We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and family oriented”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Ost am Ko
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and family oriented”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've stayed here 2 times and have enjoyed both stays. The rooms are kept clean, the staff are very nice, and the breakfast spread is wonderful! It's an ideal place to stay for comfort and location. A friend and I rented a car and they provided parking for us.It's only 2 hours from Munich and less than an hour to see Neuschwanstein castle by car. Also, since it's in the heart of Augsburg there are many cafe's, stores, restaurants all within walking distance. I myself thoroughly enjoyed the stroll.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    140
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
110
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having landed in Stuttgart in the morning we wanted to start our vacation and selected Augburg as the starting point, and stayed at the Ost Am Ko City Hotel. Finding the hotel was a bit problimatic due to the road construction. After we arrived the three of us were upgraded to nicer three room. The location is ideal to the city centre within walking distance. The breakfast was good. Next time we will spend more than a day in Aiugburg. The staff was nice and helpful.

Room Tip: If you have a car as we did try to obtain a parking space in front of the hotel, there are only four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was in a great location. It is within easy walking distance to all the sites, the farmers market, shopping, food, old town, and even the train station. We stayed in a 3 person suite which was quite comfortable and spacious (for Europe) with ample closet space and sound proof windows. The beds were comfy and were all twins (2 were placed together and one doubled as a futon during the day.) We saw the single rooms and, like most rooms in Europe, they were tiny - but these were very clean. The hotel has recently been renovated which can easily be seen in the modern entry and dinning hall. The breakfast was very tasty and featured local products. The staff was helpful and the whole place was neat as a pin. There is no aircon as other reviews have mentioned but most hotels there don't have them. As my German friend pointed out, they only would be needed, at most, a few days a year. The fan and windows were kept us comfortable in 80 degree (F) weather. I would most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The elevator is SMALL and if you are staying on the 5th floor you will need to walk up from the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is located really downtown, walking distance to every attraction and touristic place. The hotel is nice, and the buffet breakfast pretty good. However, having reserved a "suite", we would have expected something more (just a pretty simple room at the top floor and no elevator from the 4th to the 5th floor!).

The real disadvantage of this hotel is the absence of air-conditioning. During summer the room get pretty hot, and even if the hotel provides a fan, still is very difficult to have the room at a decent temperature to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creative_Maelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was fantastic! Couldn't fault anything except the tiny lift, fit for one. The location is great, as it is just around the corner from the old town, which had many restaurants and shops. The service was OUTSTANDING, the staff went above and beyond; helping us with parking, recommending an excellent restaurant for a typical German dinner, and helping with our luggage into the rooms.

The room and bathroom were very spacious and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend the buffet breakfast at the hotel. It would have to be the best hotel breakfast the family has ever had! The crockery and table settings were gorgeous, which accompanied vast arrays of food and beverages. I would come back just for the breakfast! The waiters were also very attentive and nice.

Overall this was excellent value for money, considering the location. I would definitely recommend and return! excellent, excellent, excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola3491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location of this hotel was great, very close to the main attractions. The service was outstanding! The girl who served us accidentally gave us the wrong key to our room and when we told her we couldn't get into our room she was very apologetic and even gave us some free wifi passes. The staff spoke excellent English and were able to recommend a delicious German restaurant just down the road. The room was really big and comfortable, the bathroom probably could do with a re-furb. The breakfast was AMAZING! So much to choose form and so yummy - and once again great service! The only real downside was the massive construction going on in the area of the hotel - it took us a long time to get to the hotel because our GPS wouldn't adjust for the roadworks. Great stay, would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadonc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you're used to European non-chain hotels then you won't be surprised by the size of the rooms or the lack of simple services like a bell boy. If you're traveling from Africa or the Mid-East then get used to practicality and cost reduction. All this said, I would still recommend that you stay at this hotel, I felt the staff tried to take the extra step, they actually took my bags to the room, reception is open 24hrs, there is a well stocked bar fridge in the room, and most surprisingly all three of us staying at the hotel got free Internet access to the Telekom Hotspot. Many of the above isn't very common in most European hotels.
The down side is the breakfast, although all tasted very nice but the variety was really limited, but the waiters were friendly and tried to please. Rooms are clean and there is satellite TV with channels to cater for most languages.
The hotel's location is brilliant 3 min walk to the main train station and 2 min from the city center, where restaurants, coffee shops and quick bite joints are available.
Room rates were on the expensive side but we were in Bavaria for the Munich Bauma Construction Exhibition and the whole province took advantage. However, I was told that on a normal day we would have paid 60% less and on a normal weekend 70% less.
I would certainly stay there again and advise you stay there, too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalamaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
Dom Hotel
#2 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Augusta
#12 of 31 in Augsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ost am Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ost am Ko

Property: City Hotel Ost am Ko
Address: Fuggerstr. 4-6, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Ost am Ko 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our feel good, premium-comfort category, City Hotel Ost "am Koe" is located at the main public transit point "Koenigsplatz" in the city center of downtown Augsburg. The well refined non smoking Hotel with the heartwarming hospitality and Mediterranean ambiance is open 24 hours every day. Our gourmet breakfast buffet is available till 12:00 am every day. Furthermore the central located downtown Hotel in the heart of the pedestrian area offers modern, comfortable and clean rooms in 3 categories. All rooms are equipped with new LCD Flatscreen televisions with SAT-TV/SAT-RADIO and WLAN (T-mobile HotSpot). The rooms offer a well stocked minibar, a free internet station in the lobby and the Hotel Sauna with Relax area.. Free WLAN stretches through the whole Hotel area. Adjoining to our Hotel we have a parking garage for your services, Annagarage (discounted rates are available - billing at the hotel) The Main Train station "Hauptbahnhof", all public transportation, the "Kongresshalle am Park" (Congress fair-center and park) and the historic old part of town with all the main sights are all within walking distance. No animals are allowed on Hotel premisses. Last partial remodeling of the Hotel - January/March 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Ost am Ko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Augsburg
Augsburg Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing