We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“french deco, centrally located, noise may be an issue for some”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petite Hotel Orphee
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed 1 evening in Room 6 of the small hotel. A twin-split bed room, great for friends. The room overlooked one of the town squares, which was great for the buzz, but we needed earplugs at night.

Beds are quite firm, but also very clean. Bathroom accessories were bountiful, and there was also a mini bottle of red wine and bottled water, complimentary!

Breakfast was incredible! Too much food and a list of extras, which are free if you'd like (croissant, honey, etc). The only issue with the restaurant is the service. The staff just seem, unhappy. They respond to requests easily, but you don't feel warmly welcomed there.

Dinners are average quality. I'd suggest exploring other restaurants in the area, for a nicer meal with higher quality preparation.

All in all, a highly recommended stay for a wonderful launch into the regensburg culture. Monika, in reservations was truly amazing !! Lovely person to connect with, to plan your stay.

Also noteworthy: farmers market on saturdays, alongside the river, Showroom for design-streetwear style clothing, and a truly fantastic fairtrade/green/organic shop called Ludwig3 (ludwigstrasse 3).

Room Tip: Room 6 in the small house faces a market. Noisy at night, for those who sleep lightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToConnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 68 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

This place is a nice small hotel, centrally located, all major sights within walking distance. Decent breakfast is served in the main house the Grand Orphee Hotel, which is a minute away (the main house also is the place for the check-in as the Petite Orphee does not have a front desk. Note: The Petite Orhpee does not have an elevator, so if you mind walking stairs, asked for a room in the main house. The central location may have one downside: nights owls on the street can get noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Austin02006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Petite Orphee was a great find...right in the middle of the old town with rooms that were decorated in the style of the 1890's. The rooms were very clean and had all the modern necessities but still retained the charm. We stayed in the Petite Orphee (versus the Grand Orphee) for the price and it was only one block from the Grand for check in and breakfast. All in all a great place to stay. (No lift so you need to schlep your bags up to your room.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSilverSpring_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Why does this place get such high ratings? It's overpriced, the rooms are shabby, and the service is awful.

My room (15) was of better than average size, with a large bathroom, but both rooms were poorly laid out. The bathroom had a large table in front of the window making it difficult to open. The bedroom had a bed, an uncomfortable side chair but no desk or sitting area. The TV was on a table right beside the bed (not that it mattered as it received just a couple of snowy German language-only stations). The luggage rack was right in the middle of the room.

While some might call the decor "eclectic", I think "garage sale" is more appropriate. The cheap plastic curtain rod came down when I tried to close it (and the curtains must be closed because there is another apartment's windows looking directly in about 10 feet across the alley from the only windows in this room).

But it's the poor service that really sets the place apart. The desk clerk was of little help when we asked about a couple of specific beergardens. She only said that "Regensburg has many". Then I asked the approximate drive time to the Munich airport (I had figured about an hour). She said "well over 2 hours" and that we must leave very early because of traffic. That's all well and good, but she forgot to tell us that the hotel desk closes from 9PM until 7AM. What kind of hotel closes the desk until 7AM? This isn't a $50/night gasthaus, it's a 100+ Euro/night hotel!

So we waited for the clerk to stroll in at about 7:15 who promptly told us that it would take less than an hour to get to the airport (it ended up taking about 1:20 in bad weather). And no breakfast for us because the kitchen wasn't ready either.

My advice, choose another place.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Right in the center of town close to the Dom and The Stone Bridge. The rooms were small but felt cozy. The bathrooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was very good - you go to the main hotel - the coffee was wonderful! Did not have much interaction with the staff, but everyone seemed very helpful. Parking is offsite - a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

If it wasn't for the bells of the town hall that ring every 15minutes from 6am to 11pm our stay would have been nicer, I don't know why know no one has mentioned it before. On the day of our arrival at the Petit Orphee, we walked over from the train station, which is about 20 minutes to the Grand Orphee where you check-in.
Our room as requested was available, unfortunately it faced onto the square where the Town Hall is, it was clean, dimly lit, with share facilities immediately outside our room. At the time of our visit, we did not have to wait to share, but this was in low season.

The best part of the stay was the fabulous breakfast which is served over at the Grand Orphee, in the very popular restaurant, it's so french, so delicious. The breakfast was one of the best in our 2 month European holiday, we had the platter for two which consists of pots of yoghurt and strawberry puree, cold meat and cheeses, coleslaw, beautiful crusty baguette and jams, as much tea and coffee as you like.

At the Grand you have access to a free computer on the second floor, the speed of the net is slow and not reliable, I had hoped for free WIFI in the Petit but there was none.

I would recommend this hotel but make sure your room is not facing onto the square, unless you can sleep through anything.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in November, having caught the train from Vienna. A relatively easy walk from the train station. Easy check in at the Grand Orphee. Our room, which we chose & requested from the website, was lovely with a four poster bed at back of Petite Orphee. No view, but we were not there in the daytime anyway. Liked the treat of a chocolate each evening. Great to be in the middle of the old town, and close to tourist info, shopping and restaurants. Breakfast at Grand Orphee was superb, the best of our European trip, the short walk, although cold, was not a problem. Only concern is if there was a problem in Pettite Orphee, there was no staff there. Having said that we had no problems. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Orphee
Grand Hotel Orphee
#9 of 48 in Regensburg
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
#7 of 48 in Regensburg
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#15 of 48 in Regensburg
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Kreuz
Hotel Goldenes Kreuz
#14 of 48 in Regensburg
72 reviews
0 mi away
The Kaiserhof Hotel
The Kaiserhof Hotel
#22 of 48 in Regensburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Hotel Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Hotel Orphee

Address: Wahlenstr. 1, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Regensburg
Price Range: $112 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Hotel Orphee 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Orphee - Kleines Haus in the Wahlenstraße is only a few steps away from the Orphée restaurant and Hotel Orphée - Großes Haus, which houses the reception of the Kleines Haus. The 15 rooms are arranged individually, featuring antique washbasins and Turkish tiles. The bathroom of one room is hidden behind the cabinet door. The most beautiful hotel in Regensburg perfectly reflects the image of the city itself, inviting and reminiscent of the charm of bygone times. The Orphée restaurant in Regensburg is the most original French bistro east of the Rhine. It serves plain fare with Mediterranean touches and the wines on offer will satisfy even the highest demands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Petite Hotel Orphee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Hotel Regensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing