We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite bland surroundings, lovely hotel with great personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here overnight to Easter Sunday and in the morning we had 2 Lindt chocolate bunnies hanging on the door and there was an Easter egg hung all around the hotel where somewhere a golden egg to be found that contained a weekend's free stay (sadly we never didn't manage to find it). I only wish the children had come with us as they would have had a ball! There were chocolate mini eggs everywhere at breakfast, in the foyer around the floors etc. Great fun and I applaud the hotel for going that extra mile to deliver a personal service. Great value for money as the breakfast was plentiful with a chef on standby to make the most enormous omlettes!

The surroundings were not that impressive but on the plus side, we managed to park for free on the road! All in all, a lovely stay, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groovybaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorint A, Manager at Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear "Groovybaby18",

thank you for your nice rewiew.

We do like, that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and had great fun.
We hope, to see again one time.

With best regards

Your Team from Dorint Hotel Augsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 358 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

Expensive hotel with even more expensive wireless service and Euro 4/minute for international phone calls. Should have used my US cell phone which would have been less than half.
Breakfast is okay. Room service below average: found used soap in my bathroom when I checked in and found broken toilet seat.
Overall not worth the money plus hotel is trying to take advantage of business travelers by overcharging for incidentials and phone/internet.
Friends stayed at Dom Hotel and had a great experience plus paid less for the room and nothing for other services.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed there a couple of times in the last years and were never disappointed. As we use a corporate rate including breakfast I can not say much about the value for money but everything is simply very good. Staff is friendly and check-in quick and smooth. The rooms are not too large but sufficiently furnished and there was enough space even with a baby cot in it.

Breakfast buffet variety is absolutely fine with us and everything you need which is not displayed already will be served immediately. The only weak point of the hotel is the parking garage which is very old and narrow. Although it is about to be renovated we could not see much progress in the last two years.

Room Tip: All rooms we had so far were nice and actually looked the same. They were all facing the park and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night (it had been booked on our behalf when we booked a self-drive Romantic Road tour with "To Europe") - it was about a 15 minute wak from the centre of the "touristy" part of town (which would probably have been fine during the day, but unfortunately we arrived when it was cold, dark and rainy!)

Finding free parking on the street wasn't a problem, though there was also a garage next to (but not, it seemed, connected to) the hotel which we could have parked in for a fee.

The room was what one would expect from a 4-star hotel. The outstanding point was the breakfast buffet - a very good selection of food, with a member of staff on hand to make omlettes or scrambled eggs upon request.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels_with_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I've been at Dorint a couple of times and never disappointed me . The staff is very kind and professional. Rooms are essential but very quiet,clean and spacious,with comfortable bed. Breakfast is good ; the food at the restaurant (regional dishes) is very good as well and of very good quality, and with excellent service (but a little bit expensive).
If you are in Augsburg for pleasure,consider that the hotel is not close to the town center,however it's still within walking distance (15-20 min) and also served with public transportation ; but this distance from the town center may allow you to enjoy the green park that surrounds the hotel.
The hotel is at 5 minutes walk from Renk, if you have businesses there.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley_GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I spent 1 night at the Dorint Hotel in Augsburg. I was there on business, so I wasn't too bothered about the hotel not being in the centre. Check-in was fast and easy. The room (I was on the second floor) was simple, but comfortable. The bed was actually very comfortable and so were the pillows. I always find it difficult to get good pillows in hotels, but the ones at the Dorint were perfect. There was no noise, outside or inside, so I had a pretty good night sleep. There could be a few more amenities in the bathroom, like a box of tissues, but that's only a detail.
Breakfast was okay, but nothing special. There was a choice of breads and pastries, preserves, honey (the forest honey was delicious), yoghurts, fruit salads, cheese, ham, as well as some eggs which they cook at your request.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLR&SLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed for one night in the Dorint and was pleasantly surprised. I had a spacious, tastefully - even if not very individually - decorated and (as requested) quiet double room with balcony on the 6th floor. Check-in was quick, friendly and efficient. Room was clean, bathroom provided enough space to put all cosmetics etc., bed was comfortable (just found pillow to soft, but that might be me). Breakfast till 12 am and the buffet offered a broad choice, incl. fresh made eggs in all variations and pancakes. The hotel is a bit outside the city center and you need to take the tram to get there. If you don't mind, this hotel is a very good choice. If however you want to experience the "romantic" and historic Augsburg, you would rather go into the old part of the town which is beautiful.
All in all a very good stay and I would come back again.

Only draw-back: Parking in the garage next door is not for free and be aware you need to validate the park ticket at the hotel reception...which you'll only find out when you're at the garage in front of the machine to pay the ticket. Not very convenient to walk back and forth. But apart from that: nothing to criticize.

Room Tip: Take a room with park view (Wittelsbacher Park) - very nice. Rooms on higher floors have view over A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie_Mandelauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#2 of 31 in Augsburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lechhausen-Ost
Quality Hotel Augsburg
Quality Hotel Augsburg
#5 of 31 in Augsburg
288 reviews
Ibis Augsburg Hauptbahnhof
#10 of 31 in Augsburg
632 reviews
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#8 of 31 in Augsburg
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg

Address: Imhofstr. 12, 86159 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Dorint Novotel Augsburg)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Price Range: $119 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Hotel An der Kongresshalle Augsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing