We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Small Hotel in Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Goliath am Dom
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a very attractive and stylish small hotel, but very comfortable too. We were there in late November right before the Christmas market opened, and it was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Our room had a small sitting area separated from the bed by a wall unit with TV anda closet. The bathroom was really nice with two sinks and a separate room for the toilet. It was one of the few hotels we've stayed in in Europe that has wash cloths.

Breakfast was quite good with a nice buffet and eggs and bacon cooked to order. The breakfast room is very attractive like the rest of the hotel. Service was very good.

The location is perfect -- right in the middle of town and a block or so from the old stone bridge. It was quiet at night. We loved Regensburg -- a beautiful and charming town -- and we loved this hotel. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chm1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Goliath am Dom
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 157 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Goliath in November for four nights. If you visit the beautiful town of Regensburg it's hard to see how you could get better hotel in a more ideal location. The lobby/ bar, although modern, is very cosy and welcoming, especially when coming in from the snow! The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, everywhere in hotel was spotless,(the toilets for the bar were so nice that I even found myself remarking on them when I got back to me table) the rooms were very good and the breakfast excellent. There is no restaurant, but with so many excellent eating places in Regensburg very close by, this should not put you off staying in this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelD1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because we only had two days in Regensburg (one night) and wanted to be close to everything. The Hotel Goliath was great in this respect. Regensburg is a small city with historical sites, great shopping, and many restaurants and beer halls. It was so nice to leave this comfortable hotel and be only steps away from the old Rathaus, stone bridge and Cathedral, and Christmas markets. We could make the most of our time in the city because we were able to make brief stops back at the hotel to drop off packages, have a cup of tea, rest our feet, or shower--and then head out again to dinner, or shopping, or to grab a beer.

We visited at Christmas time, and the hotel was decorated beautifully. We received courteous and friendly service at the front desk, where everyone could speak English. They were very helpful before we arrived arranging rooms for us, and also arranging early check in when we arrived earlier than expected.

Rooms were comfortable, spacious, and clean, with views and outdoor terraces to visit in a couple of locations in the hotel. And- free wifi! Our room had an interior window between bathroom and bedroom, and this was our only complaint- turning on bathroom light at night awakened husband!

The included breakfast buffet was one of the best of our trip to Germany: cereal, breakfast breads, rolls and pastries, jams, meats, cheeses, juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, yogurt, muesli--and to top it off , they will bring you eggs to order or waffles from the kitchen!

We did take a taxi from the train station to and from the hotel because of our luggage- cost was 6 euros one way. Without luggage, I might have walked, as it is not a huge distance. We loved Regensburg, and when we return, will stay at the wonderful Hotel Goliath!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Hotel Goliath to visit the Christmas markets. This hotel location couldn't be beat - right in the old town and one block from the Danube River. The people at reception couldn't have been nicer. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Our room was spacious with a sitting area. The bath was large. The only odd thing was the window from the shower into the bedroom. Didn't bother us but it was unusual. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shtinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at the Goliath hotel on a business trip to Regensburg. Arrived late in the evening to a friendly reception. Stayed in room 202 which is a big room with a well appointed bathroom. One weird thing is the windows that allow you to see into the bath/shower.

Not the cheapest hotel but a very nice and clean hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're looking for the perfect location to stay in your visit to Regensburg, the Goliath is probably as good as it can get. Close to the Cathedral, Stone Bridge, Restaurants ...
The room is spacious, clean and the beds very good. Window isolation is more than decent.
Staff is very friendly.
The only minor thing concerns food. First of all the hotel has no restaurant (no big deal considering the amount of restaurants you can find on a very short walking distance, and anyway it would be a sin to stay in the hotel, on such a lively city) and what bothered me is the very limited breakfast, no hot food (on one of the 3 days I stayed they just asked whether I wanted an egg), limited pastry, limited breads, really I think they should try to improve the quality & variety of the breakfast

Tip for runners: just go down the Danube turn left and you can run along the shore down till Czech Republic, on a beautiful path

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Location: In the centre of the Altstadt very close to the Steinerne Brücke. All interesting sites like Dom, Altes Rathaus etc are in walking distance.
State of the room: everything is very new and excellently maintained.
Room: large and comfortable, note the Hotel is in the centre. I was staying in a room towards the front and hence there is some noise.
Cleanliness: excellent:
Quality of mattresses: good, but a bit soft.
Staff friendliness: very friendly and helpful
Breakfast: excellent, available till 12.00h,
Parking: I chose the option of valet parking which makes parking very comfortable but it comes at a cost of EUR 20 per day.
Internet cost / speed: included, good speed.
Overall value for money: This is not a cheap Hotel but there is definitely value for money. The Hotel and the rooms are nicely decorated.
Would stay there again? Definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggmwdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#14 of 48 in Regensburg
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
#2 of 48 in Regensburg
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#8 of 48 in Regensburg
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 48 in Regensburg
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchner Hof
Hotel Muenchner Hof
#7 of 48 in Regensburg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goliath am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goliath am Dom

Address: Goliathstr. 10, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range: $166 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goliath am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Goliath am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing