We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, recommended for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I had a good time at Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz (stayed there for 2 days). Check-in was fast and efficient (the lady at the reception and most other hotel employees were friendly, with the exception of one member of the reception staff, who appeared standoffish when asked a routine question regarding the charger system for a mobile phone). One of the reception ladies offered to set a wake up call for me when she noticed that I was having trouble following the instructions in the telephone manual in the room and I really appreciated that. The only two things that took me aback (to a degree) was that I had to pay for my whole stay on the very first evening (despite the e-mail communication with the hotel seemingly indicating otherwise) and that MasterCards (credit) were not accepted by the hotel machine (though there were no issues with VisaCards/debit). There was actually free Wifi in my room (which was located on the second floor) and the speed was acceptable, but I was constantly asked to reconnect and fill in a short form (once every hour or so) to have my Internet restored. I may have simply been lucky, because the impression I got was that only a small percentage of the rooms offered this service free of charge. You could also bring your laptop downstairs (in the hotel lobby) to take advantage of the wireless Internet if you are unable to connect in your room (the staff provide you with the necessary instructions, but the process of logging in and "releasing" the Internet is a bit cumbersome). However, it's usually slightly noisy in the lobby and there are quite a few people around, so you would likely feel a bit unnerved if you value your privacy.
The hotel room I was in was quite large and very clean (and there was a nice view to the city centre). Everything from the TV set to the bathroom appliances functioned properly and the bed was quite comfortable. There were absolutely no issues with regard to noise pollution.
I never tried the breakfast or ate in the restaurant, so I can't comment on that, but there are quite a few bakeries, convenience stores, a Mcdonald's franchise and pizza outlets nearby. The location is very convenient (it's a 10 to 15 minute walk from the central train station and the hotel is quite close to the city centre). You could get a taxi in the vicinity of the hotel with relative ease.
All in all, very good for a short business or holiday stay.

Room Tip: There was free Wifi in my room on the second floor (OK Internet speed), but this may have been a one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 500 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plane9as
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Central location of this Ibis hotel within easy walking distance of main shopping district make it a good choice. The hotel has a large underground car park beneath at a reasonable charge. The typical Ibis was clean with very helpful reception staff. Simple meals were served in the restaurant next to the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeStepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel was close to the main bus and train depot in the heart of Augsburg. Room was very small, but bed was a proper double so that helped our sleeping.Not great on the sound-proofing side either - we could hear pretty much everyone that walked past the door! No wifi available and cabled internet to the room was charged by the minute so chose to use hotel's computer near reception which was very slow. Breakfast buffet was reasonably priced, although we have since found better, both in price and variety, and was not always kept stocked. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaFi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This Ibis experience in Augsburg was a good one. You will get what it is normally expected from a medium quality hotel.
Location is good for both business and leisure, close to the city center. Not difficult to find.
Breakfast is satisfying and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSMArad_Romania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed here with friends for four nights as part of a trip to Munich, for the Oktoberfest and a Champions League game at the Allianz arena.

The hotels in Munich were all silly prices because of the Oktoberfest so we decided to stay in Augsburg, which is 40 minutes by regional train from Munich. By sharing a Bavaria ticket, we kept transport costs down to about 30 euros total per day. The last train back was just after midnight, which worked out just OK for us to get back from the Tuesday night football game.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof and also 10 minutes from the centre of the old town of Augsburg. A few late nights meant we didn't see much of Augsburg or spend much time in the hotel. From this limited experience, it seemed to be a perfectly acceptable Ibis hotel. Slightly small rooms and bathroom with very limited furnishings but good enough for our needs. No English language channels on the television but that seems to be the norm in Germany and we weren't there to watch television. The beds in the twin room were comfortable enough, if a little narrow; it was too easy to accidentally turn on the bedroom light when turning over in bed.

A day or two prior to check-in, I e-mailed the hotel - in English - to ask for some special arrangements, including one of my friends checking in before the rest of us, even though the booking was in my name. The hotel replied to say this was fine and the early book-in worked perfectly. This was very impressive.

The hotel staff member we saw most nights was very friendly and spoke excellent English; we even got in to an interesting debate about Germany, Greece and the Euro over a drink in the bar.

The good service we received before and during the stay nudges this up to a four out of five overall rating from me. Definitely worth considering for a stay in Augsburg and, if you don't mind the daily travel, for a trip to Munich.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nash0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susettew4800
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Augsburg Hauptbahnhof
Ibis Augsburg Hauptbahnhof
#11 of 31 in Augsburg
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Augsburg
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Augsburg City
Ibis Budget Augsburg City
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Drei Mohren
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Augsburg
IntercityHotel Augsburg
#16 of 31 in Augsburg
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz

Address: Hermanstr. 25, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Price Range: $67 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz hotel is located in the city centre, close to the Kongresszentrum Convention Centre and the theatre district, 300 m from the main railway station and public transport. It has 106 rooms and all 106 rooms are air-conditionited, a bar open 24 hours, a restaurant and secure pay parking. It also features 3 meeting rooms (80 persons) for seminars and conferences. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the WiFi wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing