We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for Money”
Review of Dom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dom Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was told this is 3-star so my expectations were low. Imagine my surprise at the hu-u-uge room and well-appointed bathroom, private balcony, (partial) view of the Dom, free parking. Gloriously soft duvets, super clean sheets changed everyday (even though we asked the cleaner not to, she insisted saying it was their policy)

Breakfast was more than adequate, a typically hearty German fruehstuck. I appreciated the different kinds of nuts and cereals.

We were not bothered by the strange twist + turn to reach our room (312) taking stairs to reach the top. I was told it was 3-star because of these stairs....and the small reception. Goodness, the jolly lady at reception is one of the reasons i will return -- fluent in English, ever so helpful, always smiling.

FInally the location. We were in Augsburg for the Christmas market and this was 10min stroll downhill towards the Rathaus. Perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 298 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was travelling to Augsburg on business and found this hotel quite charming. It is located about 1 block from a 1000 year old church near city center. It is about a 1/2 mile walk. Rates come with free parking, breakfast, and 4 drinks in a minibar. The rooms were large, and there is a small pool, exercise room with aerobic equipment and saunas. The building is very well updated and I was quite toasty in my room, despite the weather outside. Breakfast is typical German fare, but what would you expect in Germany?

Room Tip: There are stairs that have to be navigated, but elevator to all the floors. No bellman, but the des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Dom Hotel in Oct. 2012. We are frequent travelers to Germany and found the Dom to be one of the best overall values we've experienced. The building is beautiful as are the rooms. The sitting area is one of the most attractive and comfortable we've ever experienced - modern leather chairs, computer, free coffee machine, great light, etc.

One thing we especially appreciated was the quality of the Internet service. The signal was very strong and we could operate two devices simultaneously. On this trip we stayed at 5 other hotels and the Dom had, hands down, the best Internet service.

As mentioned in other reviews, the location is terrific with good local restaurants quite close. The staff recommendation for dinner the first night was so good we returned the second night.

We didn't use the spa, but it looked quite welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is situate about 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city. The main cathedral is only a few minutes walk and there are local restaurants close by.
The staff/owners of the hotel are very friendly and helpful and only too happy to recommend local restaurants etc.
Parking is available and on arrival the reception were extremely helpful in providing a parking space even though the car park at the front of the hotel was full.
Rooms are spacious (with a balcony) and very clean.
Breakfast buffet provided a very good choice.
A good hotel conveniently located for a city visit.

Room Tip: Several Rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed a few days ago. My room was #305, which has a balcony where we can see a city view but there're too many stairs to reach the room. I'm not sure it's because of the old building, however, I had to go up another stairs from the 3rd floor elevator. It's so unfcomfortable bacause I had a heavy trunk. Anyway, the breakfast was good and staffs were kind.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quieroelviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is a great choice for anyone visiting Augsburg. It is an older hotel that has been almost completely modernized inside. The location is excellent being only one block from the cathedral and a short walk down to the main square. Travelers with special needs will need to request a room close to the elevator, though, as many rooms require going up or down a few steps as you enter the various wings.

We had one of the larger rooms on the top floor with a private balcony and a nice view of the cathedral towers. The bathroom was extremely large by European standards and had a full-sized bath tub and a window. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. The desk clerks were very helpful and gave us free parking in one of their service driveways since our SUV would not fit in the hotel's small garage. They also helped us choose a restaurant that turned out to be one of the lovelier dining experiences on our trip.

There is a pool for the kiddies and a nice breakfast each morning. The Dom Hotel feels like it has been there for a hundred years and the neighborhood is residential and quiet while also being so near all the main attractions. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms with a balcony on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toxoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had a pleasant time. The staff was friendly and helpsome and the rooms were spacious and clean. We had asked for quite rooms when we made the booking and got great rooms which had everything we needed. There were a limited number of parking spaces in front of the hotel, but more were available in the garage. The location was good: it took approximately 15 minutes to walk to the city centre and there were several nice restaurans nearby. Check with the front desk as some of them are a bit difficult to find for a tourist. Breakfast was nice and had a decent selection of different food. Only negative is that we were double-charged for breakfast, but we discovered it before we left and had it sorted out without any problem. We will stay here again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room as there's some traffic noise in the frontyard of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Norway_3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#2 of 31 in Augsburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lechhausen-Ost
Quality Hotel Augsburg
Quality Hotel Augsburg
#5 of 31 in Augsburg
280 reviews
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#8 of 31 in Augsburg
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel

Address: Frauentorstr. 8, 86152 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Augsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range: $103 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Augsburg city behind the cathedral Dom surrounded by gardens, you have the choice of single and double rooms, apartments and suites. All units are modern, equipped with shower, bath, toilet, TV, telephone, mini bar and free of charge W-Lan. Indoor pool, sauna, fitness facilities and a breakfast patio round off your comfort.Parking in the courtyard and our private garage presents no problems. We look forward to seeing you and wish you a pleasant stay in our house. Illig Family & Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Hotel Augsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing