We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, efficient staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dom Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, efficient staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed with my family for a night in July 2012, the rooms were clean and the additional bed that we had requested was in situ when we arrived. The room was reasonably sized and the bathroom adequate. The hotel is, obviously, close to the cathedral but also near a good bar/restaurant. Breakfast was adequate without being exceptional. The room we were in was a bit noisy as it was above the car park/smokers' corner.

In summary a reasonable option for a short stay but lacking any exceptional qualities that would draw one back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSpurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    108
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
130
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel! Newly renovated, clean, free wifi, free minibar, great breakfast, free coffee/tea 24 hrs/day, centrally located, helpful staff etc etc etc.....imho, it should earn more than the official 3 stars the hotel currently has. Highly recommended value for money accommodation in Augsburg !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel Dom is a great choice if you want to stay near the city center. The rooms vary in size and I would recommend spending a little more for a larger room if you will be staying longer than one night.

The staff is helpful with sightseeing ideas and the breakfast is large and quite good. There is a secure parking garage for guests. The hotel is also dog friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGinAKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Although the hotel is in the historic city centre, it does not feel like it: it's an ordinary conversion inside. Having said that, the rooms are fine - it's worth paying a bit extra for a larger room. Breakfast was very crowded and only OK.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Possom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here at Easter time. Even though the Hotel was undergoing renovation, it was a pleasant stay. We had a room on the rear and it had a nice balcony upstairs. It was a dual level room with a seating area down and bed and bath with a patio upstairs. Very near the cathedral and walking distance from the rathaus and a very lively city center. The Hotel was surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was very good, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Istanbulsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

what a great hotel. stayed for 5 days and was very happy to have hotel dom as a central base to come back to. the hotel had delicious breakfasts free. as well as free beverages in the fridge ( this was a first). my only small issue was the single option for a pillow. I'm sure if I spoke with someone I could have another.. anyhow minor detail overall.
i highly reccomend staying here as it was very accomidating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haji98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice quiet hotel in the beautiful historic centre of Augsburg. Booked by my company (I usually stay at the smaller Augsburger Hof), I was unsure what to expect.

Firstly the friendliness on arrival was second to none. Both hotels have this fine art of customer service well and truly sorted! It was pleasant surprise to be welcomed in such a way - particularly after a few nights in a faceless brand hotel the week previous.

A strong and bold building with a lot of history.

Room was super large - an apartment almost. A bit too big in fact for me but I could see it working for a tourist/family. Nice touch with the mini-bar offering basic beers/soft drink

Some minor quibbles....

1. No bar or restaurant - just a porter serving tea/coffee and light drinks would have been nice. Snacks could be available in a vending machine or from reception? Just if you arrive late into a city and the restaurants are not open (e.g. Sundays) or its not ideal to go out.. I managed okay but would have liked to have had a beer in the great surroundings of the original hotel.

2. Room information predominantly in German - would be useful to have the guest info in English as well

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Barefoot_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
Steigenberger Drei Mohren
#1 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#3 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lechhausen-Ost
Quality Hotel Augsburg
Quality Hotel Augsburg
#4 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel

Property: Dom Hotel
Address: Frauentorstr. 8, 86152 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Augsburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Augsburg city behind the cathedral Dom surrounded by gardens, you have the choice of single and double rooms, apartments and suites. All units are modern, equipped with shower, bath, toilet, TV, telephone, mini bar and free of charge W-Lan. Indoor pool, sauna, fitness facilities and a breakfast patio round off your comfort.Parking in the courtyard and our private garage presents no problems. We look forward to seeing you and wish you a pleasant stay in our house. Illig Family & Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Hotel Augsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing