We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Drei Mohren
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Near Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Recently spent two nights here while visiting Augsburg.

The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard - slick, modern and in very good taste. There is still work being carried out too.

When we were visitng, (mid September) the centre of Augsburg was (still is?) one massive set of road works. The sat nav gave up 'recalculating' and we used intuition on getting to the hotel which we eventually did. We had one waiting in the car, while the other dashed into the hotel to ask where we could park. A private multi-storey carpark, along with more conference facilities are the remaining works being done to the hotel. In the meantime a sympathetic receptionist told us where to park. It was the nearest public parking garage to the hotel, but still a 5-8 minute walk away, not fun with luggage.

Check in was efficient if a little cool (not the sympathetic one this time). Our room was at the back of the hotel (good location - main road the hotel is on is a major thoro'fare in the city) so quiet and west facing. It was small but beautifully furnished and decorated - all new, top quality furniture and fabrics. The bathroom was also quite small, well tiny really but also immaculately designed, really quite beautiful! The toiletries were superb too. I would agree with reviewer 'wre3' that the a/c was not up to scratch and had hardly any effect. The weather was warm while we were in Augsburg and we had to keep the window open - so it was fortunate we were not on the main road. However, we had electronically controlled external blinds to the window while helped keep the fierce afternoon sun out of the room, nice touch.

The beds were very comfortable, the linens excellent and the bathroom towels also. We had a minibar, massive LCD flat screen TV, ipod docking station and an amazing telephone.

We had dinner both nights in the hotel restaurant, Maximillians. It was excellent - even faultless. The menu (with English translation) was well thought out. The service was perfection - charming friendly and efficient. The food was similarly excellent. It was comfortably busy and very slick in design, like the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was similarly excellent, massive choice, hot and cold and well, faultless !

We booked through a third party consolidator and got a very good rate which made our stay all the more enjoyable !

I'd have given this hotel an 'excellent' rating had it not been for the pathetic a/c and the awkward parking arrangements - which cost us an extortionate 30 euros for our two nights which included a Sunday when nothing is opened ! A little larger room would have been nice too but hey - it was still more than okay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    191
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
110
231
28
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were travelling the Romantic Road and did not make a booking until we arrived at the Tourist Information Centre on the day. They suggested a couple of Hotels and Steigenberger was our first try. We took the standard room and were quoted a price including Breakfast. When we checked out we were charged for breakfast in addition to the quoted price . When I objected the receptonist immediately rectified this. The Hotel car park was under construction so we had to use a pay car park nearby....not really an issue . Breakfast was comprehensive, rooms were new , beds were comfortable and no noise could be heard even though the Hotel is on the main street in the Old Town. Overall it was a comfortable 4 star hotel that appears to cater for business travellers. An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are sufficient for a comfortable stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast - great selection and good quality ingredients. The worst thing was the unbearably hot room. Despite advertising air conditioning the room was hot. The air conditioning was a feeble whisper of warm air. We gave up on it and got a bit of sleep on a very warm night with the window open. Hotel receptionist was very friendly and suggested an excellent Italian restaurant for dinner. Parking is charged extra and is a 5 min walk from the hotel. Lobby and rooms are nicely decorated and the location is central. Not a bad choice if travelling in cooler weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

stayed here for the first time after total renovation this Spring.
I liked:
- hotel decoration, international standard
- breakfast buffet, very large variety of everything you could wish in th morning
- the breakfast server (lady in her late fourties) so professional and kind
- SPA and gym area, really wonderful

I did not appreciate:
- Steigenberger hotline put me on hold for a long time twice to make my reservation, not acceptable foe a hotel chain which wants to be of international level.
- hotel almost empty I was assigned the smallest room, bathroom so tiny that 3 persons couldn't enter at a time.
- Upon checking in, I was not told that the A/C did not work with temperatures around 30 degres C outside impossible to open the window as lots of small insects and moskitos entered.
- When complaining to frontdesk receptionnist proposed to bring a fan to the room.
- I was given an waccess code for thr WiFi but when I wanted to use it in the evening it did not work, front desk told me that they were working on fixing the problem, Luckily it worked later on.
- poorly trained front desk staff to handle with complaints

Room Tip: 319 room to the back of the hotel, bathroom too small, A/C not working
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel for a visit to Augsburg. With its central location, there are a lot of restaurants close by.
The hotel is very clean, the size of the rooms is ok for European standards and the breakfast buffet is excellent (while there also a lot of other breakfast options near by).
One note - the folder in the room suggests that the reception has "plenty" of information and maps about jogging options... Well, they don't, but where still helpful in suggesting a decent route.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theusdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just stayed there for a couple of days, room generally good and worth the money.

However, the air conditioning didn't work and was not dealt with after reporting it on the first morning. The days we were there were very hot, at the price paid I would expect it to be sorted or a room move offered.

Not the hotel's fault, but there is a lot of repair work going on in Maximillianstrasse so you can't open the indies if you won't to level in or during the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been newly renovated, after having been closed for 1yr, and no attention to detail was spared. Really this hotel is stunning, one of the nicest places I've ever stayed, truly outstanding. The staff were also very helpful

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Traveller_113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augsburg hotels
City Hotel Ost am Ko
#3 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Dom Hotel
#2 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Augsburger Hof
Augsburger Hof
#7 of 31 in Augsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Lechhausen-Ost
Quality Hotel Augsburg
Quality Hotel Augsburg
#4 of 31 in Augsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Drei Mohren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Drei Mohren

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Drei Mohren
Address: Maximilianstr. 40, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Augsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Augsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Augsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Drei Mohren 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning history going back over 500 years the Steigenberger Hotel Drei Mohren is one of the most traditional hotels in Germany. As the place to be it is located on the historic and glamorous boulevard of Augsburg, the Maximilianstraße. Also the city of Augsburg has a long history going back over 2000 years: stretching from the Romans to the era of the textile industry, through to the Augsburg Puppenkiste puppet theater and Bertold Brecht, who attended high school here. The Fuggerei and the main train station both take approx. 14 minutes to walk to, while the Town Hall Square and Perlachturm tower can be reached in about 5 minutes. The 131 air-conditioned rooms are furnished in an elegant style and have a size from 20 sqm to 83 sqm. Choose between the categories Standard, Superior, Executive or Suite. In addition the hotel offers also a barrier-free room as well as allergic-rooms and apartments for longer stays equipped with a small kitchen. The culinary highlight of the hotel is the Gourmet Restaurant Sartory. Based on the french cuisine executive chef and host Simon Lang knows how to create culinary highlights combined with an exclusive selection of wine. The restaurant MAXIMILIAN’S offers you a variety of regional and international delicacies. The open kitchen and the modern atmosphere, both together with its extensive wine selection will invite you to linger. Feel free to enjoy our terrace during summer evenings while having a spectacular view on the historic Schaezlerpalais or the Maximilianstraße. The bar 3M with its fine cocktails, regional spirits, nonalcoholic refreshments and typical bar food is a special place to meet downtown. There are twelve variable function rooms from 26 sqm to 538 sqm with a total space of over 1000 sqm. Several foyers and a terrace in the courtyard complement the event part. Our 360 sqm Day SPA Relax Max with an aroma-sole-steambath, a biological sauna, a Finnish sauna and a room for relaxation is the ideal place for recreation. A fitness room and a separate ladies sauna are also part of this oriental designed area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Drei Mohren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Drei Mohren Augsburg
Steigenberger Drei Mohren Hotel Augsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing