We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Golf Museum

Golf Museum
Ranked #7 of 66 things to do in Regensburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The history of golf comes alive in a heritage-listed townhouse in the heart of Regensburg, just a stone´s throw from the Cathedral. You will experience an unforgettable journey through the history of golf from the Middle Ages to the Modern Era. More than 1200 exhibits and rarities have been collected together worldwide, wherever the Anglo-Saxons left their traces, tastefully presented and atmospherically illuminated in medieval vaults of an old patrician house. Beside a variety of multimedia shows including a kids corner the curator of the golf museum and golf historian Peter Insam also offers daily guided museum tours.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A wonderfully informative owner who took great pride in showing us around a very iinteresting boutique museum. Also Interesting to find out golf was played so much earlier in Europe than previously thought. Believe some of the exhibits should be 'loaned' to St Andrews

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    20
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In June, while on a river cruise, we toured Regensburg and visited the Golfmuseum. It is located on Tandlergasse, near the cathedral - it's in the basement of a furniture store. What an amazing collection of golf items! The owner has done some very interesting research; his enthusiasm for all things golf is very apparent and infectious. He has made excellent use of his space, and his sizable collection is attractively displayed. My husband is the golfer, but I thoroughly enjoyed visiting this museum. We will go again if we are ever fortunate enough to return to Regensburg, and I highly recommend this museum to anyone who enjoys collections and/or golf.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cmspitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A definite must see”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My golf-aholic husband and I spent an interesting afternoon touring the historical golf displays in the museum: old clubs, balls, medals, videos, etc. A walk through golfing history!! The owner was knowledgeable and enthusiastic about explaining the various rooms (and he speaks perfect English). We happily purchased an old golf print (of which they had many to choose from). The museum is definitely worth the time to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank huskyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Rucker, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting golf history”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently had the chance to visit this quaint little museum, they have a wonderful display of historic golf pieces. The owner is very well informed and enthusiastic collector of golf memorabilia. I had a very nice time wandering through the golf history on display. The owner speaks excellent English as well so don't let language barriers keep you away. Entrance fee was 5 euro at the time I went which I think was well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinookPilot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golf Museum”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is an excellent collection of golfing memorabilia, full of splendid and quirky items. As a keen golfer and proud Scot I can safely say that I have not been to a better museum of golf anywhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golf Museum also viewed

Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Golf Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing