We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Residenz Passau
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed one night. The owners were very welcoming. Room was nice and clean. The only issue we had was the free wifi did not work very well. I hope they fix the issue. Great location sitting on the danube river.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jqe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear jqe1,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. We are very sorry about the difficulties with the WiFi, but think that in the meanwhile we made some efforts to improve this service.
With best regards from the whole staff of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 447 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Hotel Residenz,Passau.
First class! The service and care was excellent. Lots of little things show that they really care about their guests. The special attention to detail...a personal note wishing us a nice stay in the room, tv magazine open at yesterdayˇs page,a short story to read at bedtime on the bed with a message wishing us a good nights sleep ,info on the town and what was on at the breakfast table,a tea timer to make the perfect brew, polite,kind helpful personel. The breakfast was really excellent...and I am demanding. Quality... and I mean quality cold cuts,cheeses,smoked salmon,,rolls,jams,fruit,pastries etc...really top notch fare here....nice interior, crockery,kind helpful,efficient service. A beautiful reading room/ lounge decorated in a tasteful , comfortable and timeless way......no kitch at this hotel,no sterile feeling that you often see when staying at hotels.
The atmosphere of the town is really nice...relaxed, but with a lot of life on the streets,pavement cafes,good food,nice shops....people are kind,friendly,helpful and services really good.
We will be back...next time for a two night stay...I would like to try a business room next,which personally has an interior more suited to my style...but that is just personal taste. Do go to Passau,and if you do....then there is no better place to stay,I am sure!
Laurence Hill

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurencehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear laurencehill,
thank you very much for your long, detailed, and very friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Passau and our hotel, and we are very happy that you could feel our 'Quality, that is coming from the heart'. We are looking forward to your next visit, and we hope that then again everything will be to your complete satisfaction.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Residenz Passau the night before boarding a river cruise of the Danube. What a fantastic hotel!! It was certainly more than just a place to stay. The room was beautiful and comfortable, the breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the reception staff could not have been nicer. They spoke English well (which was a relief with my broken German), recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner and graciously keep our luggage locked up and safe for the 6 hours between our check-out and boarding the ship. I would gladly stay here again and recommend this hotel with the highest marks possible!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Tim H,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you totally could experience our 'Quality from the heart'. We hope you will keep your stay in nice memory, and we would be happy to see you again sometime in future.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Residenz for two nights after a Danube cruise and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is right on the river and we selected the room we wanted with a private terrace by looking at TripAdvisor photos from other reviewers (thank you very much TA!).

Our room was spacious with a couch and chair and an ingenious TV that came up out of a cabinet at the foot of the bed and could turn towards the bed or towards the sitting area. The terrace had a beautiful view over the Danube and of the castle on the hill. Unfortunately it was very cold while we were there - but in warm weather the terrace would be spectacular.

The real surprise was the shower. It had an incredible rain shower head and hand-held as well, pebble floor in the shower and heated floor in the bathroom. It was a huge shower - I think it was bigger than the elevator. There were also colored lights that change - which was a little strange - but SUCH a fantastic shower. I wanted to bring it home with me.

Breakfast was a delicious array of eggs, meats, cheeses, breads and pastries - served in a bright, cheery room just off the lobby. There's also a very nice reading room off the lobby and bar.

The owners and staff are very helpful. They recommended two restaurants for dinner which we enjoyed a lot. The Restaurant Schloss Ort was exceptional. They were very accommodating when selecting our room before the trip. And on check-in we thought we would have to just leave our luggage and wait until normal check-in time since we had to be out of our cabin on the cruise at 830am. We were fortunate to be able to get it a bit early - especially nice since it was snowing like mad! Great Stay - Great Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Patay1,
thank you very much for the wonderful review you gave for your stay in our house. We are very happy that you liked the days in our Junior suite, though the weather didn't fit well, and you couldn't fully enjoy the fabulous view, and the privacy of the roof-deck. But obviously you liked the several other gimmicks of that room, and we want to thank you for acknowledging all our other efforts. We would be very happy to welcome you again another time in Passau.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good location, clean, friendly staff. We selected the suite which was 50 Euro more than the double view river side room, but felt is wasn't worth the extra money for two people. The suite was set up like two connecting rooms with the smaller room having a small sofa, small tv, and access to a terrace with a roof and a rather small window that looked out over the river. I would recommend the suite if you had three people (the sofa can be made into a single bed), but otherwise it was just wasted space. Overall the hotel was very nice with a great breakfast, just wouldn't bother getting the suite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0ving_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear R0ving_Librarian,
thank you very much for your nice and detailled review of our hotel, though we regret that you were not fully satisfied of our little Suite. Next time, in this case: Just tell us your demands, and whenever possible we will offer another room, even cheaper, matching with your needs. The first thing we like to have in our house are satisfied customers, not the money.
With best regards from the whole team of Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting Passau.

The hotel is in the old town, right next to the Danube and close to the cathedral.

The room was very comfortable with a nice seating area by the window. There was a large HD television on the wall with plenty of channels to choose from. Wi-Fi was free and had a very strong signal everywhere in the hotel.

Breakfast was good, with a large selection of breads, cheeses, cereals and some hot food too. In summer you can take it on a terrace overlooking the river.

I booked directly with the hotel and paid 45 EUR for a single room (actually got a twin) which was excellent value for money for a hotel of this standard.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear pmd76,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we hope to see you again, and will be very happy to welcome you in our nice little city again.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Residenz Passau for a night before boarding out river boat cruise and would highly recommend it. We arrived by train from Berlin and it was a short taxi ride. The hotel is right on theDanube and though a bit of a walk from where our boat was leaving (it could have been right across from it depending on the cruise line you are on), it didn't matter because for a small fee per bag, they took the bags directly to the ship for us while we toured Passau till afternoon boarding time. The hotel is a charming European-style small hotel, extremely well located within the historic center city. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the room was a good size and extremely confortable and clean with lots of thoughtful amenities, including nice soaps, shampoos, good quality towels....and even a rubber duck for the bath tub. Breakfast was included and consisted of a lovely and very full buffet of both cooked foods (eggs, bacon, sausage), and cheeses, cereals, and a lovely selection of breads. I would strongly recommend the Hotel Residenz Passau for a stay either before boarding a river crusise - or for a few days in this charming and historic Bavarian city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giselle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear giselle s,
thank you very much for your nice and detailed review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that we made you feel welcome and a bit like home in Passau (though, beside the fact that the main part of the city is situated between 2 big rivers, there are not so many similarities between Passau and NYC).
With the best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.3 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenig
Hotel Koenig
#4 of 24 in Passau
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Passau
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#8 of 24 in Passau
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilder Mann
Hotel Wilder Mann
#7 of 24 in Passau
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenz Passau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenz Passau

Address: Fritz-Schaeffer-Promenade 6, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range: $86 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residenz Passau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Residenz Passau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing