We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleaning service was very bad”
Review of Brook Lane Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brook Lane Hostel
germany
1 review
“Cleaning service was very bad”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have stayed in one of the apartment in this hostel. The room was not bright enough due to the sunlight cannot get to the room. The equipment in the kitchen is simple. It was noisy, you can hear people walk on the staircases, some drunkers or tour passby the road. Especially at night, some tenants will shouted or having party. there is even someone will knocked on the door during midnight.

The cleaning service is very poor. The owner promised to clean the room once a week, but sometime only every 2 weeks. They seldom clean the bathtub as well. you have to change the mattress sheet and throw the rubbish by yourself. the cleaning service only included vaccum and mopping floor. They won't clean the kitchen as well.

Internet connection was bad too.

If you are consider a long period stay. Do not choose this hostel, because it is not value for money (quite expensive though).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
8
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corwen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Group of 8 (males) went to the Oktoberfest in Munich, but the city was full, so we commuted from Regensburg. The hostel has a kitchen, with fridge, everything you need, and a shop with all the basics, at a reasonable price. You need a key, which costs 10 euro deposit. The dorms are like a youth hostel with bunk beds. They are comfortable, if you do not have a sleeping bag, the linen is about £3. Showers and toilets are clean, plenty of hot water, yes some of the showers are push button, but the alternative is people leaving them on, and, it is no hardship to press a shower button. Book out is 1200 hrs, so plenty of time to hang around if you want.
The staff were helpful, the online booking was useful, although the cleaner was a day ahead of us in terms of our leaving date. There was a locker in our room, but no lock, a bit hit and miss really if you are worried about your valuables, especially if you are sharing the room with up to 9 other people.
The city is stunning, plenty to see and do, lots of good food and breweries. Warning...this medieval city is based on a grid, and is a big place. Drink lots of beer and unless you know where you are going expect to get lost and be wandering in the wee small hours looking for the place. That' s the nature of the city.
Good Irish bar around the corner "Murphy's Law" a warm welcome, good German beer, big TV (the rugby world cup was on) and Pete turns out a top breakfast for about 9 Euro.
Ladies, a word of warning - there were 8 males (us) in room 3 and the management placed a young female alone in our room. If she was my daughter, then I would not have been happy, but maybe she had been told the score and made her choice.....

Overall, good value, excellent location, plenty of places to get a breakfast within a very short distance. As an individual, good value, as a couple I would add a bit to the £30 to get a hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethPlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chungju, South Korea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Excellent location.
Played relatively clean.
Breakfast not included. Kitchen available.
The next time you plan to use.

Room Tip: wifi available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaeng`s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We arrived after 8pm, so there was no one there and we had to call a posted phone number to get in. Then the nice young lady in charge of our key had forgotten to place the key, so she had to come by and let us in -- then it turned out it was the wrong room, so there were no clean sheets (causing another delay), and later another lady tried to let in a different group. It all worked out OK, but the cleanliness level, lack of elevators and lack of cooling made it a less-than-enjoyable stay. The first lady mentioned her parents ran a restaurant (in addition to the convenience store adjacent to the hostel) so I guess their staff is stretched too thin, possibly due to the economic downturn. In short, staff was friendly but over-worked.
One toilet had its lid detached, and the other bathroom's light didn't work so we needed a flashlight.
Also, booking is done through one of those systems which charge heavily for cancellations with under 2 weeks notice -- beware!

Room Tip: Some rooms are only up one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novato-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Regensburg hotels

Jodoigne, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

It felt as someone, almost as an afterthought, decided 'why not make a hostel out of these empty rooms upstairs'. It's an OK'ish hostel. Averagely clean, with average facilities, and average rooms. The main positive element is the location right in the old town, and not far from the railwaystation.
While I haven't stayed there, I'd guess the German Youth Hostel across the river is better deal than this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donstefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teheran
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The worst thing about this place were the thin walls, at one point we thought a guy talking in the next room was in ours. The shower valve works with a button, like in a swimming pool and every 10 seconds you have to press again, which is a bit annoying when you want to wash your head. The baggage lockers were all filled with wastes and also all broken. The staff was friendly but not attentive at all. For the price we paid we expected at least a better service.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sefid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The hostel is located in a very good area near the center of the city, and not so far away from the railway station. There's a mini-market at the entrance, which makes it easy if you want to cook. However, the place is not in great shape, the cleanliness is not great, the walls are extremely thin (you could hear everything said in the neighbouring rooms loud and clear) . I have seen worse, but ff you cosnider that this is maybe the most expensive hostel I've been in Germany, then you will want to think twice before getting there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ah-chuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Dream Inn Hotel Regensburg
Dream Inn Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 2 in Tegernheim
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Regensburg City
Ibis Regensburg City
#4 of 48 in Regensburg
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
#31 of 48 in Regensburg
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#12 of 48 in Regensburg
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Park Hotel Maximilian
0.2 mi away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#8 of 48 in Regensburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lane Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hostel

Property: Brook Lane Hostel
Address: Obere Bachgasse 21, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brook Lane Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing