We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Residenz Passau
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Atrium(Passau)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$88
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Koenig(Passau)
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$93
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveler rating
314
129
15
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
129
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat hotelold towna short taxi ridecomfortable loungewell run hotelfresh fruitsitting areawould definitely stay here againviking cruisestayed one nightgood sizefirst floorair conditionedparking spotbreakfast buffetorgan concert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 465 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had booked a Viking Cruise that set sail out of Passau, but had done some travel on our own beforehand and arrived early. Passau is a beautiful town, actually our personal favorite. The hotel was spotless, close to the shopping area, the cathedral and to our cruise starting point. We couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Nini037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Nini037,
thank you very much for your beautiful review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you could feel our 'Quality from the heart'. Enjoy your further trips, maybe one day again in Passau.
With best regards from the whole Team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Hotel Residenz is a gem of a hotel right on the Danube in the picturesque town of Passau. Lovely rooms with a great mix of modern and historic, very friendly and helpful staff, fantastic breakfast, and a goodnight story or poem on your pillow to finish off your day--just marvelous! The lobby turned into library is a perfect place to while away evening hours with a book, a quiet chat, a whirl of the giant globe, and a glass of wine or Bavarian beer. All sights within easy walking distance, boat tours and bike trails just outside the front door. A fabulous stay in Lower Bavaria!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Jennifer,
thank you very much for your lovely, detailed, and impressive Review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you can convince many other people from our lovely little city, and our nice Hotel.
With best regards from the whole Team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a great stay we had! This place offers a perfect location, rooms are nice and clean, the staff friendly (including the dachshund lady lingering in the lobby) and a tremendous breakfast that leaves nothing left to wish for (seriously could not think of anything missing). Also, there is a cosy library to hang out in with books, newspapers and tea hours. Extremely good value for money! My highest recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Louise B,
thank you very much for your beautiful Review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you could fully experience our 'Quality from the heart', and that everything was to your utmost satisfaction.
With best regards from the whole Team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau (and of course from Clara, the dog)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This deserves an overall 'excellent' rating. A small hotel right on the river front that's stroll-able from the station with hand luggage. The little details such as the reception area/ lobby and its decor, staff, and the general ambiance of the hotel make this the hotel we would stay in if we returned to Passau. Nothing to fault in the rooms including the bathroom, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The hotel manager whetted our appetite when he described breakfast and we weren't disappointed. A feast of goodies to start the day. Overall one of the best hotels we've stayed at and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear petebuch,
thank you very much for your nice and very friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house, and that you could feel our 'Quality, coming from the heart' (And our manager is breathing deeply that he could keep his promises).
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, breakfast was good! Front desk attendant and overall personel very proactive and genuinely willing to help! Close to good restaurants and pubs! Althoug far from the hotel car parking was available! Based on the above mentioned I strongly recommend the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Alvadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Alvadi S,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you liked your stay in Passau and in our hotel. Unfortunately you didn't mention your reasons for limiting your rating to 'avarage', but as you pointed out that you 'strongly recommend the hotel' we cherish the faith that you were satisfied at all.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews