We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION! LOCATION!”
Review of Hotel Wilder Mann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wilder Mann
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“LOCATION! LOCATION!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel Wilder Mann has a perfect location. In the center of "Old Town", 50 meter from the Danube. It is an historical place and has been a guesthouse for centuries. A lot of famous people have stayed there, "Sissi" may be the most known.
Apart from the location, another highlight is the breakfast room,on the top floor with a wonderful view of the Old Town. The breakfast by the way is excellent with a lot of options.
There are 49 rooms with different sizes and prices. We stayed at a the cheapest (80E) ant it was quite small, but considering our short two days stay.It was OK!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    64
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
57
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

after the June 2013 flood we were afraid our stay would have to be cancelled due to the damages caused by the water. instead we were more than surprised to find the three upper levels of the hotel in perfect shape while passing through the ground floor merely showed the damages that the Danube and Inn rivers had left behind. the hotel is trying its best to recover from the aftermaths of the flood and has successfully invested in room design and staff to make you feel comfortable. both our room and the value for money buffet breakfast suited our needs perfectly. once there is no flood the location is probably the best in Passau.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

While we had a large and comfortable room in this riverside property, it was clear that the June flood had not been totally restored. Furniture was stacked in hallways, the Wifi did not work and the front desk person was less than competent. While we had guaranteed the room with a credit card, upon checkout no card would work with their machine (I had seen this happen early with a German customer). The front desk lady demanded cash only and wouldn't call anyone to fix the problem because it was Sunday. Thank goodness I found an ATM in Passau that was open on Sunday to get additional Euros.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that faithfully recreate the 19th century ambiance of the property. Our la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichWoodinville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights, the hotel is in a lovely old building, part of it is the glass museum, our room was small but ok, bathroom needs a fan.
Free, fast Internet, parking nearby at €8.40 for 24 hours (you can unload your car in front of the hotel) breakfast was ok (€ 7)
In walking distance of lots of restaurants by the Danube.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin-Felixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Passau was the starting point of our cycle along the Danube to Vienna. Hotel is located in a series of old buildings which have been restored. Famous glass museum is situated on ground floor near reception desk. There is a range of rooms available, we would appear to have been in a basic double which was small but clean and adequate for one night stay. Bathroom very small and basic with poor ventilation. Location of hotel very good for sight seeing, within walking distance of all main places of interest. Breakfest is available in hall on top floor so view over roof tops of Passau. There is a very good buffet breakfest with plenty of choice. The staff in hotel were very pleasent and helpful. We had no problem leaving bikes in hotel while we walked the town.

Room Tip: Just make sure which type of room you are getting when making reservation. There is no bar in hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was our first visit to Passau and it was for only two days. The hotel location is great for us. Good sized rooms with nice decorations, felt like living in a monastery. Good breakfast. Excellent and friendly staff member.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Well situated in the centre of the old town close to the city cathedral and other sights, restaurants and Danube cycle network. The hotel provided friendly service with clean, good sized rooms and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterRjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residenz Passau
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
0.5 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Passau
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#6 of 24 in Passau
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenig
Hotel Koenig
#4 of 24 in Passau
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilder Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilder Mann

Property: Hotel Wilder Mann
Address: Am Rathausplatz | Schrottgasse 2, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilder Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Wilder Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing