We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”
Review of Hotel Goldene Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Rose
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Based on other reviews, we didn't stay there, but used the restaurant. It had ambience, gemutlikeit, wonderful food and beer, terrific service, and was fairly priced. A definite thumbs up. I can't denigrate the hotel portion, but can extol the restaurant. It's location, across from the town square is perfect and fit well with visiting the Christmas market. At lunch the menu allowed a small reasonable meal, again, fairly priced.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gunnerHiltonHead_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 120 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

After walking around Dinkelsbühl we wanted to grab a bite to eat and warm up. My husband wanted a lighter meal and I wanted something a little more filling. After looking at several menus on the outside of each restaurant, we decided on the Hotel Golden Rose. As soon as we walked in the door, we were greeted by one of the wait staff who immediately escorted us to our table. There were two eating areas, the right side looked more traditional and the left side was more modern. Shortly after we sat down and given the menu provided to us, our waitress came back and took our orders. Thankfully there was plenty to choose from on the menu. My husband ordered the bratwurst with fried potatoes and I had the pork steak with garlic butter and a baked potato with a garlic sour cream and chive. Drinks came quickly and the food arrived shortly after and it was delicious – especially the baked potato! We polished off our food in no time flat. The only thing my husband didn’t touch was his sauerkraut (he’s not a fan) – I would have eaten it but I was simply too full. The prices for our meals were quite reasonable and the staff was professional and courteous. Before we departed, we both had to use the restroom. Just down the main corridor in front of the reception desk was the restrooms, both were clean and smelled great. I would definitely return for another meal and recommended it to others.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a meal there - lots to choose from and the prices are reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Secretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I recently had the great pleasure to stay in a small, funky hotel in Dinkelsbuhl, Germany. It has been a hotel since the 14th or 15th century (can't remember exactly the date). Judging by the slanted floors and staircases, it is likely the former. Regardless, it is a gem! The room was large, comfortable, spotless, and had a lovely seating area, and included WiFi (free for the first hour). We wandered all over this interesting old town, eventually looking for a restaurant and eventually gave up and ate at the hotel - good choice! The service and food were exceptionally good. If you are in the neighbourhood this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: I think ours was extra large, but unable to judge from experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel_Petr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very central, nice staff. The hotel has a lot of its old charming character. However I would recommend getting the rooms updated. But that aid, the price was much lower than other hotels.

You cannot get more central than this hotel

Room Tip: The bells in the old Cathederal ring for like 3 minutes long at 6am and every quarter hour after tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bergmaninCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

It's an old hotel (14XX?) so the stairs, walls and floors can't meet the standards of a concreet build-in-a-halfyear-hotel, but that's one of the charming things.

The room was in the main building and was modernised and clean, only in the bathroom I would break away the small bathtub and place a sliding door instead, so there is more usefull space.

Overall had a good meal and a pleasand stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harri75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Travelling the Romantic Road, we spent one night here. It is an old coaching inn, with a massive oak staircase, loads of atmosphere. The price was reasonable, and the room comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Did not have to check out till 11 am so had time to enjoy exploring Dinkelsbuhl, a medieval gem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crumblybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 3, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinkelsbuhl hotels
0.0 mi away
Deutsches Haus
Deutsches Haus
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#10 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hezelhof Hotel
Hezelhof Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Hecht
Hotel Blauer Hecht
#4 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Piazza
Hotel Restaurant Piazza
#7 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#11 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Rose

Address: Marktplatz 4, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range: $91 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmosphere... ...And style await guests in the tradition-filled 560-year-old hotel in the heart of Dinkelsbuhl. Guests are catered for in the breakfast room, the hotel bar, function rooms and three restaurants which feature changing speciality weeks. The Golfclub ROMANTISCHE STRASSE is located 2 miles outside of the town. The owners are members themselves and arrange tee off times for you. Please ask for our special arrangements. Parking facilities available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Goldene Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing