We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$283.86*
and up
Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg
More Info
$540.40*
and up
Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau...
More Info
$707.86*
and up
4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg...
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Dinkelsbuhl
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This walled village houses mercantile buildings dating from the 15th and 16th centuries. The fortified wall has sixteen towers; you can access the city from four of them.
Greensboro
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our visit exceeded expectations, and we had expected a lot! The architecture, people, history, bier and vistas were simply outstanding. We also rode bikes, in and outside of town. Take the tour of the town museum (in the old town hall/current tourist bureau), which provides an interpretive presentation of 800 years of history. It deepened our appreciation of the town, although we mainly just liked to walk, wander and drink up the scenery (as well as a little bier :). Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy this charming village. No offense intended, but we much preferred Dinkelsbuhl to Rothenberg, which we liked, but found to be almost overrun with tourists. We also enjoyed Wallerstein. Magical trip for us!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StefGreensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    102
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, IN
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Like Walking Through a Fairy Tale...”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We thought we'd take a quick stop in Dinkelsbuhl on our Romantic Road road trip based on other traveler reviews. It wasn't one of the destinations I'd researched, so I didn't know what to expect. This town is positively adorable, and quintessentially German. We ended up spending a good part of the day here, and having one of the most affordable lunches we had in our two week tour of the country. There are some cute shops, and the buildings are just a pleasure to look at. The town is colorful, and the people are wonderful. The medieval walls are well-preserved, and the walking the streets is like stepping back in time. We were excited to see the white stork's nest on top of the old town hall building in the center sqare...complete with several fledging storks dancing around the edge of the nest! A great little stop-off...much less commercial than the larger towns, with just as much character!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank thewhirledtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
304 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Rothenburg gets all the glory, but Dinkelsbuhl is just as cute and adorable, and it's even smaller! The buildings, however, all seem to be bigger than Rothenburgs, so it’s really interesting to walk around and look at the architecture and find the little parks and interesting streets. If you drive, you do have to get a parking pass from the main information center and you get an hour free. Check your rental car for a pass, as ours had one, but we didn't find it until the end of our trip. It’s easier to park outside of the walls in one of the parking lots and then just walk into town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RYC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Dinkelsbühl worths more than a quick stop”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Still surrounded by its medieval walls and towers, Dinkelsbühl seam to be straight out of a Brothers Grimm story! Around the Marktplatz are a number of buildings, including the Gothic Rathaus. Worths more than a quick stop.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobertoAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Turn back the clock”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Brilliant! don't miss the back streets full of charming wooden houses.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank europesgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

Dinkelsbuhl, Middle Franconia
Dinkelsbuhl, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Dinkelsbuhl, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing