We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a Night”
Review of Dom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dom Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“OK for a Night”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night on route down into Austria. The location is reasonable for a walk into town to visit the attractions. The hotel was pleasant but our room resembled one you might find in a 'Premier Inn' - clean, tidy, adequately furnished but without the feeling of comfort, just of value. It seemed mostly used by business travelers. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed our time in the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    111
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
138
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this property as a group of 3 couples for 2 nights overall and I am very glad to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a superb proximity to town centre. Very clean rooms, complimentary drinks in the minibar, helpful staff. The breakfast was good variety and decent amount of food. Some of our rooms were looking over the backyard which was quite peaceful with birds singing along. Clean and new bathrooms. The pool area was also enjoyable along with the sauna. If you would like to use the sauna, don’t forget to ask the reception to turn it on first! The only slight problem is the parking as the spaces in the front yard is quite limited and if you are parked blocking some other car’s way out, you leave your key at the reception which closes at around 11:00pm. So, if you need your car after that, you should consider twice when parking. But all in all, we left the hotel with very good memories mostly due to Augsburg itself, but the whole experience would not have been the same if it was not for this nice and old/modern hotel like this which completed the gothic and medieval picture of Augsburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brotherjacklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived and parked our motorbike in a space not big enough for a car. On check in we were asked to move it...We did, no car could park in the space vacated but still we had to move. In the morning we were blocked in by a car and cycles and had to remove our paniers ( not easy) to get out. Not a good start. The room was modern, clean and had a complimentary mini bar. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The room was very warm but we were able to sleep with the balcony door open. Breakfast was good, and plenty of it. The hotel was convient for a walk around to see the cathedral. The hotel has a quirky lay out and our room was good (room 314). Fine for a short stay, comfy bed and fast free wifi. Only one pillow each so ask for extra if needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
711 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

While the hotel is very modern inside, it has been assembled from multiple old buildings. Hence, when we asked for a room with a view of the cathedral (lovely), we ended up marching up and down stairs -- after taking a ride in an elevator. The room was spacious and comfortable, but if you don't want to deal with steps, let them know when you book. We had a little snow when we stayed, but the tiny balcony outside our room would have been charming in better weather. The hotel staff is very helpful, and the breakfast is excellent. One of the reasons I chose the hotel is because it offers parking. It's a little squirrely, but it works (either you're wedged into the front courtyard or you're given a place in a midget garage out back).

Room Tip: Nice views of the cathedral dome and the rooftops from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is located in the quiet part of town, and just a couple of minute walk to Dom.
It needs to transfer in case of using streetcar to the hotel from central station, but it costs 7-8 euros by taxi.
I was assigned a room with a bathtub and with view of the dom upon my request.
It was a corner room with a decoration of wood beam, and which had two windows at guest room and another one at bathroom.
I was able to spend comfortably.
Receptionist did not say it but I thought my room was upgraded.
Bathroom was large and had enough space to put makeup tools or something.
There was a lot of outlet in the guest room.
Buffet breakfast with sparkling wine was served every morning and was satisfactory in both quality and quantity.
It was Easter time, there was a rabbit shaped chocolate of Linz on each plate.
Staffs were friendly, and also they replied my questions immediately by e-mail before my visiting.
Due to a half floor construction of this hotel, some guests have to take stairs a half floor up or down to get rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1100PlumGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a very nice hotel within walking distance of many Augsburg attractions. I really would like to give this hotel 5 stars. The staff is warm, friendly, and very helpful. The amenities are first rate with an absolutely wonderful breakfast. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. So, why not 5 stars? Well the free parking is only for a few cars. If you park early in the afternoon, expect to be double parked by evening. When we asked about parking on the street to avoid this, the manager on duty said it would be fine. We went walking the next day and came back to a parking ticket on the window of our car. Also, as nice as the room are, the maid service is spotty. The room appeared to be cleaned every day yet there were often dirty dishes left in the room and the comforter for the bed was never replaced. The fridge was to be stocked with beer, water, and soft drinks as part of the hotel fees. Out of our four nights of stays, the fridge was restocked only twice.

So, yes, I would recommend this hotel to a friend. However, I would let them know of the inconsistencies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicyclemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here twice last year. Very warm, friendly and at all times courteous. I stayed in 5hotels in Augsburg last summer while on business trips and this was pure relief after some horrendous encounters. Although my trips were business orientated, I do hope to bring wife and children when I visit Augsburg this year. I found that the multilingual family that own and work in this hotel, certainly know their trade and provide a first class service. Breakfast was grand each morning with a feast of fresh produce available. Best value in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#3 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lechhausen-Ost
Quality Hotel Augsburg
Quality Hotel Augsburg
#4 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel

Property: Dom Hotel
Address: Frauentorstr. 8, 86152 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Augsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Augsburg city behind the cathedral Dom surrounded by gardens, you have the choice of single and double rooms, apartments and suites. All units are modern, equipped with shower, bath, toilet, TV, telephone, mini bar and free of charge W-Lan. Indoor pool, sauna, fitness facilities and a breakfast patio round off your comfort.Parking in the courtyard and our private garage presents no problems. We look forward to seeing you and wish you a pleasant stay in our house. Illig Family & Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Hotel Augsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing