We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient business hotel”
Review of Hotel Am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Am Rathaus
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
London, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Efficient business hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed for one night on route to Austria, choosing to stay in Augsberg because of its historic centre. The hotel was a good base to see the town that we thought was less attractive than expected. Breakfast was good with a lovely selection of breads. Overall we thought the hotel was efficient and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recentvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
23
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Augsburg is a wonderful city and we had a pleasant stay at this hotel, when we were visiting our relatives. The staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was wonderful, we felt really at home. The room was very comfortable.
We enjoyed a lot walking through the narrow streets of Augsburg, and coming back to the hotel at night. A very safe and organized city, we recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laetitiaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Being in the center of town, this place could not be better located. Yet, it is so located that it is away from downtown noise. Breakfast buffet was well done with prompt and courteous server. A news sheet given to us with current news in English was appreciated. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Be sure to visit the Italian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadreArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in Augsburg which is not too far from Munich. We chose to stay in Augsburg as Oktoberfest was on in Munich meaning hotel accommodation there was pretty booked out and expensive!
Hotel Am Rathaus (Townhall) is in the centre of town so very convenient. It is in a back lane so there is no traffic noise but beware the tolling of the bells every quarter hour! Luckily this stops at 10pm & does not restart until 7am.
We found the staff very friendly and they spoke English well. The room was quite large & the bathroom although small was clean & adequate. Breakfast was buffet style in a bright, pleasant room. Cereals, rolls, cheese, meat & hot eggs, bacon etc which is unusual in Germany (usually cold hard boiled eggs).
The Italian restaurant next door is definely worth a visit also.
For location & price this hotel was great and Augsburg itself a pleasant place to stay and one can easily travel to Munich by train (about 40 mins.)

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — The tolling of the bells
  • Tips/Secrets — Good alternative to Munich
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#2 of 31 in Augsburg
278 reviews
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dom Hotel
#3 of 31 in Augsburg
285 reviews
IntercityHotel Augsburg
#14 of 31 in Augsburg
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Rathaus

Property: Hotel Am Rathaus
Address: Am Hinteren Perlachberg 1, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing