We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant portion only!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldene Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Rose
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Restaurant portion only!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

After walking around Dinkelsbühl we wanted to grab a bite to eat and warm up. My husband wanted a lighter meal and I wanted something a little more filling. After looking at several menus on the outside of each restaurant, we decided on the Hotel Golden Rose. As soon as we walked in the door, we were greeted by one of the wait staff who immediately escorted us to our table. There were two eating areas, the right side looked more traditional and the left side was more modern. Shortly after we sat down and given the menu provided to us, our waitress came back and took our orders. Thankfully there was plenty to choose from on the menu. My husband ordered the bratwurst with fried potatoes and I had the pork steak with garlic butter and a baked potato with a garlic sour cream and chive. Drinks came quickly and the food arrived shortly after and it was delicious – especially the baked potato! We polished off our food in no time flat. The only thing my husband didn’t touch was his sauerkraut (he’s not a fan) – I would have eaten it but I was simply too full. The prices for our meals were quite reasonable and the staff was professional and courteous. Before we departed, we both had to use the restroom. Just down the main corridor in front of the reception desk was the restrooms, both were clean and smelled great. I would definitely return for another meal and recommended it to others.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a meal there - lots to choose from and the prices are reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Secretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    45
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
23
56
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lantzville, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I recently had the great pleasure to stay in a small, funky hotel in Dinkelsbuhl, Germany. It has been a hotel since the 14th or 15th century (can't remember exactly the date). Judging by the slanted floors and staircases, it is likely the former. Regardless, it is a gem! The room was large, comfortable, spotless, and had a lovely seating area, and included WiFi (free for the first hour). We wandered all over this interesting old town, eventually looking for a restaurant and eventually gave up and ate at the hotel - good choice! The service and food were exceptionally good. If you are in the neighbourhood this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: I think ours was extra large, but unable to judge from experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_Petr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very central, nice staff. The hotel has a lot of its old charming character. However I would recommend getting the rooms updated. But that aid, the price was much lower than other hotels.

You cannot get more central than this hotel

Room Tip: The bells in the old Cathederal ring for like 3 minutes long at 6am and every quarter hour after tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bergmaninCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

It's an old hotel (14XX?) so the stairs, walls and floors can't meet the standards of a concreet build-in-a-halfyear-hotel, but that's one of the charming things.

The room was in the main building and was modernised and clean, only in the bathroom I would break away the small bathtub and place a sliding door instead, so there is more usefull space.

Overall had a good meal and a pleasand stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harri75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Travelling the Romantic Road, we spent one night here. It is an old coaching inn, with a massive oak staircase, loads of atmosphere. The price was reasonable, and the room comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Did not have to check out till 11 am so had time to enjoy exploring Dinkelsbuhl, a medieval gem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crumblybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

The town is well worth a visit. The hotel was fine, the breakfast was fantastic. We got quite hot in the upstairs bedroom so close to the ceiling though. The staff were very very friendly, however, there was a problem with Visa payments and that was a bit annoying- bring cash if you can and ask for a down stairs room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bentley101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinkelsbuhl hotels
0.0 mi away
Deutsches Haus
Deutsches Haus
#1 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hezelhof Hotel
Hezelhof Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#8 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
#3 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Hecht
Hotel Blauer Hecht
#4 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenkrug
Hotel Eisenkrug
#6 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Rose

Property: Hotel Goldene Rose
Address: Marktplatz 4, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldene Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmosphere... ...And style await guests in the tradition-filled 560-year-old hotel in the heart of Dinkelsbuhl. Guests are catered for in the breakfast room, the hotel bar, function rooms and three restaurants which feature changing speciality weeks. The Golfclub ROMANTISCHE STRASSE is located 2 miles outside of the town. The owners are members themselves and arrange tee off times for you. Please ask for our special arrangements. Parking facilities available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goldene Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldene Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing