We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic building in the heart of Dinkelsbuhl”
Review of Deutsches Haus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deutsches Haus
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice historic building in the heart of Dinkelsbuhl”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is charming, with a central location, spacious rooms, and great value. Staff at check in was a little disinterested, but all other experiences with staff were great. Breakfast was good, didn't eat at the restaurant, as it looked a little modern, and we were in the mood for traditional German fare. Beds were very firm but the rooms were tidy, very charming, and well equipped. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland_Klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    47
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
108
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We lucked out when a local recommended this hotel.
It was delightful, the room was large and very clean and comfortable.
The decor was charming and the included breakfast was great.

No A/C in the rooms, but with the windows open, there was a pleasant breeze.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gday2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Best service , good location and good price comes together and here is Deutsches Haus.
You can feel that it is a the family owned business.Owner was serving and hosting dinner for us. Room was comfortable and well decorated.Had the best dinner in Germany. If you plan to go to Dinkelsbuhl you must try this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the road side as city is not crowded dont hasitate to have a room that side there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We happened to stay here by accident--by good luck!--and although it was slightly more than we were hoping to pay it was still very reasonable and ended up being so worth it. We arrived late and they went out of their way to piece something together for us for dinner, which was still great. It was right on the town square which was absolutely perfect because there was a festival that night and we got front-row seats to the whole spectacle. This place was a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The charm of this hotel is amazing, not to mention its location. The room has beautiful actions, but small TVs...but hey, Whois going to watch German tv in dinkelsbuhl? Whenever I ask where something is, they tell me and draw it out. I stayed for 4 weeks for work, and they gave me free laundry service the whole time. They're not out to make a buck, they truly take pride in the hotel. Only complaint is sometimes the bathroom smells bad, but they put in a deodorizer without me even saying anything. Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mik2tuf4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

From the moment of arrival the service was impeccable . They knew who we where and couldn't be more pleasant or efficient. The rooms and Decor of the whole hotel was quaint and lovely. Couldn't fault the place and I've stayed in literally hundreds of hotels across the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraz13r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This historic inn is a fabulous choice for a stay in Dinkelsbuhl. Located right on the town square, it looks and feels like Old Germany from the half-timbered facade to the sweeping stairway with suits of armor and statues of the Madonna strewn about inside. Our room was much bigger than we expected and thankfully located on the quieter rear side of the building. Although the decor was a little tired, it was clean, comfortable and quiet. The valet parking was bargain at only 8 Euros.

The front desk was run a little loosely, if not a little bit gruffly, but the restaurant maitre d' was a bright and exuberant young lady with an impeccable style and a great grasp on the English language. She made us feel like we were being invited into a private club as VIP guests. I should say that this restaurant is beautiful and is supposed to be the best one in town. The breakfast included a large plate of mixed meats which was impossible for two people to finish, along with the eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit and rolls that you expect with a good German breakfast. The coffee was excellent, too.

The only negative thing to report is the bathroom. It was large and modern with a very big corner bathtub, but the lighting was harsh and there was no window for natural light or ventilation. The ceiling fan could be heard from the bed even with the door closed. There was no curtain or divider for the shower, so it was impossible not to get the floor completely wet when showering. Fortunately, they had provided plenty of extra bath mats and towels.

Over-all, I recommend this hotel as it is a cut above many of the tourist hotels on the Romantic Road. It is charming and full of interesting quirks. We slept well and had a great breakfast there. The car was already waiting for us out front as we came downstairs to check out.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toxoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinkelsbuhl hotels
0.0 mi away
Hezelhof Hotel
Hezelhof Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#5 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#7 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
#3 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meiser`s
Hotel Meiser`s
#8 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenkrug
Hotel Eisenkrug
#9 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsches Haus

Property: Deutsches Haus
Address: Weinmarkt 3, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deutsches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive, relax and enjoy - enjoy yourself!Your way to us leads you into the heart of a contemplative scenary at the Romantic Street, where rest and recreation inspire your spirits and where an excellent way of living also expresses itself in delicious food.Enjoy an easy going time at one of the most beautiful hotels in the southern part of germany, in Dinkelsbuhl, a very attractive town dated from the Midlle Ages. Be our guest in our house full of history, tradition and savoir vivre.Out of a patrician`s home , originally built in 1440 , we have created a refuge of good taste, and have preserved the unique character and charme of the traditional property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing