We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Traditional German Hotel”
Review of Hotel Koenig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Koenig
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Traditional German Hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I and my family really appreciated the position of this hotel. The staff was nice and the room big and clean. We were at the second floor and we were going out straight inthe city center. I believe that it is difficult to find a better position convinient for the car but also for visiting the town. I reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alberto m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
58
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Im still in shock, this has got to be the worst 4 star hotel we have stayed in. I booked it because of the good reviews but it couldnt be further from the truth. The location maybe good but thats about it.The carpet leading up to the reception needs replacing, the receptionist does everything from checking people in to serving on the bar and preparing breakfast. It reminded me of a b&b but even then i wouldnt rate it 4 star. The restaurant is non existent, we were tired and hungry when we turned up but no chance of a snack, a pint of beer at the best, we had to go next door to another hotel to get a meal. Our room was very basic, no coffee/tea in the room, old wooden furniture, awful bed, i wouldnt like to moan too much but this is supposed to be 4 star and it just isnt. You can park your car outside the hotel and hope for the best or leave it in hotel`s garage which can barely take 8 cars and pay 10 euros for the pleasure. As for Passau itself i cant really comment, we were travelling back to england so didnt spend much time sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badincanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Generally a good experience and handy to the center of the town. Friendly breakfast with a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtw30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay Region, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were thrilled to find this hotel, which has parking underneath and was right near the excellent Christmas market. Of course, not quiet in the morning, because of traffic the other side of the river, but this is in the centre! So to be expected. Sauna was spotless and very relaxing, rooms spacious and receptionist lovely. WiFi included in rooms. Overall great value for money

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_M_E_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria di Leuca, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Simone veranda to have a drink while watching the view
of the three rivers junction.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mottibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Central location in Passau. Small hotel with view of the river Danube from the rooms. Everything was well functioning
Quiet town on a rainy Sunday evening in July

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Excellent location. We stayed the first night in a room with a view of the river. This proved to be a mistake as at night there is a lot of noise on the river, and as the room was very hot we needed the window open. Not a good combination. For our second night we managed to change to a room at the side which had air conditioning. Slept well here. I would only stay here again, at least in sommer, if I had a room with A/C.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenz Passau
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
0.0 mi away
Hotel Passauer Wolf
Hotel Passauer Wolf
#6 of 24 in Passau
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Passau
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#5 of 24 in Passau
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenig

Property: Hotel Koenig
Address: Untere Donaulaende 1, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Passau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koenig 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel in Passau's old quarter is situated on the banks of the River Danube, in the immediate vicinity of the city's boat jetties and scenic bicycle route. At Hotel König you can expect soundproofed rooms with tasteful cherry wood furniture. The rooms enjoy attractive views of the river or hotel garden. Each morning, wake up to a breakfast buffet. In the evening, enjoy a refreshing beer or select wine in the hotel bar. The Hotel König is just a 5-minute walk from Passau Cathedral, the Glass Museum, and Höllgasse Street with its many art galleries. After a day's exploring you can relax in the sauna or sanarium. Guests benefit from a 24-hour reception, and for a surcharge you can leave your car in the Hotel König's private car park (reservation required). Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Koenig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenig Hotel Passau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing