We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House L.A. City Hostel
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Overall, we had no issues with this hotel, but there are a few negatives worth mentioning.

- Shared bathrooms don't seem to be sufficient for the demand. On two mornings and two evenings I had to wait for showers/toilets as they were all full. There was a line (at least three others) in front of me on both mornings.

- The breakfast was white bread rolls (two each) with spreads (jams, cream cheese, nutella), plus juice, and a tea/coffee. For the price I thought this could have been improved, as you can buy rolls and spread from the supermarket for about 2EU. After eating it once, we didn't have breakfast there again.

On the plus side, the rooms were comfortable enough, the hotel offers bike rental, and it is only about a 30min walk to Neuschwanstein castle.

In the breakfast room there is a small fridge for use by guests (but no kitchen facilities). They also have a small TV in there.

The hotel itself is about a 10min walk from the station, and about 5-7min to the centre of town with restaurants and shops.

Everything is closed on Sundays, so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 64 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

At first my review sounds bad, but it gets better!
The service was a little aggravating. At the hostel you are instructed to call someone to check in. I was expecting a private bathroom but this wasn't the case. We did have a private room though. The person I talked to on the phone did not really seem sure about my reservation either. The rest of the time we were at this place, it was hit or miss whether or not anyone helpful would be working if we needed anything. However, it was nice that in the end of our stay we paid less than we had expected, because they had not given us a room with a private bathroom.
The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. It was decorated like a small child's room though...it was colorful I guess but kind of weird.
The location isn't bad! maybe like a seven minute walk from the train station and the main pedestrian area. One block over from the hostel there is a greenway, from which you can see Neuschwanstein!
I thought it was especially awesome that you can easily rent bikes from the hostel for like 8 Euros a day. Bikes are a great way to travel around Fuessen and even over to the castles!
Despite the mix up with the service and room reservations, overall I think this is a very nice place to stay. It's clean, it's not too out of the way, it's in a quiet neighborhood...they don't offer breakfast but there is a bakery nearby. Also, there is free wifi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannanigansW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Well, we are a little confused in making up this review, trying to weigh the positives against the negatives. We were a little disappointed with a few aspects, viz.,
- location: a little far, on foot, from the station, especially after a weary journey
- room view: there were rooms facing the Alps offering great views, but ours was in the basement (as we arrived quite late in the day, i suppose, but somebody has to draw the short straw)
- breakfast: was very frugal, just bread and jam with a boiled egg to boot (at an additional charge too)
But on the positive front:
+ the room was clean and so was the bathroom, albeit shared (one for 3 rooms was the ratio)
+ the hosts were very hospitable and helpful in giving tourist directions to the castles
+ free wifi internet
Overall, probably, a value-for-money deal!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esskaywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We choose this hostel because we just want a bed before going to the castle the drive to the castle is very short. We got a room with a bunk bed and a full bed, kids were very happy in their beds. My bed was hard but for the price I can't complain. They have a terrace that you can see the castle from there. Staff was very friendly. My stay was like visiting some German friends. Breakfast was simple, good and homemade again very “familysh”. You can walk to the town and have a good dinner and experience the real German life. The bathroom is shared but we don't have any problems if the bathroom is occupied you can go to the next floor. I recommend bringing sandals for the shower in all hostels. The roommates were teenagers but they didn't make any noise at night. In overall I'm very happy with my stay and price and the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovniologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We had a double bed and a single bed in the room. Bathroom was shared, just a couple of steps outside the room. We did not have any problems sharing the bathroom, it's always clean and dry.

Owner was really friendly, and would come by when need arises. He even greeted us in Mandarin!

No complaints at all!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Good size room with 4 beds, was able to lock the room. Yes La house is open with no real reception, but for all the complainers about security... 1. all hotels are public you can wander where you want in a 5 star hotel,,, so saying the building is unlocked is stupid.
Beds were in typical german platform, which were very comfortable. Breakfast was good typical german fair, bread, cheese, egg. Hotel is close to Train station, Main town..
Best part Beer is 1E at the hostel so you can relax and talk to others in the main room, Just ask the help for beer. Internet is 1E a day WiFi, plenty fast for watching Youtube or flixster.
Only one problem all linen was washed with Fragrance soaps, which to fragrance free, can be stinky.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Some of the rooms can have a view of Neuschwanstein. And the owner of the hostel did give us a room that have this view. Great thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChungFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,662 reviews
2.7 mi away
Landhaus Berger
Landhaus Berger
#1 of 1 in Hopfen am See
83 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Geiger
Hotel Geiger
#1 of 3 in Hopfen am See
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hartungs Hotel Dorf
Hartungs Hotel Dorf
#2 of 3 in Hopfen am See
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#12 of 41 in Fussen
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 41 in Fussen
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House L.A. City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House L.A. City Hostel

Address: Wachsbleiche 2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Price Range: $47 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing