We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under my expectation..:(” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dom Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Under my expectation..:(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed a few days ago. My room was #305, which has a balcony where we can see a city view but there're too many stairs to reach the room. I'm not sure it's because of the old building, however, I had to go up another stairs from the 3rd floor elevator. It's so unfcomfortable bacause I had a heavy trunk. Anyway, the breakfast was good and staffs were kind.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quieroelviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    108
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
130
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is a great choice for anyone visiting Augsburg. It is an older hotel that has been almost completely modernized inside. The location is excellent being only one block from the cathedral and a short walk down to the main square. Travelers with special needs will need to request a room close to the elevator, though, as many rooms require going up or down a few steps as you enter the various wings.

We had one of the larger rooms on the top floor with a private balcony and a nice view of the cathedral towers. The bathroom was extremely large by European standards and had a full-sized bath tub and a window. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. The desk clerks were very helpful and gave us free parking in one of their service driveways since our SUV would not fit in the hotel's small garage. They also helped us choose a restaurant that turned out to be one of the lovelier dining experiences on our trip.

There is a pool for the kiddies and a nice breakfast each morning. The Dom Hotel feels like it has been there for a hundred years and the neighborhood is residential and quiet while also being so near all the main attractions. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms with a balcony on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toxoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had a pleasant time. The staff was friendly and helpsome and the rooms were spacious and clean. We had asked for quite rooms when we made the booking and got great rooms which had everything we needed. There were a limited number of parking spaces in front of the hotel, but more were available in the garage. The location was good: it took approximately 15 minutes to walk to the city centre and there were several nice restaurans nearby. Check with the front desk as some of them are a bit difficult to find for a tourist. Breakfast was nice and had a decent selection of different food. Only negative is that we were double-charged for breakfast, but we discovered it before we left and had it sorted out without any problem. We will stay here again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room as there's some traffic noise in the frontyard of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Norway_3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Dom which is in a great location with no traffic noise even though close to a main road. Our room was fabulous, large, well appointed and with a balcony overlooking the garden. The breakfast was more than adequate and internet facilities available free of charge. Car parking is available at a charge. My only negative comment would be that I didn't find the staff welcoming or helpful at times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed with my family for a night in July 2012, the rooms were clean and the additional bed that we had requested was in situ when we arrived. The room was reasonably sized and the bathroom adequate. The hotel is, obviously, close to the cathedral but also near a good bar/restaurant. Breakfast was adequate without being exceptional. The room we were in was a bit noisy as it was above the car park/smokers' corner.

In summary a reasonable option for a short stay but lacking any exceptional qualities that would draw one back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSpurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel! Newly renovated, clean, free wifi, free minibar, great breakfast, free coffee/tea 24 hrs/day, centrally located, helpful staff etc etc etc.....imho, it should earn more than the official 3 stars the hotel currently has. Highly recommended value for money accommodation in Augsburg !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel Dom is a great choice if you want to stay near the city center. The rooms vary in size and I would recommend spending a little more for a larger room if you will be staying longer than one night.

The staff is helpful with sightseeing ideas and the breakfast is large and quite good. There is a secure parking garage for guests. The hotel is also dog friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGinAKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
Steigenberger Drei Mohren
#1 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#3 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lechhausen-Ost
Quality Hotel Augsburg
Quality Hotel Augsburg
#4 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel

Property: Dom Hotel
Address: Frauentorstr. 8, 86152 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Augsburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Augsburg city behind the cathedral Dom surrounded by gardens, you have the choice of single and double rooms, apartments and suites. All units are modern, equipped with shower, bath, toilet, TV, telephone, mini bar and free of charge W-Lan. Indoor pool, sauna, fitness facilities and a breakfast patio round off your comfort.Parking in the courtyard and our private garage presents no problems. We look forward to seeing you and wish you a pleasant stay in our house. Illig Family & Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Hotel Augsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing