We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggling with new owners”
Review of Hotel Eisenkrug

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eisenkrug
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Rooms are fine but service is poor, probably due to recent ownership change. Questions were met with either indifference or very short, unhelpful responses. Front desk was hardly ever staffed. If you like to feel like a guest in hotels, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttkgmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eisenkrug
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2008

Took a chance on the hotel, booking only a few days ahead whilst in Munich and we were very pleasantly surprised. It was well priced and the rooms very good. The family room on the top floor was 2 rooms with a bathroom in between. The double on the 2nd floor was lovely with old furniture and dark wood features with an crazy sloping roof. The bathroom worked well but the decor was bad 70s so could do with updating. The lift although small serviced all the rooms. Breakfast was average but the service was pleasant.
Very attractive building and the views of the town are lovely .A nice place to stay.
Some nice retaurants nearby particularly across the road. Cant remember the name but was modern decor with an outside terrace and bar area with excellent modern food (tiger prawns with black risotto-yum)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OzfamilyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Usually, I choose the most reasonable accommodation in the destination, hence I chose this hotel.
To my surprise, it is very spacious, beautiful antique furniture and wonderful view from the room. Whole building is not new at all, but clean, hot water shower. Everything is maintained very well. I just loved it there.
I booked a single room but in fact, it was a double room, I might have been very lucky because I was provided the room. The view from the room is, I believe, the best among all the rooms in the hotel.
I think that breakfast is typical German one, nothing special.
This hotel also runs 2 restaurants in the hotel, one on ground level looks very popular. The table was full everyday for lunch.

When I arrived, it was lunch time, so all staffs were busy. I couldn't have warm welcome but I understand. oh, usually no one is standing at the reception....
Unfortunately, I had to pay in cash when check-out.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed here at the beginning of a month long trip and got a comfortable room and a good nights sleep. The room was spacious and well furnished although a little worn with a great view of the town out our window. The breakfast buffet was very nice. there may be better choices in town since there are many hotels and rooms but this one was a good selection.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpenglowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2005

Dinkelsbuhl is such a charming town, and from the windows of our room you could take in the lovely town square and watch the vendors set up in the morning. This hotel is right on the town square and has its own sidewalk cafe. It is VERY reasonably priced. Now beware, having windows on the main square has its downside on warm evenings as the sound of traffic on cobblestones goes well into the night with the windows open. Also, beware if you must have everything looking modern. The accomodations are adequate, but a bit rustic.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Monica, CA
642
Reviewed October 8, 2004

We were disappointed with the Eisenkrug and cannot recommend it. We chose the Eisenkrug based on the (now very surprising) recommendations of both Frommers and the Michelin Guide. We stayed there four nights ago for one night. First the good things: The room was relatively inexpensive, the staff polite, and our room was fairly large with a nice view of the square. Unfortunately, the room just wasn't very clean. There was grime on the soap dispenser button and on the handle of the toilet handle as if they hadn't been properly cleaned in a month. There were dusty cobwebs on my bedside lamp. Worst of all one of the pillows had a very strong odor. It smelled strongly of sweat! My husband brought the pillow down to the front desk and the woman at the desk took a whiff and ran into the kitchen and started yelling at one of the workers! She soon brought a clean and fresh-smelling pillow to our room, but the damage was done. We spent the rest of our stay wondering about the cleanliness of everything. We were glad to leave the next day.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
323
Reviewed September 25, 2004

This was one of our favorite hotels of our recent trip to Germany, and one of the best values. For 69 Euros, our room was large, very comfortable and had a great view of the town. Our bathroom had pretty tile and included a tub/hand shower combination. The room had a mini-bar as well. The hotel's restaurant is one of the best in town, with reasonable prices. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was served in a very pretty room. The breakfast was good and was typical for Germany, with cold cuts, boiled eggs, yogurt, breads and cereals. The staff spoke English reasonably well and was friendly. We would stay here again.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinkelsbuhl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#5 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#10 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deutsches Haus
Deutsches Haus
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hezelhof Hotel
Hezelhof Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Hecht
Hotel Blauer Hecht
#4 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Piazza
Hotel Restaurant Piazza
#7 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eisenkrug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eisenkrug

Address: Dr.-Martin-Luther-Str. 1, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range: $94 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eisenkrug 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eisenkrug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenkrug Hotel Dinkelsbühl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing