We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bizarre and fun”
Review of Grand Hotel Orphee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Orphee
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bizarre and fun”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Quite unlike other places we've stayed in Germany. This place has been done over imaginatively to look like something in Paris, a lot of red and exposed wood, with posters and murals with French themes, many risque. Excellent location for centre of town and river. Quirky room cleverly designed within beams in the attic. No work desk alas! Has grand rooms on the lower floors and would love to see them. A bit like the UK chain Cafe Rouge made into an hotel.

Have to park away from hotel which is in a pedestrian zone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDE513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    52
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
93
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
306 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Great rooms with antique furniture, and all modern luxory. One bottle of water and red wine free, location in the middle of regensburg historical inner city, and the room is still quiet. I can only recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christoph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have been to many hotels arround the word. But, I have never had such fantstic and comf'atable experience at another hotel.

Room Tip: If it'possible, I recommend the room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aktada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here the last weekend, right in the center of the old town of Regensburg - so you are in walking distance to all the attractions - a fantastic location for a hotel.

The rooms are all unique. We had a room with medieval wood insertions in the wall and a really comfortable bed. The decor makes you feel home. In a very chic home.

Great variety at the breakfast. It's not a buffet, but you can chose between many variations, from meaty to vegetarian, from sweet and simple to omelettes and quiche. The baguettes and light salty butter are a dream.

The staff is really friendly and ready to help you with everything.

We will definitely return to this great hotel!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and beautiful. If you want to pick a special one, go to the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifigenia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Close to everything this hotel has a boho feel. A fantastic restaurant attached, wifi and soft comfy bed. Young enthusiastic staff give this hotel a great feel. Be sure to take in the walking tour at the tourist info centre as it explains the cities history. Sundays were too quiet for us as everything except cafés were closed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently, right in the centre of Regensburg, a fantastic location for a hotel. The hotel showcases Parisian life on the ground floor and the hotel rooms offer a level of comfort i've previously not experienced anywhere. Cant wait to return

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very original and interesting place in the old town of Regensburg. Efficient service although not very warm. Charming and very comfortable room. Good price. Exçellent breakfast. Entrance is not very cosy. We missed a real bar where to relax and to have a drink late at night or waiting for the pick-up. I would recommend it but would suggest some improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#9 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
#2 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#12 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goliath am Dom
Hotel Goliath am Dom
#7 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchner Hof
Hotel Muenchner Hof
#8 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Orphee

Property: Grand Hotel Orphee
Address: Untere Bachgasse 8, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Regensburg
#5 Business Hotel in Regensburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Orphee 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a heritage-listed Baroque building, the traditional Orphee Grosses Haus hotel and restaurant is located in the heart of Regensburg's historic quarter, just a 5 minute walk from the famous cathedral and Steinerne Brücke bridge. Dating from 1896, the Hotel Orphée's French bistro and restaurant serves widely appreciated specialties and exquisite wines. Relax in the hotel's individually furnished, peaceful rooms which feature antique items of furniture, 4-poster beds, and beautiful stucco ceilings. Free broadband internet access is available in all rooms. From the Orphée, you can easily reach highlights including the Altes Rathaus (old town hall), Reichstagmuseum, and the Theater am Bismarckplatz theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Orphee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Regensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing