We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Passau”
Review of Hotel Wilder Mann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wilder Mann
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Passau”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Passau was the starting point of our cycle along the Danube to Vienna. Hotel is located in a series of old buildings which have been restored. Famous glass museum is situated on ground floor near reception desk. There is a range of rooms available, we would appear to have been in a basic double which was small but clean and adequate for one night stay. Bathroom very small and basic with poor ventilation. Location of hotel very good for sight seeing, within walking distance of all main places of interest. Breakfest is available in hall on top floor so view over roof tops of Passau. There is a very good buffet breakfest with plenty of choice. The staff in hotel were very pleasent and helpful. We had no problem leaving bikes in hotel while we walked the town.

Room Tip: Just make sure which type of room you are getting when making reservation. There is no bar in hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    64
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
57
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was our first visit to Passau and it was for only two days. The hotel location is great for us. Good sized rooms with nice decorations, felt like living in a monastery. Good breakfast. Excellent and friendly staff member.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Well situated in the centre of the old town close to the city cathedral and other sights, restaurants and Danube cycle network. The hotel provided friendly service with clean, good sized rooms and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterRjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a wonderful four-night stay at Hotel Wilder Mann at the beginning of June, and it was in large part thanks to the excellent and friendly staff member Veronica, at the front desk. She accomodated our request for a bigger room and was so gracious about it, even offering a room with an excellent view. She gave us great advice regarding local places to visit. The hotel is wonderfully located. We could watch the cruise ships come and go. And it was only about a 3-minute walk to the pier where we boarded two river cruise ships - one for the dinner and the other for a Sunday buffet brunch. We highly recommend the Crystal Cruise for dinner - simply magical! The brunch was a feast of the German cuisine enhanced by the beautiful views of the Danube.
The room we upgraded to was appointed in a historical rather than modern style and very clean. The bathroom, however, was a bit small and could be more updated. It was nice to have a breakfast included, and the breakfast room was spectacular. The breakfast selection was the usual German fare: eggs, fruit juices, meats and cheeses, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breads and, of course, very robust coffee. The staff was professional and friendly.
We found Passau beautiful and charming, with lots of history, and the Hotel Wilder Mann is a very good home base. The building also houses a glass museum that contains an amazing array of beautiful glass works. But, again, as we think of our stay at Wilder Mann, we are very grateful to Veronica for making our visit so pleasant. She is a gem!
D&T Smith
California

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a wonderful four-night stay at Hotel Wilder Mann at the beginning of June, and it was in large part thanks to the excellent and friendly staff member Veronica, at the front desk. She accomodated our request for a bigger room and was so gracious about it, even offering a room with an excellent view. She gave us great advice regarding local places to visit. The hotel is wonderfully located. We could watch the cruise ships come and go. And it was only about a 3-minute walk to the pier where we boarded two river cruise ships - one for the dinner and the other for a Sunday buffet brunch. We highly recommend the Crystal Cruise for dinner - simply magical! The brunch was a feast of the German cuisine enhanced by the beautiful views of the Danube.
The room we upgraded to was appointed in a historical rather than modern style and very clean. The bathroom, however, was a bit small and could be more updated. It was nice to have a breakfast included, and the breakfast room was spectacular. The breakfast selection was the usual German fare: eggs, fruit juices, meats and cheeses, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breads and, of course, very robust coffee. The staff was professional and friendly.
We found Passau beautiful and charming, with lots of history, and the Hotel Wilder Mann is a very good home base. The building also houses a glass museum that contains an amazing array of beautiful glass works. But, again, as we think of our stay at Wilder Mann, we are very grateful to Veronica for making our visit so pleasant. She is a gem!
D&T Smith
California

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The other recent reviews of this hotel say it more eloquently than I could. Staying here was a delight. Great location, wonderful room with character, impressive breakfast on the top floor in a gorgeous room with fabulous views.

The economy double rooms are quite small although my son found his fine for the one night. I went with the comfort double and I am pleased I did as it was a good size and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

a thoroughly charming and pleasant place to stay in an idyllic region of the river Danube. The glass museum may not be the first place you'd think of staying but this one is in a delightfully quirky old building with a view of the river and the castle/fort on the opposite side. The rooms are large and furnished as would befit the period furniture from princely times. Some even have glassed in verandas. You even get a potted history of whose bed you are sleeping in! Don't worry all the working parts are modern and comfortable with quality linen and plentiful towels etc.
It is worth staying here just to have breakfast (plentiful if very German) in what must be one of the most elegant baroque dining rooms in an hotel in Europe. It is a great pity they no longer have evening meals. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Good public transport and a variety of country 'Gasthaus' reached by well marked paths following the tributaries that flow into the Danube, even some river bathing in one if that is to your taste.
Our only minus points would be a lack of drink- making facilities in the room and the noisy fridge - this needs to be changed to one of the silent type, or put in the private lobby that precedes most rooms.
A quiet, fun and satisfying place to stay

Room Tip: pay a little more and go for one with a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB02-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residenz Passau
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
0.5 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Passau
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#7 of 24 in Passau
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Passauer Wolf
Hotel Passauer Wolf
#5 of 24 in Passau
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilder Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilder Mann

Property: Hotel Wilder Mann
Address: Am Rathausplatz | Schrottgasse 2, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilder Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Wilder Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing