We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residenz Passau
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I can only echo many of the other recent reviews that have also rated this hotel very highly. Bed sound; bathroom fixtures all worked well; breakfast good (though somewhat hectic do to very large tour bus crowd staying at the hotel that had all apparently arrived to eat at same time.)

What I found most notable was the high caliber of the staff: as previously noted: very pleasant, helpful and efficient. Two cases in point: (1) We arrived earlier than I expected (around 13:00) and didn't really expect our room to be ready. The manager checked, and it hadn't yet been fully cleaned. but apparently he redirected cleaning staff to make it next to be cleaned and sure enough we're in our room in no more than 20 min.

(2) Later that afternoon we arrived back at the hotel after picking up our bicycles that we would use on our Danube bike trip over the following days, and we needed to store them in the hotel's "bike garage". Our timing wasn't the best as that aforementioned tour bus of people had just arrived, obviously taxing the front desk's capacity to check so many people in at once. So I didn't even attempt to get the front desk's attention but just stood aside to let "the storm pass." But despite this flurry of activity, a lady at the front desk that had previously checked us in, and so recognized me standing there, proactively paused in what she was doing to ask what I needed. She immediately arranged for someone with a key to the "garage" to assist me.

I do disagree with one previous review that suggested English speakers are not welcomed. Quite to the contrary, in all my contact with the front desk staff English posed no problem as all seemed fluent. I can't speak for the wait staff at breakfast, but I never sensed any bias.

Kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCMark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear NCMark45,
thank you very much for your nice, detailled, and extraordinary review of our hotel. We are very happy that enjoyed your stay, and we are very proud that such an experienced evaluator has so many exceptional comments. You discovered our 'Quality from the Heart'. A very special 'Thank you' for the kudos to our staff.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is a real Bavarian place. It is cosy and pleasant. Furniture is modern, but the hotel is somewhat old fashioned in a positive sense. The view on the river Danube and the Residenz is phantastic. Staff is very efficiënt, friendly and helpful. Their breakfast is very good. The city centre is round the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Danube view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Caspar v,
thank you very much for your friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Passau and in our little hotel. In the beginning we were a bit surprised to be described as a real bavarian place, as usually people then think of beer tent, pretzel, and dirndl, but then we realized that you were talking about the individuality and the cosiness of our hotel - thank you again.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Absolutely excellent. Just right. Based on our experience this is one of the hotels with everything going for it in spite of having to dry the building out after the floods. Proprietors very helpful and answered all questions with ease.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Radweg,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. We are very happy that you could feel and discover our 'Quality from the Heart', even if some things in our house didn't yet work perfect due to the problems with the flood. It was nice to have you here.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed three nights and had the Junior suite with a wonderful balcony. Weather was perfect for being outside so we invited a few friends for drinks on the deck. Breakfast is great, although the staff is a little grumpy. Maybe they do not like English speaking guests? Hotel reception and lobby area is still under construction after the flood but the breakfast room was fully restored. Negatives would be a small bathroom but it had a great shower. Great TV that pops up and turns if you wish to watch in bed. And of course the annoying church bells that go all night long! The owner was very helpful arranging a van taxi to our barge.

Room Tip: Sleep with ear plugs of the church bells may wake you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear MargiMC,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house, and especially in our unique junior suite. We are very happy that you loved the private roof deck, and that you enjoy your stay together with your friends. We regret that you had the feeling that our breakfast staff is grumpy. Is hard to follow this hint as we have a lot of appriciation of their work as well. We have some people working there who are not that safe in English language - maybe their uncertainty gave you the impression of they are grumpy. Honestly, they are not.
With best regards from the whole staff of the Hotel Residenz in Passau (even from the grumpy one's)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The staff and management have done a wonderful job to have this hotel refurbished after the Danube floods.The rooms and furnishing are now like a new hotel. The rooms are clean, quiet and very comfortable and the room we had gave a nice view of the river. I traveled here with a group of seven New Zealand friends and everyone was very happy with the standard of accommodation. Breakfast was of a good standard and the staff were always helpful and efficient.We also enjoyed the town of Passau and would have liked to have stayed longer to explore the area further. Would happily return to both the hotel and the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate4868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear kate4868,
thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you and your friends could feel the spirit of our 'Quality from the heart'. It is nice that your Danube-trip had such a sucessful start in our little city, and we hope you and your group enjoyed the rest of the journey as well. Maybe one day you will make it come true, and you will return to Passau. We will be happy to welcome you again.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is located on the bank of the Danube and has a nice terrase where you can enjoy the river and the vicinities in the sunny days. The lobby was still under restauration in August after the June floods but our room on the 4th floor was just perfect. The furniture was luxury, comfortable and brand new. The bathroom was excellent, big and clean. The hotel staff is very helpful. There is no hotel restaurant, they only serve coffee and drinks, but we asked to order a dinner for us which we had on the terrase.
The only issue: there are only 5 parking places in front of the hotel, you have to book in advance and parking there requires master skills. Probably there are public parkings near by, but we did not check.
A lovely stay at a very picturesque location, right at the tourist part of Passau, close to everything!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilenaBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear MilenaBruxelles,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our little city. We are sorry that you had make you parking-masterpiece, but in our very Old Town with narrow streets we are glad to be able to offer those places. And: Beside these we have some more places in our hotel garage and in a public garage nearby. But nevertheless we strongly recommend to order a parking spot in advance.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived just a few days after it reopened after the floods. With sand and a mixer out front and a hose and pump working, the staff could not have been more welcoming. We loved the old feel of the hotel, coupled with the modern feeling rooms. Loved walking around the old city of Passau. Parking in their garage a bit hairy--up a steep alley and a tight right turn in. The black marks on the wall are a testament to the many who fail to negotiate the turn, but we took our time and made it with only one reverse to set up our angle. A lovely place in a lovely city. My compliments to the staff who worked hard to get the hotel back up and running.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolkteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear norfolkteacher,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. It is very nice that someone is honoring our efforts we made after the big flood, and we are very happy for your understanding. Just for information: In the meanwhile all our rooms are renovated again, and just in the public areas there are still some works to be done, but we hope till end of the month our house will show again the original standard.
With best regards from the whole staff of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.3 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenig
Hotel Koenig
#4 of 24 in Passau
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Passau
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#8 of 24 in Passau
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilder Mann
Hotel Wilder Mann
#7 of 24 in Passau
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenz Passau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenz Passau

Address: Fritz-Schaeffer-Promenade 6, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range: $86 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residenz Passau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Residenz Passau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing