We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a great hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Europe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be a great hotel...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is like a book which is so great that you cannot stop reading, but has one page missing and that page contains the resolution of all the plots, so you cannot be happy even though all other 300 pages were amazing. If you know what I mean.
In practical terms it looks as follows:
+ the room we stayed in was spacious, clean and modern, had a very good and spacious walk-in shower (although I had a feeling the water doesn't really keep a stable temperature all the time, once it's colder, once warmer, but it might just as well have been an impression), very nice balcony;
+very good and professional service, both at the reception and in the restaurant
+very good breakfast buffet, with a cook making your scrambled eggs on order and in front of your eyes
+- location - it is not in the very centre, but a short 10-15 min. walk away that can do no harm to anybody, there is a bus for lazy people,
- expensive parking - 18 euros/day - let's remember that we are not in Paris, but in Augsburg
- no hotel should charge 4 euros for a glass of water
- in the times when even a lousy b&b somewhere in the countryside offers free wifi access, the four star superior hotel Dorint charges 5 euros per hour! This is so outrageous that it takes immediately two points away from the overall rating.
Summing up, if you don't need a parking, have your own water with you, and don't care about internet access - great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kubunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your fair and detailled review.

First of all we are happy that you liked our service.

The Wifi is not free of charge because we are still fixed to existing contracts.

With best regards

The team from Dorint Hotel Augsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    165
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
41
74
24
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The rooms were very nice and I got a personal welcome note from the Manager....very impressive! Take note, it was handwritten......the food was great and the view from my room was SPECTACULAR!!!!

Room Tip: rooms starts at 100 euros.....not bad for what they offer you....all the rooms have a breathtaking v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter Camille G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review.

We are happy that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel.

With best regards

The team from Dorint Hotel Augsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for the Champions League Final in Munich. Hotel was clean and tidy, staff were attentive, food was good. No food or drinks available after 11pm...not good after the Chelsea win!
Breakfasts were good. Wifi was expensive.

Room Tip: I'd say the higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whodoumeflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that overall you liked the stay in our hotel.

with best regards

Your team from Dorint Hotel Augsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel seems to cater very much for business travellers and the staff don't generally seem trained or prepared to deal with tourists. Also the hotel is an inconvenient distance fro the town centre and, apart from the adjacent parkland, appears to be in a rather run-down neighbourhood.

The room price may seem cheap, but everything we wanted cost extra, including an outrageous 18 Euros a night for parking.

On the good side the rooms are really quite good in a bland sort of way.

The best reason I can think of for staying here is the lack of other quality hotels in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

we are are very sorry, that our service could not satisfy you.

We do not differ between business and tourist guests, and we try
to make both type of guests their stay as much comfortable as possible.

with best regards

Your team from Dorint Hotel Augsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel has apparently been built in the 1970ies in the style formerly used for Holiday Inns, i.e. as a round tower. Rooms and bathrooms are not very large but generally well equipped. Most rooms have a quite spacious balcony, which is nice. The main down-side for me was that the rooms have little storage space, i.e. no cupboard (just 3 hangers on the wall) and two rather small drawers for storage, which makes it a necessity to live out of your suitcase. Both room and breakfast were quite affordable. The paid WiFi access was painstakingly slow. I had mistakenly left some stuff in the room, and the staff was quite helpful in having it sent to me.

Room Tip: State well in advance if you wish a non-smoking room, or you may end up with a smoking room involunt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmk010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your time and review.

We are sorry, that our room did not fulfill all your wishes.

But despite of that we hope to meet you again one time.

with best regards

Your team of Dorint Hotel Augsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel has modern amenities, great looking rooms, splendid service and is very comfortable. Rooms were spacious and clean. Restaurant food was great and breakfast was very good.

Would recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAuditor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint A, Manager at Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear "Theauditor99",

thank you very much for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and
that you reommend our house.

We hope to welcome you again one time.

With best regards

Your team from Dorint Hotel Augsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Thorouhly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The hotel is modern, comfortable, very clean, well maintained and staffed by people who really care. Breakfast was very good, I had a freshly made omelette which was excellent and which I would recommend to you all. I can find no fault at all.

The hotel is fairly priced and within easy reach of Munich.

Others chains should learn from this one to get to these standards.
My only gripe is that Wifi is charged for ( first 15 mins free) and we should all campaign against this.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NWSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint A, Manager at Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear "Nick",

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a pleasent stay in our hotel and enjoyed our freshly made omlettes. We do this every day. So please don not hesitate to visit us again.
We are waiting for you!

Best regards from the team of the Dorint Hotel Augsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#3 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dom Hotel
#2 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Lechhausen-Ost
Quality Hotel Augsburg
Quality Hotel Augsburg
#4 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg

Property: Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg
Address: Imhofstr. 12, 86159 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Dorint Novotel Augsburg)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing