We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, probably” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of House L.A. City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House L.A. City Hostel
Ranked #14 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Value for money, probably”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Well, we are a little confused in making up this review, trying to weigh the positives against the negatives. We were a little disappointed with a few aspects, viz.,
- location: a little far, on foot, from the station, especially after a weary journey
- room view: there were rooms facing the Alps offering great views, but ours was in the basement (as we arrived quite late in the day, i suppose, but somebody has to draw the short straw)
- breakfast: was very frugal, just bread and jam with a boiled egg to boot (at an additional charge too)
But on the positive front:
+ the room was clean and so was the bathroom, albeit shared (one for 3 rooms was the ratio)
+ the hosts were very hospitable and helpful in giving tourist directions to the castles
+ free wifi internet
Overall, probably, a value-for-money deal!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esskaywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    16
    13
    5
See reviews for
15
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacile, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

We choose this hostel because we just want a bed before going to the castle the drive to the castle is very short. We got a room with a bunk bed and a full bed, kids were very happy in their beds. My bed was hard but for the price I can't complain. They have a terrace that you can see the castle from there. Staff was very friendly. My stay was like visiting some German friends. Breakfast was simple, good and homemade again very “familysh”. You can walk to the town and have a good dinner and experience the real German life. The bathroom is shared but we don't have any problems if the bathroom is occupied you can go to the next floor. I recommend bringing sandals for the shower in all hostels. The roommates were teenagers but they didn't make any noise at night. In overall I'm very happy with my stay and price and the staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ovniologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

We had a double bed and a single bed in the room. Bathroom was shared, just a couple of steps outside the room. We did not have any problems sharing the bathroom, it's always clean and dry.

Owner was really friendly, and would come by when need arises. He even greeted us in Mandarin!

No complaints at all!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Good size room with 4 beds, was able to lock the room. Yes La house is open with no real reception, but for all the complainers about security... 1. all hotels are public you can wander where you want in a 5 star hotel,,, so saying the building is unlocked is stupid.
Beds were in typical german platform, which were very comfortable. Breakfast was good typical german fair, bread, cheese, egg. Hotel is close to Train station, Main town..
Best part Beer is 1E at the hostel so you can relax and talk to others in the main room, Just ask the help for beer. Internet is 1E a day WiFi, plenty fast for watching Youtube or flixster.
Only one problem all linen was washed with Fragrance soaps, which to fragrance free, can be stinky.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Some of the rooms can have a view of Neuschwanstein. And the owner of the hostel did give us a room that have this view. Great thanks!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChungFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Excellent value for breakfast (2 euros only!)!
Very friendly owner
Good apartment for the money paid.
Great to go and visit the Royal Castles.
Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandroulitsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

It was our first stay in a hostel. We walked from the railway station to the Hostel through the town. It was easy enough to walk, took us around 10min to walk. Lado the owner was waiting for us in his van. He greeted us, showed the place around and gave us the keys.

It was a room with a double bed and a bunk for our kids. The room and the bathroom were clean. It was easy to find a free bathroom (shared) most of the time. The breakfast was good and the ladies who served us were very friendly. We also met a very nice German farmer family at the breakfast table. It was very nice to talk to them.

We agreed to pay by credit card over the phone but the machine was not working. Lado was nice enough to get my payment by buying him necessary things for the payment amount from shop using my credit card. Lado even dropped us at the station.

Overall it was a pleasant experience for the family.

  • Liked — Friendly, value and clean
  • Disliked — shared toitet, but clean
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House L.A. City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House L.A. City Hostel

Property: House L.A. City Hostel
Address: Wachsbleiche 2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your House L.A. City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing