We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Haus Appelberg
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were very happy to have chosen this Gasthaus. For our family of 4, we had a room with two separate bedrooms with double beds and a very nice sized bathroom. Very comfortable, clean, spacious, and quaint! The breakfast was very good, offering a nice selection of yogurts, meats, cheeses, breads, jams, cereals, and juices. My young daughters loved the hot cocoa too, of course! The staff were very friendly. My only suggestion would be to offer a map of Dinkelsbuhl in the room, since the reception is closed during the day. Dinkelsbuhl is a beautiful town worth exploring too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mewanch18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    28
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
280 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Personalised attention to food by the hosts, who are part of a leading family in Dinkelsbuhl hospitality . The maultaschen(pork and spinach ravioli)was delicious. Warm and welcoming place. Good beer and wine choices-on the main street. Again great desserts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel Haus Appelberg is a small family-run hotel that provides spacious and clean rooms at reasonable rates. Its location in southern Dinkelsbühl is quite good, and its atmospheric restaurant offers inexpensive yet satisfying regional specialties.

This hotel is located near the southern end of the walled town. The symbolic attractions such as Münster St Georg and Deutsches Haus are on Weinmarkt in the city center, and the Europabus stop at Schweinemarkt is in northwestern part of the town. However, Dinkelsbühl is a small city so the southern location should add just five or so more walking minutes to itineraries. The building faces Nördlinger Straße, a main road that connects Weinmarkt to Nördlinger Tor, the southern gate. This makes it very easy to reach the hotel by car (the hotel has its own garage right across the street), yet there is little traffic and it is very quiet at night.

The rooms are bright, very clean, and spacious (almost as large as some junior suites in metropolitan hotels). Our room had a king-sized bed instead of the usual queen, plus a pretty wooden wardrobe. The bathrooms are just as clean and seem even larger, each with a bathtub and a shower booth. WiFi is free, and the password is given upon check-in.

On the ground floor, the northern (right) side is a wine bar that triples as the reception and the breakfast room (head here for check-in/out). Like most small independent European hotels, Appelberg reception also has limited hours, so check before the trip. The reception takes a break during 2~4pm, possibly longer. Breakfast is a bit limited in variety but otherwise okay.

The warmly decorated restaurant, to the southern (left) side, is arguably the best part of this hotel. The Franconian specialties such as Maultaschen are outstanding, and Apfel Strudel was among the best we had along Romantische Straße. You can enjoy very filling and tastier meals here for one-third of what you’d pay for mediocre grubs in München (Munich) and two-third of the price in Nürnberg (Nuremberg).

To conclude, Hotel Haus Appelberg is a very nice provincial hotel that offers quality sleep at competitive rates. It is also endowed with a rustic restaurant with superb price-to-performance ratio. While the whole experience wasn’t impressive enough for full 5-points in TripAdvisor, we feel that Appelberg certainly ranks somewhere close to 4.5. We do recommend this charming hotel that shares the spirit of this beautiful town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
284 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Dinkelsbuhl is one of those lovely walled German towns, much like Rotherburg but much less commercialized.

And the Hotel Haus Appelberg is the perfect place to stay. It's right on the main street within the walled town, within easy walking distance of the whole town. We stayed in Room 7 on the second floor. and it was wonderful - lots of room with the bed and a large sitting area. The bathroom was immense by German standards, with a full size tub as well as a stall shower. All the fixtures were modern.

Breakfast the next morning was excellent with good service and wonderful offerings.

If you book here, and I would recommend it, spring for the extra few Euros for a reservation for a private garage owned by the hotel. It is just across the street, you get your own key to open it, and you save the agony of finding a parking place on a narrow busy street.

We booked this hotel primarily because of the TripAdvisor rating, and, as usual, we weren't disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had made reservation at the gastehause which is just across the street from the hotel. We arrived a day earlier than our reservation and went to the hotel to see if they had a room available. The manager at the hotel became agitated that we arrived a day early and told us that the gastehause was closed as the parents that run it were returning from vacation the next day when we had the reservation. He was obviously irritated and called someone on the phone. Not wanting to cause problems we asked if they could recommend another hotel. Still irritated he marched us across the street and up to a room and told us we could stay there. Not a pleasant experience.
I will say that the rooms were extremely nice and clean, quiet and attractive. We at dinner at the hotel since it was late and the rouladen that I had was one of the best I have ever eaten.
The included breakfast taken at the hotel Appelberg was sufficient but limited. Two rolls per person. After the previous evening we were both afraid to ask for another. Compared to the rest of the hotels we stayed at during our two week trip this was definitely on the stingy side.
Would we stay their again? Probably. Maybe the manager just had a bad day!

Room Tip: Gastehause is very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A short drive south from Rothenburg is another medieval gem along the Romantic Road of Germany; Dinkelsbuhl. The Hotel Haus Appelberg is located within the old town and a short walk from the sights. Our room was spacious with 4 poster bed and large bathroom, all very clean. Breakfast the next morning was great with the usual fresh bread/rolls and meats. There is also a stube to eat in later. Check the time you can check in before arriving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeStephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Be warned this is a small hotel that closes during the day so you need to warn them if you intend to arrive before 5pm. I had a large room with a sofa & table & chairs & lots of windows. Unfortunately the curtains were white so they didn't do a good job of blocking out the early morning sun. The bed was quite comfortable (on the firm side) but the pillows were too soft! I didn't think I would ever say that but they weren't stuffed with enough feathers so didn't provide enough support & were more like small duvets. There was lots of cupboard space including a safe. The bathroom was large & had a large bathtub & a separate shower. They had a nice flat screen TV but only German channels. The wifi was free & worked well including in the bedroom. For breakfast there was a small assortment of ham, cheeses, breads, yoghurt, cereals & boiled eggs. I had dinner there & it was very tasty & the staff were efficient & friendly & helpful. I managed to park for free in a field just outside the city walls but they provide a garage if you need it. The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the town square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinkelsbuhl hotels
0.2 mi away
Hezelhof Hotel
Hezelhof Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
Flair Hotel Weisses Ross
#7 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#5 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#11 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
Dinkelsbuehler Kunst-Stuben
#3 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blauer Hecht
Hotel Blauer Hecht
#4 of 12 in Dinkelsbuhl
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Appelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Appelberg

Property: Hotel Haus Appelberg
Address: Noerdlinger Str. 40, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haus Appelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Haus Appelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Appelberg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing