We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Goliath am Dom
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Excellent Location”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Location: In the centre of the Altstadt very close to the Steinerne Brücke. All interesting sites like Dom, Altes Rathaus etc are in walking distance.
State of the room: everything is very new and excellently maintained.
Room: large and comfortable, note the Hotel is in the centre. I was staying in a room towards the front and hence there is some noise.
Cleanliness: excellent:
Quality of mattresses: good, but a bit soft.
Staff friendliness: very friendly and helpful
Breakfast: excellent, available till 12.00h,
Parking: I chose the option of valet parking which makes parking very comfortable but it comes at a cost of EUR 20 per day.
Internet cost / speed: included, good speed.
Overall value for money: This is not a cheap Hotel but there is definitely value for money. The Hotel and the rooms are nicely decorated.
Would stay there again? Definitely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggmwdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    42
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
67
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

For my job I visit Regensburg often. Since it opened in 2007 the Goliath has been my default hotel, and i have probably stayed there on more than 50 occasions. It's location is perfect, it is exceptionally clean, and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

The rooms (i have stayed in most of them), are all spacious and clean with good quality modern furniture and flat screen TV's. Although the hotel is in the centre of the city i have never found noise to be an issue (not even from the bells of the Dom). The hotel bar is extensive, and you can have everything here from an exceptional cocktail to a slice of home made cake (it's a cafe during the daytime).

The hotel is a little more expensive than some in the city, but the service, style and cleanliness is not matched elsewhere so it's worth the extra money. Breakfast is excellent and there's a good choice of cooked breakfast or cold buffet (which includes smoked salmon).

Room Tip: There is valet parking available if you don't know Regensburg that well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radeberg, Germany
Level Contributor
358 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

central to the ancient centrepoint of the city, nice food delightfull serviced, you only have to realize that the car park is within shot walking distance at the Bischofhof. The Dom, Museums and the river Donau are pretty close and in walking distance. Stay here and you will notice the atmospere of the old part of Regensburg provides relaxing holidays. You feel like being sorrounded by smiling and friendly people. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny-A-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Convenient to the center of action in Regensburg, but there are better value hotels in the city. We decided a bit late to find a hotel and had little choice. Room was spacious and well-appointed, but more than needed for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtw30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Excellent loacation in heart of old town, around the corner from the Dom. Great food from the restaurant and breakfast. Room 301 was very large and on the corner. Staff was helpful. Elevators are good. Gym is in basement and very hot due to being next to the sauna. Parking is good in that you can choose valet for a little more or self park for less, but you are lucky to have a convenient place to park in Regensburg.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tango191191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel is situated right in the old part of Regensburg and just a couple of minutes walk from the banks of the Danube. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The staff were helpful and pleasant to deal with. The breakfast buffet was very good, lots of choice but not big enough to be overwhelming. I would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone else visiting Regensburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weedkiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Because they were unable to honour the package deal we originally booked which included dinner on 1 night due to work being done in their restaurant area we were upgraded to a corner room overlooking the street. The corner room was larger than normal. The decor in each room is different and unusual. Breakfast at the hotel was included. We did not eat any other meals there but dined out in the many restaurants and beer houses in the old city.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welovetravelling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
#2 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#9 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#11 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchner Hof
Hotel Muenchner Hof
#7 of 48 in Regensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 48 in Regensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goliath am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goliath am Dom

Property: Hotel Goliath am Dom
Address: Goliathstr. 10, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goliath am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Goliath am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing