandably small because it is an older hotel in the center of an old town. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on Nov.1,2. The staff is helpful but busy since the restaurant is very popular.The room was fair size and clean. The breakfast was average. The room was quiet and I suspect it was the time of year since we overlooked the street. In summer it will be hot without AC and with plenty of street noise. But not a problem when when we stayed there.

Room Tip: The higher the better for less noise. High season this will a different experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank columbusJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

From the website I thought that Hotel Ludwigs was going to be a charming, airy hotel. I was wrong. While the restaurant level of the hotel is cute, the rooms are TINY and completely devoid of any character. plain white bed, walls almost touching both sides of the bed it was such a narrow room. Nice modern bathroom. Room overlooked the alley/parking lot, not the cute pedestrian street that is advertised. There is no reception desk but rather we had to wait for someone to appear from the kitchen and then to find someone who spoke english. When we explained that we had four bags, two of which that weighed 50 pounds each, we were told that the only available room was on the very top floor, up several flights of stairs. Overall not impressed.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the lower floors if you have baggage and confirm it will have a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carleaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Room was clean and simple. Had a nice view of the street and and very central. The bathroom was a good size and was very clean. The breakfast was terrible, stale bread and not very fresh cheese, meat and fruit. The staff was extremely rude and made our stay unpleasant. Even when I tried to speak some German with the staff they were still rude. I didn't see a smile the entire three days from any of them. the wifi didn't work in our room as advertised.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 41 in Fussen
617 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#37 of 41 in Fussen
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 41 in Fussen
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen
0 mi away
City Apart Hotel Fussen
0.1 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 41 in Fussen
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ludwigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludwigs

Address: Reichenstr. 17, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Fussen
Price Range: $77 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ludwigs 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ludwigs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing