We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A truly magnificent Baroque cathedral, really a “MUST” for all Passau’s visitors.

My wife and I arrived at Passau recently during our river cruise on the Danube. To... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
israroz
,
Ra'anana, Israel
Great Cathedral

Breathtaking Cathedral,with a lot of space inside and an amazingy decorasion inside.Worth the visit... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Erandoulis
,
Salzburg, Austria
via mobile
Read all 1,260 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Passau
from $511.60
More Info
from $155.20
More Info
Reviews (1,260)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveler rating
477
221
17
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
221
17
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organ concert at noon stephen's cathedral magnificent organ los angeles half hour awe inspiring baroque architecture minute concert over the top walking tour viking river cruise st stephen old town three rivers tiles sound
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

My wife and I arrived at Passau recently during our river cruise on the Danube. To the best of my humble opinion, the magnificent St. Stephen's Cathedral is a real GEM in the crown of the lovely town of Passau. This is a baroque cathedral with beautiful paintings, statues & Baroque decorations, fantastic ceiling murals and beautiful side altars. This cathedral is the home of the 2nd largest church pipe organs (in some places they say it’s the Largest of them all) in Europe (in the world ?). For me, as a “keen churches & cathedrals photographer” the St. Stephen's Cathedral is really a photographer’s delight (as a previous photographer said).

Thank israroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Breathtaking Cathedral,with a lot of space inside and an amazingy decorasion inside.Worth the visit and the time

Thank Erandoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did this church concert as an included tour from Viking cruise. It is the second largest pipe organ in the world second only to one in Los Angeles and that one out of order. Concert was beautiful. I believe ticket for those going on own was 5€. Worth the money, not something you will experience anywhere else

Thank Joanie3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So you’re in Passau on tour and of course the guide says ,”you have to to the cathedral.” Go at noon for the concert featuring the largest organ in the world. It is impressive even if you’re not a big fan of organ music.

Thank Goodness4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are visiting in Passau, this church is a must to see! It is easy to get into and the organ is one of the largest in the world. It is free and you don't need to buy tickets or a tour to get in.

Thank Quadcitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Make sure you attend this 35 minute concert in the church. The interior is vast with many statues and ceiling paintings. One of the largest organs in Europe.

Thank Mktpro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On Viking tour following history of Passau and the Cathedral, we were able to hear Organ Concert by organist of the Cathedral, including Bach and Mozart. Beautiful Cathedral with many paintings, but no stained glass windows. Organ very unique, pipes in 4 different locations. Look for the painting of the head of John the Baptist on a tray right front of Cathedral.

Thank Willisdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This cathedral has baroque scuptured images throughout. Interior is immense, as is the organ with over 1800 pipes. A photographers delight. Unfortunately we were not able to stay for one of the daily concerts.

Thank TomandNancy53045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Passau is a beautiful town. In the center is the cathedral. It is truly beautiful with frescoes, stained glass and my favorite: self sculptures of the stone masons holding up key parts of the sanctuary. Definitely a must see!!!!

Thank countryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We finished the 2 hour walking tour (from the Uniworld River Cruise) of Passau at the St. Stephens Cathredral. The 30 minute recital was Powerful, Splendid, Captivating, moving (not enough words to accurately describe). The Cathedral itself (all 300 meters in length) is a true wonder probably 200 feet high with most impressive sculptures and designs. Six works performed on the largest organ in the world (especially Bach and Mendelssohn). It’s five separate organs (233 stops) that can be played together. Don’t pass up this opportunity.

Thank WilliamR395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews