We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions & reasonable price”

Restaurant Ludwig Gaststatte
Ranked #26 of 100 Restaurants in Fussen
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level Contributor
250 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Huge portions & reasonable price”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

After going for a 7km walk from our hotel we decided to come here for lunch after looking at the menu posted outside.
The menu was in both English & German which made it easier to understand for the non German Speakers in our group and catered for both meat eaters and non meat eaters.
Service was fast, polite & friendly without being intrusive and the portions were very big and reasonably priced.
Would recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a decent place to eat whilst exploring this lovely town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apollo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    38
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The ambience was warm and welcoming! The waiter happy and friendly! The food was really yummy! I had the soup with sausage dumplings which I haven't had in years and it was so tasty!! My partner had sausages with potato salad and really really good sauerkraut !! To die for!!! The desserts were fresh and delicious!! The local dark beer very smooth!! Thumbs up!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mctutums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The food was nice, but more importantly the service staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RockieXun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bavarian cuisine above the pedestrian sidewalks of Fussen”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We came to Fussen on a cold and windy late December afternoon, having parked our car near the train station. We searched for a restaurant that would be warm and cozy. We found a charming restaurant just up the stairs at Ludwigs on Reichenstrasse in Fussen. Since it was December, there was a Christmas tree and decorations by the window. The table was wooden and deliberately "rustic". We were very pleased by the food and the service. It was lovely to look out the window on the shops and passers-by below. Recommended with warmth and sincerity.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Treebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“never again”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

i had lunch there with a bunch of friends.
2 times we got the wrong orders, and 1 arrived extremely late.
I got a very sharp piece of glas in my drink, i found it once it was already in my mouth, i can't tell if the waitress was just smiling to be polite or if she was actually laughing at me. She changed the drink (the least she can do i think) but without apologizing.
And the worst: i didn't know salmon can be that bad. I tasted like fat, dirty fat. And it's way too much food for such a bad taste.
I won't even talk about the huge hair one of my friend found in his plate. Well i guess i already did. The hair would have been nothing if everything else had been at least "fine"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bentriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ludwig Gaststatte also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Ludwig Gaststatte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing